Author Topic: problem with liquid in glass  (Read 1954 times)

2021-09-08, 16:48:35

tero.design

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 59
  • CGI visualiser, freelancer
    • View Profile
    • portfolio
Hello Coronarenderer teams and comrades,
We have next problem... See the screenshot:

In the right picture, liquid and glass are separate objects. On the right side, the objects have been attached. Here you can see the error of the material with absorption. Of course, we can leave 2 separate objects, but this is not so usefull for us. We really expected that this will be fixed in the 7th version, but the error is happens in the new physical material too :(

PS.
Please do not need to send a link explaining how the geometry of liquid and glass should look like, since the question is not how to make the geometry correctly, but how to make the result identical before and after attaching - I think we all understand that this should not happen so that after attaching objects to each other, their material changes.


I am also attaching a link to the model for this test: https://www.dropbox.com/s/jypgiigx9p48gkb/01_tdm_00.rar?dl=0
We really hope to get an answer and a quick solution to this problem in new updates of the program.

2021-09-08, 18:00:29
Reply #1

D0br0

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
I second the question. This problem appears from time to time.

2021-09-08, 18:12:06
Reply #2

3Dmitri

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
    • Architectural visualization service
I also have this problem
My name is Dmitri Revyakin (3Dmitri) Im 3d visualizer, freelancer with over 10 years of experience, im from Ukraine (Dnipro). My specialization - interior and exterior visualisations, also modeling of individual architectural projects of any complexity.

2021-09-09, 00:13:33
Reply #3

Kost4d

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 133
  • Working and Learning Hard
    • View Profile
    • Viz4d | Architectural Visualization
Yes, it is kind of problem indeed... Can you fix this somehow?

2021-09-09, 10:10:02
Reply #4

GeorgeK

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 798
  • George
    • View Profile
Hi everyone, this is already reported and logged, hopefully it will be improved in the future.

https://jira.chaosgroup.com/browse/CRMAX-861
George Karampelas | chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona QA Specialist | contact us

2021-09-09, 10:26:52
Reply #5

xronono

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
hey! I have the same problem.. pls help us to solve it or explain why it's going?

2021-09-09, 10:33:05
Reply #6

mirrra

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
and i also have this problem

2022-05-03, 12:18:30
Reply #7

IsmaeL

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 51
    • View Profile
Ahhh. So the bug has been noticed by more users. This seams to still be a problem even in Corona 8.
Is this going to be addressed at some point??
Falling in love with Corona

2022-05-03, 14:26:44
Reply #8

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 11282
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
I think we all understand that this should not happen so that after attaching objects to each other, their material changes.

So the bug has been noticed by more users.

and i also have this problem

I don't think this is really a "bug" or a "problem", and I am not sure if everyone agrees or understands that this should not be happening. I think this is just how something currently works in Corona.
But since there are multiple reports that this is not expected, we have it logged, and we will see if this is something we could improve.

If anyone else finds this behavior incorrect/unexpected, please feel free to post here.
Marcin Miodek | chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona Support Team Lead | contact us

2022-05-03, 14:48:43
Reply #9

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 7557
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
If anyone else finds this behavior incorrect/unexpected, please feel free to post here.

I have an opposite problem - in certain situations refractive materials works correctly only when all meshes are combined into single object. Sometimes it's not a problem to keep objects separated, or combined, but there are situations where it's highly preferable to keep objects in one state, or another and Corona's pickiness about that is a major pain. It would be nice if some time in the future this limitation would be finally lifted off.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2022-05-09, 10:59:54
Reply #10

IsmaeL

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 51
    • View Profile
Looks great romullus. And you put it very well, it is a bit quirky and that can be very time consuming when dealing with refraction. However, I don't understand why this would not be a bug. Should it not render exactly the same, no matter if it is one mesh or if it's multiple meshes?? Or is there a reason the Corona team implemented it this way?
Falling in love with Corona