Author Topic: Corona Tips & Tricks  (Read 70882 times)

2017-01-11, 16:28:00
Reply #15

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 10881
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
Quickly toggle lights on/off:

Create a Layered mtl. Leave any material as the base. Add Light mtl as layer 0 material. Add some other material (e.g. standard Corona material with diffuse level 0) as layer 1. Now swap these two layers to toggle the light on/off.

2017-04-21, 11:35:16
Reply #16

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 10881
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
Not entirely a Corona-only trick, but a neat one anyway, from PG himself!


2019-07-24, 13:16:59
Reply #17

Houssam Eddin Hammoudeh

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
I try to use AO Texture in Element CTexmap by using a small radios (1.5 cm) and it gives a good results I suppose...


2019-07-25, 14:47:25
Reply #18

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 10881
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
I try to use AO Texture in Element CTexmap by using a small radios (1.5 cm) and it gives a good results I suppose...
Try increasing ray directionality in your AO map. It should get rid of the "wire" appearance on some objects like the tree trunk.

2021-01-14, 12:27:44
Reply #19

leitecunha

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Hi there, a little tip for game developers. In case anyone tries to use Corona to bake a lightmap, it is possible.
You have to render both these 2 render elements:

Diffuse
Diffuse Color.

The lightmap is just one divided by the other. What you gotta do is put both renders in photoshop, the one with just the Diffuse Color on top of the other. Then, on that top layer (Diffuse Color), change the blending mode to Divide. And that's it. Just merge both, and you have the lightmap, black and white, and even the color spills from other objects.

Note that in any lightmap rendering, you can render them as an HDR or a PNG (or other 8bit format). When rendering in HDR, you can set the intensity of light super high and everything will be correct, no clipping etc. But of course, on the game engine side, rendering HDR maps in realtime is overhead, specially for mobile or VR standalone (Quest).
So it's best to render the elements and save them as PNG, but in this case, first check if the light is not clipping the white values... or the final lightmix in the game engine won't be exactly correct.
One way to check if you're not clipping is to just temporarily remove the diffuse texture and render it with the white color (or lower the white to ~235, because no physical material is capable of reflecting 255, the full white).

And that's it!

2021-07-07, 16:10:05
Reply #20

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 7184
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Did you know that you can use pick object from VFB function on Corona scattered objects and it will pick correct source object and not the scatterer itself. Let's say you scattered bunch of pebbles in a backyard, did a quick test render and noticed that you don't like a shape or colour of one of the pebbles, but struggle to find the offending object in the scene. All you need to do, is to press pick button in Corona VFB and click on rendered pebble that you want to select.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2021-09-02, 13:17:02
Reply #21

GeorgeK

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 553
  • George
    • View Profile
In case people didn't know this is actually a thing (I didn't), you can assign multiple connected nodes to a new root simply by assigning the output bracket to the root of node connections.  (Thanks Sprayer ;).



« Last Edit: 2021-09-02, 17:20:26 by maru »
For solutions and troubleshooting please visit - [link]
Please submit your tickets here - [link]

2021-09-02, 13:30:36
Reply #22

sprayer

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 793
    • View Profile
GeorgeK
You didn't this maybe it because won't work on old max versions? On 2020 it didn't work )

By the way you can drag root just on node not only in root slot if you hard to aim on small zoom level for example menu will appear to choose slot


looks like your gif not working even after downloading.
you need to change forum engine already and attach videos =)