Corona Renderer Forum

General Category => Porting and API => Corona Standalone => Topic started by: Ondra on 2013-05-27, 18:45:58

Title: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: Ondra on 2013-05-27, 18:45:58
I've released a standalone build of Corona and prepared a document describing its file format. It uses the standard OBJ/MTL files with certain extensions to accomodate advanced Corona features. Corona for 3dsmax can export to this format (although you need the daily build to get the settings right). It can be used for command-line/automated rendering, and for rendering from software other than 3dsmax.

It currently supports only a subset of Corona features, but more can be added upon request.

CoronaStandalone is subject to Corona licence/disclaimer: http://forum.corona-renderer.com/index.php/topic,19.0.html

This is still very experimental and preliminary implementation, so the scene description will probably change a lot (but OBJ/MTL format will always be supported)

Download: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/kgzu0cqy903ygmb/B5zHQfynfQ/!Standalone

edit: this is now deprecated, there is new, better format: https://forum.corona-renderer.com/index.php?topic=10832.0
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: loocas on 2013-05-27, 19:09:29
(http://24.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_m5qytlQMHv1qc5ffho1_1280.png)
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: Ondra on 2013-05-27, 19:16:20
Pinkie Pie sure does love custom scripted pipeline ;)
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: andomar on 2013-05-27, 20:16:42
Hi, this looks good, could you put and importer for sketchup?, i use sketchup for do my model and i'd like try render with the standalone
this is the oficial page
http://www.sketchup.com/
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: Ondra on 2013-05-27, 20:25:37
No, I am waaay too busy to do that, but the point of this is that now you can do it ;).
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: Chakib on 2013-05-27, 20:35:10
Works nice with legacy too, thanks a lot keymaster ! ;)
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: lacilaci on 2013-05-27, 21:09:09
Trying to export scene (my latest here in wip) but it's very slow... is it necessary for corona to put all files/maps to the export folder can't it use just paths to them?
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: Ondra on 2013-05-27, 21:10:16
it would be possible, maybe sometimes in the future...
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: lacilaci on 2013-05-27, 21:34:45
exporter wrote in .obj some coordinates "vn -1.#IND vn -1.#IND vn -1.#IND" and corona standalone got fatal error while parsing with:

-- illegal coordinates definition

I got three different lines in .obj with those coordinates

Is it a malformed mesh or proxy or what does those incompatible indices mean?
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: Ondra on 2013-05-27, 21:46:12
yes, you have some invalid normals in the mesh. Either you try to repair the mesh, or simply substitute it for something like 1 0 0 in the text file
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: Ondra on 2013-05-27, 21:47:00
You can also upload me the scene so I make sure there is no bug on Corona's part ;)
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: lacilaci on 2013-05-27, 21:53:25
Alright I'll check those meshes and if it's still problem I'll upload it. Thanks.
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: elindell on 2013-05-29, 17:32:08
Fantastic, thanks!
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: NinthJake on 2013-06-01, 23:47:10
Amazing work, thank you so much!

Now an addon for Blender is not out of question anymore :D
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: Ondra on 2013-06-18, 22:58:19
Updated build is here: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/4p5991h8erbcj69/JNZG9UdPPy
Attached is updated documentation
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: moreschipaolo on 2013-07-05, 16:29:54
corona-render standalone will be made available for different operating systems? OSX or Linux. Thank you.
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: Ondra on 2013-07-28, 20:16:43
probably in the distant future
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: alben on 2013-08-02, 15:07:10
How can use the standalone of corona in sketchup? thnx..
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: Ludvik Koutny on 2013-08-02, 15:40:22
How can use the standalone of corona in sketchup? thnx..

Very simply... just write yourself an exporter. Good luck :)
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: ohsnapitsjoel on 2013-11-13, 18:12:48
Hi Ondra, just out of curiosity, has there been much progress recently in Corona Standalone?  Have there been any new features added?

Of course, I know you've been working on the API, so you've probably had your hands full with that. 
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: Ondra on 2013-11-13, 19:00:01
not really, I've just converted the application to the new API
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: Ondra on 2013-12-12, 17:43:06
I've updated the standalone build and its documentation.
Major changes:
- activation key no longer required
- support for normal mapping
- support for instancing
- support for anisotropy

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/kgzu0cqy903ygmb/B5zHQfynfQ/!Standalone
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: SanderB on 2013-12-13, 01:18:43
Nice!
thanks for making it possible to work without key :)



Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: pixel3d on 2013-12-13, 09:45:03
Thanks keymaster.
I'm a blender user and trying corona renderer with the exporter by joel.
Is the legacy version also included in the new standalone build?
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: Ondra on 2013-12-13, 11:27:34
now there is ;)
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: pixel3d on 2013-12-13, 11:39:08
Very fast. Thanks a lot.
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: picfad on 2013-12-13, 14:02:25
Tnhx)
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: tungee on 2014-01-02, 16:49:56
Is the standalone up-to-date with the Alpha 5 Build?
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: chrisgd on 2014-01-14, 22:42:06
Hello,

