Author Topic: 1.4 to 1.5 Glossiness Map LUT  (Read 10128 times)

2016-07-12, 11:31:55

dubcat

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 425
  • ฅ^•ﻌ•^ฅ meow
    • View Profile
Corona will remap your 1.4 Glossiness Values to 1.5, but not your Glossiness Maps.
This LUT is basically the official Glossiness Value remapper turned into a LUT to work on bitmaps.

Only use this LUT to convert 1.4 maps to 1.5. DO NOT use it on new 1.5 glossiness maps!

You can apply this LUT in Photoshop (32bit Linear) or with a VRayLut map (Corona doesn't have a LUT map currently)



Almost identical.



Old and New map (47 RGB Brighter in this case)



LUT Curve



Official remapping values that was used to generate this LUT.
Left 1.4 | Right 1.5
Code: [Select]
1.00 -> 1.00

0.99 -> 0.98
0.98 -> 0.978
0.97 -> 0.973
0.96 -> 0.969
0.95 -> 0.965
0.94 -> 0.962
0.93 -> 0.959
0.92 -> 0.955
0.91 -> 0.952
0.90 -> 0.949

0.89 -> 0.946
0.88 -> 0.943
0.87 -> 0.94
0.86 -> 0.937
0.85 -> 0.934
0.84 -> 0.931
0.83 -> 0.928
0.82 -> 0.924
0.81 -> 0.921
0.80 -> 0.918

0.79 -> 0.915
0.78 -> 0.911
0.77 -> 0.908
0.76 -> 0.905
0.75 -> 0.901
0.74 -> 0.898
0.73 -> 0.894
0.72 -> 0.89
0.71 -> 0.886
0.70 -> 0.882

0.69 -> 0.878
0.68 -> 0.874
0.67 -> 0.87
0.66 -> 0.865
0.65 -> 0.861
0.64 -> 0.856
0.63 -> 0.851
0.62 -> 0.846
0.61 -> 0.841
0.60 -> 0.836

0.59 -> 0.83
0.58 -> 0.825
0.57 -> 0.819
0.56 -> 0.813
0.55 -> 0.806
0.54 -> 0.8
0.53 -> 0.793
0.52 -> 0.786
0.51 -> 0.778
0.50 -> 0.771

0.49 -> 0.763
0.48 -> 0.755
0.47 -> 0.746
0.46 -> 0.737
0.45 -> 0.728
0.44 -> 0.719
0.43 -> 0.709
0.42 -> 0.699
0.41 -> 0.688
0.40 -> 0.677

0.39 -> 0.666
0.38 -> 0.654
0.37 -> 0.642
0.36 -> 0.629
0.35 -> 0.617
0.34 -> 0.603
0.33 -> 0.59
0.32 -> 0.576
0.31 -> 0.562
0.30 -> 0.548

0.29 -> 0.534
0.28 -> 0.519
0.27 -> 0.505
0.26 -> 0.491
0.25 -> 0.477
0.24 -> 0.463
0.23 -> 0.449
0.22 -> 0.437
0.21 -> 0.424
0.20 -> 0.412

0.19 -> 0.401
0.18 -> 0.391
0.17 -> 0.382
0.16 -> 0.374
0.15 -> 0.366
0.14 -> 0.359
0.13 -> 0.354
0.12 -> 0.349
0.11 -> 0.345
0.10 -> 0.342

0.09 -> 0.339
0.08 -> 0.337
0.07 -> 0.336
0.06 -> 0.335
0.05 -> 0.334
0.04 -> 0.334
0.03 -> 0.333
0.02 -> 0.333
0.01 -> 0.333

0.0  -> 0.332

Bonus Guide (For the Cool Cats)

Here is a little guide on how you can keep all that juicy information in your glossiness map after you have applied the LUT.
1.4 clamped everything under 0.3 glossiness, this will help you get that information back.

- Open your original 1.4 glossiness map.

- Highpass the original map with 1000 radius.





- Change the blend mode to "Linear Light" and change Fill to "50%" (You can use lower fill if you think 50% is too much)



- Paste the new LUT glossiness map bellow the Highpassed layer.



- Use "Average" on the LUT glossiness map.



We have recovered the clamped information.



Now we're talking ! You can't see the big difference because of this shitty little image. But believe me, it's worth it!



