Author Topic: I'm getting buckets on IR in Corona 6  (Read 1213 times)

2021-04-02, 17:33:13

lupaz

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 740
    • View Profile
Hi Dev team,

I have Max 2020 and Corona 6.1.
Any idea why I'm getting these buckets on IR refresh? It started happening a few weeks ago ASFIK.

In this particular case I'm just changing the value of the bump...


2021-04-02, 17:46:52
Reply #1

lupaz

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 740
    • View Profile
Here's the scene.
It seems or it may be related to the way I'm illuminating the scene.
Also worth mentioning that the geometry has "cast shadows" unchecked and receive shadows as well.

To replicate, start IR and create a box in the room

2021-04-02, 17:58:42
Reply #2

TomG

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 4361
    • View Profile
Haven't looked at the scene yet but guessing those are not buckets but subsampling (where Corona renders IR as "large blocks first then refinining). See https://coronarenderer.freshdesk.com/support/solutions/articles/5000520620-how-to-use-interactive-rendering- and search for the "IR subsampling vs dissolve with previous image option" section.
Tom Grimes | chaos-corona.com
Product Marketing Manager | contact us

2021-04-02, 19:49:59
Reply #3

lupaz

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 740
    • View Profile
Thanks. Subsampling is off and it's on dissolve

2021-04-02, 21:29:25
Reply #4

lupaz

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 740
    • View Profile
It doesn't happen when I activate 2D pan zoom mode...
It could be a bug actually.

2021-04-05, 14:47:29
Reply #5

TomG

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 4361
    • View Profile
Do they go away over time? Tested here and not getting them but what I did notice is that IR has a max amount of passes (8) and wondering if perhaps you aren't changing something before those passes are reached, Corona begins to redraw using the new values, but some parts of the image reach 8 passes and so then IR stops, leaving half the image updated, half not.

What happens if you set Max passes for IR to 0 and let Corona continually redraw the image? For me, it makes those clear up over time (I got them to show up by detaching and reattaching the Corona Wire to the Diffuse of the material - but once IR was not set to stop at 8 passes, those just cleated up quickly over time).
Tom Grimes | chaos-corona.com
Product Marketing Manager | contact us

2021-04-05, 16:17:58
Reply #6

lupaz

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 740
    • View Profile
Hi Tom,

I really need to limit IR. I can't have the CPU working constantly.

It seems it has to do with how corona refreshes AA.
I had GI vs AA at 2 because I needed a quick refresh on lines. If I change that to 16 or more then it's not as visible.

I also merged everything into a new scene and for some reason also helped.

It would be great if IR worked better with lower values of GI vs AA. Usually Corona has a hard time cleaning up AA in my opinion, when compared to for example Fstorm.



2021-04-05, 16:21:15
Reply #7

TomG

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 4361
    • View Profile
Could still limit the IR, just give it more passes, like 12, or 16 :)
Tom Grimes | chaos-corona.com
Product Marketing Manager | contact us

2021-04-07, 15:09:06
Reply #8

Avi

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 120
    • View Profile
Hi lupaz,

The square artefacts appear because of the adaptive environment sampler (it can be disabled in the development rollout). Adaptive environment sampler is used to speed up rendering. Our team is currently working on fixing this issue. Meanwhile, a simple fix for you is to disable the "Adaptive environment sampler" and switch to back to "NormalDep Compensated". I have attached a small video to help you with this problem.


Development rollout can be enabled from system> system settings > Enable devel/debug mode.
After that you will find a new rollout in the performance section & from there you can disable it.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/xy8wr4abkrzieyl/Adaptive%20Sampler%20Bug_Corona%206.mkv?dl=0

Regards,
Avi
Arpit Pandey | chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona Support Representative | contact us

2021-04-07, 16:47:25
Reply #9

lupaz

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 740
    • View Profile
Awesome. Thank you Avi.