I don´t get the standalone application to work on my Win 8.1 64bit system. First I had problems because of missing 'msvcp120.dll' on my computer. I solved that by installing the 'vcredist_x64.exe' included in the dropbox archiv of version 2013-12-12 of the standalone versions

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/kgzu0cqy903ygmb/B5zHQfynfQ/!Standalone (https://www.dropbox.com/sh/kgzu0cqy903ygmb/B5zHQfynfQ/!Standalone)

But now there´s a problem with export.scn, that cannot be read, although it´s in the sample folder inside the folder with Corona.exe

See the command line message:

C:\Users\XXX\Desktop\corona>Corona.exe
ERROR: Cannot open/read/write file 'export.scn'
Corona Renderer Alpha - Standalone
(c) Ondra Karlik, 2009-2014


What I´ve done wrong? Thank for thinking about a solution!

Chris :)
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: Ondra on 2014-01-14, 23:40:00
you dont just run corona standalone. It needs CLI parameters. Read the PDF and study examples
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: tungee on 2014-01-15, 01:08:27
Hello,

I don´t get the standalone application to work on my Win 8.1 64bit system. First I had problems because of missing 'msvcp120.dll' on my computer. I solved that by installing the 'vcredist_x64.exe' included in the dropbox archiv of version 2013-12-12 of the standalone versions

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/kgzu0cqy903ygmb/B5zHQfynfQ/!Standalone (https://www.dropbox.com/sh/kgzu0cqy903ygmb/B5zHQfynfQ/!Standalone)

But now there´s a problem with export.scn, that cannot be read, although it´s in the sample folder inside the folder with Corona.exe

See the command line message:

C:\Users\XXX\Desktop\corona>Corona.exe
ERROR: Cannot open/read/write file 'export.scn'
Corona Renderer Alpha - Standalone
(c) Ondra Karlik, 2009-2014


What I´ve done wrong? Thank for thinking about a solution!

Chris :)

From which programm you export your scene?
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: Katerina on 2014-03-05, 11:10:37
Hello,

I don´t get the standalone application to work on my Win 8.1 64bit system. First I had problems because of missing 'msvcp120.dll' on my computer. I solved that by installing the 'vcredist_x64.exe' included in the dropbox archiv of version 2013-12-12 of the standalone versions

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/kgzu0cqy903ygmb/B5zHQfynfQ/!Standalone (https://www.dropbox.com/sh/kgzu0cqy903ygmb/B5zHQfynfQ/!Standalone)

But now there´s a problem with export.scn, that cannot be read, although it´s in the sample folder inside the folder with Corona.exe

See the command line message:

C:\Users\XXX\Desktop\corona>Corona.exe
ERROR: Cannot open/read/write file 'export.scn'
Corona Renderer Alpha - Standalone
(c) Ondra Karlik, 2009-2014


What I´ve done wrong? Thank for thinking about a solution!

Chris :)

and I have also does not work (((
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: Matthew on 2014-03-16, 06:45:18
Hello, from which programm you export your scene? and make the pack, .obj, .scn. Thanks
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: voon on 2014-04-14, 14:58:59
A question on this and blender .... I downloaded corona, unpacked it somewhere, added your .exe file and have shown the blender plugin, where this directory is ... but not much happens when I try to render in corona render in blender (in fact, nothing happens once you hit F12 to render in blender).

I went testing on commandline ... just corona.exe gives me the help text correctly. I then located an old .obj and .mlt file pair I have .... and tried corona.exe sofee.obj .... it dies with an error, that it could not locate sofee.objsofee.mtl (no space in between)?
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: ohsnapitsjoel on 2014-04-18, 16:31:48
A question on this and blender .... I downloaded corona, unpacked it somewhere, added your .exe file and have shown the blender plugin, where this directory is ... but not much happens when I try to render in corona render in blender (in fact, nothing happens once you hit F12 to render in blender).

I went testing on commandline ... just corona.exe gives me the help text correctly. I then located an old .obj and .mlt file pair I have .... and tried corona.exe sofee.obj .... it dies with an error, that it could not locate sofee.objsofee.mtl (no space in between)?

Please post Blender-related questions in the "Corona for Blender" forum.  They'll get lost in the shuffle on this thread, since this thread is primarily about Corona Standalone itself ;)
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: btrdenis on 2014-06-02, 20:25:53
Hello,

I don´t get the standalone application to work on my Win 8.1 64bit system. First I had problems because of missing 'msvcp120.dll' on my computer. I solved that by installing the 'vcredist_x64.exe' included in the dropbox archiv of version 2013-12-12 of the standalone versions

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/kgzu0cqy903ygmb/B5zHQfynfQ/!Standalone (https://www.dropbox.com/sh/kgzu0cqy903ygmb/B5zHQfynfQ/!Standalone)

But now there´s a problem with export.scn, that cannot be read, although it´s in the sample folder inside the folder with Corona.exe

See the command line message:

C:\Users\XXX\Desktop\corona>Corona.exe
ERROR: Cannot open/read/write file 'export.scn'
Corona Renderer Alpha - Standalone
(c) Ondra Karlik, 2009-2014


What I´ve done wrong? Thank for thinking about a solution!