Automate the Process (For the Lazy Cats)

I've made a little Photoshop Action that will do everything for you.
You only need to place "Glossiness 1.4 to 1.5.CUBE" in the root of C:\
(Like this "C:\Glossiness 1.4 to 1.5.CUBE")

To load the Action, go into the Action tab and click here



To run the Action, open one of your Glossiness maps and click here



Done!
« Last Edit: 2016-07-13, 13:49:54 by dubcat »
             ___
    _] [__|OO|
   (____|___|     https://www.twitch.tv/dubca7 / https://soundcloud.com/dubca7 ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) choo choo

2016-07-12, 12:42:43
Reply #1

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 7669
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Interesting stuff! Curious if this could be incorporated in Corona converter? Such thing is very needed, but it's useless unless it can be automated.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2016-07-12, 12:48:57
Reply #2

dubcat

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 425
  • ฅ^•ﻌ•^ฅ meow
    • View Profile
Clown should be able to use the table I posted to generate an output curve :)
             ___
    _] [__|OO|
   (____|___|     https://www.twitch.tv/dubca7 / https://soundcloud.com/dubca7 ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) choo choo

2016-07-12, 13:21:47
Reply #3

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 11397
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
Taking into account all the cool guides by Dubcat, I think a Corona LUT map would be a reasonable feature request.
Marcin Miodek | chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona Support Team Lead | contact us

2016-07-12, 13:34:00
Reply #4

dubcat

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 425
  • ฅ^•ﻌ•^ฅ meow
    • View Profile
That would be great!
I've made LUTs from all the functions in Photoshop and CameraRAW. Right now I'm using Photoshops Contrast to adjust my maps inside 3dsMax. VRayLUT doesn't have opacity. So I have to do it this way. After adjusting the contrast I remap the min/max values to what I want. LUTs give you endless possibilities inside 3dsMax!

Would be amazing to have CoronaLUT with opacity!



Photoshops Contrast has a fixed 128 RGB, while CameraRAW is boosting the mids too.

             ___
    _] [__|OO|
   (____|___|     https://www.twitch.tv/dubca7 / https://soundcloud.com/dubca7 ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) choo choo

2016-07-12, 15:31:15
Reply #5

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 7669
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Clown should be able to use the table I posted to generate an output curve :)
Great! Let's hope he's not too long with new converter version ;]
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2016-07-12, 18:40:17
Reply #6

DeadClown

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1445
    • View Profile
    • racoon-artworks
Clown should be able to use the table I posted to generate an output curve :)
Well, I can create an output curve but I don't really see a good "location" to put it to, I mean in the converter. The script doesn't know which maps are "proper" glossiness maps and which are not.

Great! Let's hope he's not too long with new converter version ;]
You know there is already a new version, right?
« Last Edit: 2016-07-12, 18:54:19 by DeadClown »
Any sufficiently advanced bug is indistinguishable from a feature.

2016-07-12, 19:10:24
Reply #7

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 7669
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Well yeah... but does it convert mapped glossiness from 1.4 to latest DB?
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2016-09-02, 16:54:58
Reply #8

Nik

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 165
    • View Profile
    • HQ Details
Dubcat, I'm sorry for stupid question but what did you mean by "Corona will remap your 1.4 Glossiness Values to 1.5"?

I installed latest daily, then I merged some objects with materials from corona 1.4. PBR mode is disabled in this materials.
If I enable PBR mode, then Corona do nothing with my glossy values, it just enabling PBR and renders my object with "wrong" glossiness. Converter 1.28 doesn't change glossiness values as well.
So I wrote a little script based on your lut (thanks for that btw) and shared in Corona Goodies.

But I don't understand what did you mean by "Corona will remap values"

UPD. Ondra told me that Corona remapped glossy before (in some dailies) but now it doesn't. So question is no longer relevant
« Last Edit: 2016-09-02, 18:38:14 by nik684 »

2016-10-21, 10:15:01
Reply #9

DeadClown

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1445
    • View Profile
    • racoon-artworks
Based on dubcats remapping table I wrote a script that converts both glossiness values and textures. 1.4 Materials where the PBR mode is off will be converted to PBR mode on while preserving the glossiness. So 1.4 scenes should look exactly like before in glossiness but with all the benefits from the new PBR mode.

Note: It will not remove any conversion output curves that come from the coronaConverter. It will just add one more output curve on top.

Any sufficiently advanced bug is indistinguishable from a feature.

2016-10-21, 11:29:43
Reply #10

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 7669
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Great! Will it find its way to converter?
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2016-10-21, 11:55:41
Reply #11

Christa Noel

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 910
  • God bless us everyone
    • View Profile
    • dionch.studio
A script that converts both glossiness values and textures
yeay finally it comes just right when I planned to write it on my scripting-to-do-list :D
thanx!
edit: big thanx for dubcat too !

2016-10-28, 20:12:21
Reply #12

antanas

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 272
  • Hmm ...
    • View Profile
Thanks, both of you - Cmpp, here I come )

2016-10-29, 13:09:21
Reply #13

tallbox

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 138
  • George Nicola
    • View Profile
    • Architectural Visualizations | TALLBOX
Thanks, guys It's a great time-saving for my workflow.
Architectural Visualizations / Deep work practitioner
https://www.tallboxdesign.com