Author Topic: Intel 12th Gen switches to E-Cores only when switching windows  (Read 577 times)

2022-09-16, 18:23:37

lazardanilovic

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Hello everyone, i hope you're having a great day/night.

After Intel's 12th gen having problems with all cores not running on Win 10 and upgrading to Win 11 and solving that problem i found out that problem is still somewhat present, anyway, when i start my render all cores go to 100% (both E and P cores) as they should, and its all going great until i want to switch windows, for example surf web, or open any other window on my pc, P cores go back to 0% and it seems like it starts treating 3ds max as a background task.

Now i know this isn't necessarily a Max or Corona problem but i was wondering if anyone else encountered same or similar problem and if so how you've dealt with it.

Thank you!

2022-09-16, 18:26:35
Reply #1

Juraj

  • Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 4435
    • View Profile
    • studio website
I'll get my 12th-gen CPU laptop somewhere next week or so (I hope), so I'll do extensive testing myself and post results.

As last resort, there is always 'Process Lasso', a free app to manage process scheduling top of Windows.
talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2022-09-16, 20:44:04
Reply #2

lazardanilovic

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Thank you very much Juraj!

I will check it out. Also looking forward to your tests, it might be just mine specific problem.

2022-09-16, 21:30:27
Reply #3

Juraj

  • Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 4435
    • View Profile
    • studio website
I doubt it's just you, I've seen quite few complains of even the Win11 scheduler doing funny stuff with BigLittle cores. Still fairly new thing.
talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2022-09-19, 12:58:45
Reply #4

rowmanns

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1693
  • Corona for 3ds Max QA Team
    • View Profile
Hey,

This is already fixed in the v9 daily builds :)
  • Fixed Corona using only E-cores of modern Intel CPUs on Windows 11 when in background
You can test it out here: https://forum.corona-renderer.com/index.php?topic=36810.0

Thanks,

Rowan
Please read this before reporting bugs: How to report issues to us!
Send me your scene!