Author Topic: Threadripper & Ryzen only builds (3rd Gen starts on page 50)  (Read 306841 times)

2021-09-10, 23:44:14
Reply #1320

GraceKellyPerfect

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Hello people,
I was wondering is there AMD CPU available that can turn Corona Interactive into "real-time renderer"  (whenever I change something in the scene, Interactive Render turns into blocky mess for second or two before image is cleared) . How close are Threadripper 3990X and similar powerhouses to this?
« Last Edit: 2021-09-10, 23:55:12 by GraceKellyPerfect »

2021-09-11, 05:48:41
Reply #1321

lolec

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 172
    • View Profile
Hello people,
I was wondering is there AMD CPU available that can turn Corona Interactive into "real-time renderer"  (whenever I change something in the scene, Interactive Render turns into blocky mess for second or two before image is cleared) . How close are Threadripper 3990X and similar powerhouses to this?

It depends on your scene. But for simple scenes. Pretty close.

2021-09-11, 10:35:23
Reply #1322

GraceKellyPerfect

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Hello people,
I was wondering is there AMD CPU available that can turn Corona Interactive into "real-time renderer"  (whenever I change something in the scene, Interactive Render turns into blocky mess for second or two before image is cleared) . How close are Threadripper 3990X and similar powerhouses to this?

It depends on your scene. But for simple scenes. Pretty close.
Could you give me example of what is your definition of simple scene? Studio scene with one object? Small interior scene?
Thanks

2021-09-11, 10:43:35
Reply #1323

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 7184
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
whenever I change something in the scene, Interactive Render turns into blocky mess for second or two before image is cleared

You may want to play with Corona settings to see if you can improve your IR experience. Setting IR subsampling to 0 will get rid of blockiness and turning off fast preview denoise may help with messiness. You'll find the former in render setup>system>system settings and the latter in render setup>performance. You can also try to increase image upscale factor to 2 in system settings, this would greatly increase IR performance at the significant loss of image quality.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2021-09-11, 16:36:26
Reply #1324

lupaz

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 659
    • View Profile
whenever I change something in the scene, Interactive Render turns into blocky mess for second or two before image is cleared

You may want to play with Corona settings to see if you can improve your IR experience. Setting IR subsampling to 0 will get rid of blockiness and turning off fast preview denoise may help with messiness. You'll find the former in render setup>system>system settings and the latter in render setup>performance. You can also try to increase image upscale factor to 2 in system settings, this would greatly increase IR performance at the significant loss of image quality.

I'd also recommend checking "dissolve with previous image"

2021-09-12, 14:59:44
Reply #1325

CrocsBlancs

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Any of you guys running the Silverstone IceGem 360? AIO for 3990x?

Interesting thing. Looks like almost no reviews although it has been out since January?

Here is a review that looks interesting (I didn't watch it entirely):

2021-09-12, 15:46:37
Reply #1326

CrocsBlancs

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Hi guys,

This is my first post here (second to be honest), so apologies if I'm doing anything wrong here.
First of all, big thank you to all of you for the valuable knowledge you share here, it is highly appreciated.

I'm setting up my new machine which will be dedicated to Arch Viz Corona renderings. I will have someone building the machine for me as I don't want to go through the process myself: I built from scratch a dual Xeon workstation few years ago: in the end it worked really well but I just don't have time to choose each and every component myself, then checking online if they are compatible or not.

So basically I'm coming here to expose the custom setup I've ended with so far, and I hope you guys can give me advice on it.
I ended up with two different setup, a 3970X based, and a 3990X based. The goal is to flag any absurd component choice that could have a negative impact on the overall rendering performance of the machine.

# BUILD 1:
Chassis: be quiet! Silent Base 802 - Black
Motherboard: Asus TRX40 Prime Pro S
CPU: AMD Ryzen ThreadRipper 3990X | 4.3 GHz | 64 Cores 128 Threads
Graphics Card: Gigabyte RTX 3070 Gaming OC V2 - 8GB
RAM: 128GB G.Skill Ripjaws V 3200MHz (4X32GB | 16-18-18-38)
CPU Cooling System: Noctua NH U14S TR4-SP3
Primary SSD: 500GB Gen4 Aorus M.2 NVME (R: 5000MB/s | W: 2500MB/s)
Secondary SSD: 1TB Gen4 Aorus M.2. NVME (R: 5000MB/s | W: 4400MB/s)
First Hard Drive: 4TB Seagate Ironwolf 5900RPM 3.5"
Chassis Fans: 5 x be quiet! Silent Wings 3 140mm Fans
Power Supply Unit: 1200W FSP 80+ Platinum - Modular

# BUILD 2:
Chassis: be quiet! Silent Base 802 - Black
Motherboard: Asus TRX40 Prime Pro S
CPU: AMD Ryzen ThreadRipper 3970X | 4.5 GHz | 32 Cores 64 Threads
Graphic Cards: Asus RTX 3090 TUF Gaming OC - 24GB
RAM: 128GB G.Skill Ripjaws V 3200MHz (4X32GB | 16-18-18-38)
Cooling System: Noctua NH U14S TR4-SP3
Primary SSD: 2TB Gen4 Aorus M.2. NVME (R: 5000MB/s | W: 4400MB/s)
Chassis Fans: 5 x be quiet! Silent Wings 3 140mm Fans
Power Supply Unit: 850W MSI MPG 80+ Gold - Modular

The store doesn't have a lot of options to choose from for each component unfortunately: I am mainly concerned about the RAM which is 3200MHz in both cases, whereas you guys in this forum talk more about 3600 if I'm not wrong. I'm not sure why the store doesn't provide an option for 3600, anyway I hope these 3200 RAM sticks will do well.

So I plan to go for one of these two builds, not sure which one yet, unless you guys tell me there's something wrong with them.

I need a pretty strong rendering power as I don't have any render farm at the moment plus I don't plan to rely on cloud rendering solutions neither (or exceptionally e.g. when something goes wrong with a client and I find myself having to render multiple 8k images over a night): so I guess I'll probably go for the 3990X build, but, again, I'm happy to have your thoughts on these builds and your advice on the best strategy for the future as I may want to expand my rendering power gradually as I'll get more jobs.

Thanks in advance for your knowledge and advice!
« Last Edit: 2021-09-14, 11:59:03 by CrocsBlancs »

2021-09-14, 10:06:00
Reply #1327

CrocsBlancs

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Hi guys,

I would greatly appreciate your insight on my configuration.
Thank you

2021-09-14, 10:29:04
Reply #1328

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 7184
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
I'm not colour blind, but i have problems with reading that colourful text, especially the orange one. If you really want to get help, maybe you should stick to plain text formating instead of clowning around with colours?
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2021-09-14, 12:00:16
Reply #1329

CrocsBlancs

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Thank you @romullus : done!
You're right, plain text is better

2021-09-14, 23:58:30
Reply #1330

dfcorona

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 215
    • View Profile
I just bought the Silverstone IceGem 360 TR4, now I see the Alphacool Eisbaer Pro Aurora 360 for TR4.  I haven't installed the Silverstone yet. What do you guys think, should I return the Silverstone for the Alphacool?  I would put links to both, but I'm not sure if I'm allowed too in the forums.
« Last Edit: 2021-09-15, 18:02:46 by dfcorona »