Corona Renderer Forum

Corona Renderer for Cinema 4D => [C4D] Bug Reporting => Topic started by: LeSill on 2021-09-10, 10:00:47

Title: Layered Material
Post by: LeSill on 2021-09-10, 10:00:47
Hello Corona team,

I have noticed a problem with Layered material. When I copy an object with that material to a different project, the layered material looses all the materials in the Layered material. The materials itself are coppied to a new project, but they are not correctly inserted in the layered material. Please fix this issue. Thanks.

Kind regards
Title: Re: Layered Material
Post by: mmarcotic on 2021-09-10, 10:51:17
Hello,

this is odd, but this seems to work for me correctly. I have tested it with a Cube and 4 materials inside a Layered, I've also tried having some naming conflicts with existing materials, but this all seems to be working correctly.

Could you please draft a scene where this issue occurs? Or guide me into running into this issue?

Thanks,
Jan
Title: Re: Layered Material
Post by: Daniel Mikolajčák on 2021-09-10, 11:24:29
I was just about to report this problem. It only happens if physical material is plugged into layer material. Legacy materials are copied along to a new project fine.
 
Thanks
Daniel
Title: Re: Layered Material
Post by: LeSill on 2021-09-10, 13:36:57
Thank you for the clarification.
Title: Re: Layered Material
Post by: mmarcotic on 2021-09-13, 09:15:39
What version of C4D are you using? What OS are you working with?

Thanks,
Jan
Title: Re: Layered Material
Post by: Daniel Mikolajčák on 2021-09-15, 23:09:12
R23 latest Mac
Title: Re: Layered Material
Post by: mmarcotic on 2021-10-04, 16:51:11
I still cannot reproduce this, does this happen for you with any Physical material or with the default one as well?

Also, could you send over a scene in which this "corrupted layered material" is?

Thanks,
Jan
Title: Re: Layered Material
Post by: BigAl3D on 2021-10-04, 22:22:20
I know this was a bug many versions ago, but has worked for quite a while. I just copied an object with a layered material (legacy) and pasted into a blank scene. Everything is fine. I then converted them all to Physical, copied and pasted into a new blank scene and gain, everything is fine.

Mac, R20, Corona 7 Hotfix 2.
Title: Re: Layered Material
Post by: frv on 2021-12-30, 17:38:59
This bug is still present. I can't copy a carpaint material from one file to another without loossing its settings.
iMac intel, C4D R25.113 OSX Monterey 12.1, CRv8 dailybuild.

Another problem is that these physically based materials like carpaint (layered materials ?) can not be imported to the new C4D asset browser. They loose their settings the same as copy paste into new files.

Its easy to see why. See attachments. The blue carpaint material copies well but the black one not at all. Hope this helps in solving the problem.
Title: Re: Layered Material
Post by: frv on 2021-12-30, 17:47:11
Another example, white cube with same black carpaint material comes from the asset browser as white.
But given the this material from the Corona material library its black. When this material is imported from the asset browser it looses its other layered materials.