Chris :)

From which programm you export your scene?

i have this problem too :/ exporting from 3d max 2014 x64, Corona A6 :((
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: burnin on 2014-06-24, 13:43:06
Is it possible for someone to upload "vcredist_x64.exe" that used to be included with Standalone?
Can't find proper one and i deleted the Standalone version that was supplied with?!
Somehow no other version works.
tia
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: Ondra on 2014-06-24, 13:44:58
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=40784
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: burnin on 2014-07-28, 11:33:18
Thank you.

Noticed the SA update (2014-07-23) and wonder what's new?
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: Ondra on 2014-07-28, 11:53:03
its just bugfixes
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: casparagus on 2014-08-19, 20:05:09
Hi, I'm really keen to try out the standalone for automatic rendering of my asset library - but for some reason the download link does not work, might be a proxy problem on my end.

Does anybody have an alternate link to download the latest Corona Standalone?

Thanks,

caspar
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: spedddi13 on 2014-11-03, 13:45:59
Lastest bulids of Corona Standalone (build for Blender Exporter)
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/zhle8shcnn9cgd8/nKknGftJ6p/Corona%20Standalone
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: Magneticfusion on 2014-11-08, 08:34:43
Well I've tried all options. I finally don't get any errors when I hit the .exe file but a DOS screen flashes and then disappears and that's it. No program opens or stays open for me to use. I know this is in beta stage but I expected something to work where I can at least use it somewhat. I've skimmed through the PDF and I don't see something I'm doing wrong. Does this thing need some programming or something to get it to work? I've watched videos and if this thing is as good as what it seems with a fraction of the time of Maxwell Render to render I want it at least try it out. So perhaps I'm doing something wrong :(

I'm using Windows 8.1, i7 5410U, 8GB Ram, and a GeForce 730 GPU
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: burnin on 2015-01-01, 15:37:54
Are there any news from the front? Is there any standalone "a6" forever free version to play around?
"This free version of Corona cannot be used after 31.12.2014. Aborting initialization."
Is this it?

Anyways, feeling grateful for all your effort and i wish you best on amazing journey!
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: Ondra on 2015-01-01, 16:30:10
I've uploaded new standalone with extended timelock, working unitl 2016. Try it now.
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: Sergey on 2015-04-14, 10:34:48
Hi, Ondra.
I'm download standalone build from the message #41

Where .exe file?)

Thanks.

------------
Ops, sorry, i'm take it's from the first post. I'm to be deluded because of date of first post.
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: maru on 2015-04-14, 10:39:36
Hello Sergey,

The procedure has slightly changed, here is the newest guide:
https://coronarenderer.freshdesk.com/support/solutions/articles/5000547357

-Marcin
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: Sergey on 2015-04-14, 10:50:38
Hello, Marcin.

Thanks for link. There many of interesting information.
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: bnzs on 2015-11-09, 17:18:09
Hi, Ondra.
Is there any news about update features of corona standalone version to current corona 3ds max version build?
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: Ondra on 2015-11-09, 17:41:05
we have it almost finished, we just need to do docs
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: bnzs on 2015-12-09, 18:12:33
I'm sorry for boring you but - is there any  interesting news about update of corona standalone? Maybe you all miraculously everything is ready and you just forget make it available for all?
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: Ondra on 2015-12-09, 18:54:22
well, it is ready and I can send it to you... if you dont mind discovering the format on your own ;). We still have to do doc ;)
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: burnin on 2015-12-13, 20:10:27
uhuhu, Thank you :D very nice... any hint, this month or later?
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: bnzs on 2016-01-21, 00:34:41
hi Ondra, may be there any news about standalone? Or may be probable expected release date?
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: Ondra on 2016-01-21, 08:26:56
it is already out. I'll make a new post here
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: burnin on 2016-01-21, 14:09:49
1. Is the map 2016-01-12 new format (exported from 1.4 daily) from the dropbox latest and OK to use?

2. I guess an exporter for blender will have to be rewritten?

3. Demo activation for 45 days... + other options. Does it means it's for sale already? Will older version continue working (free)?

4. Getting error while trying to instal "vc_redist.2015.update1.x64.exe", saying it can't uninstall "vcRuntimeMinimum_x64.msi". Any known solution to this?

Thanks for your efforts!
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: Ondra on 2016-01-21, 15:09:16
1: yes, see: https://forum.corona-renderer.com/index.php?topic=10832.0

2: yes, joel is working on it

3: I will make build with standalone licensing ASAP

4: try running Corona anyways, does it work?
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: Ondra on 2016-01-21, 15:22:32
build with correct licensing is up
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: burnin on 2016-01-21, 18:19:53
Thanks!

Since Blender can't be used for now, is there any scene suited for SA testing?
Title: Re: Corona standalone build, input format description
Post by: Ondra on 2016-01-21, 21:42:14
do you have 3dsmax? You can export any scene from there. Or we can make some sample exports tomorrow