Author Topic: Threadripper 3970x. Why Do This ? The CPU Speed drops during rendering  (Read 1019 times)

2021-07-11, 13:24:48

sstr

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Threadripper 3970x
Why Do This ? The CPU Speed drops during rendering.


2021-07-12, 12:34:45
Reply #1

Vuk

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 94
    • View Profile

The same thing happened to me on my 3990x. At some point, 10 cores were just idling at 0% usage while the rest of the cores were 100%. I rebooted the system and it worked correctly. I suppose it is a windows bug since I have the latest bios.


I suggest you try updating your bios to the latest version, check if your power settings are set to high performance as well. Usually, manual overclocking and PBO solve this issue but if you want to run it stock then start first with a bios update.



2021-07-16, 07:42:35
Reply #2

larry3d

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
I also have problems with the load

2021-07-16, 09:33:17
Reply #3

sstr

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
I'm found it ... The problems are the Buckets ....
« Last Edit: 2021-07-16, 21:14:47 by sstr »

2021-07-17, 11:34:05
Reply #4

Juraj

  • Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 4312
    • View Profile
    • studio website
I'm found it ... The problems are the Buckets ....

Ok, this is worth investigating. I wonder if the Corona devs are testing using cpus like 3990X and so.
talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2021-07-17, 14:14:23
Reply #5

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 7239
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
I'm found it ... The problems are the Buckets ....

I wonder how did you come to this conclusion?
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2021-07-17, 16:46:18
Reply #6

sstr

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Here are the prt screens. With Buckets and Wthout Buckets.
The new Corona for c4d RC3 daily build switch off buckets on Interactive rendering.
The CPU Amplitude much smaller.