Author Topic: Threadripper & Ryzen only builds (3rd Gen starts on page 50)  (Read 383401 times)

2021-11-09, 16:31:47
Reply #1350

Vuk

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 103
    • View Profile
If you look at it like that, purely based on price, then yes the 5950x is a better buy since the 3960x is far from 2xfaster. On the other hand, you have more pci-e lanes on the TRX40 and 256gb ram and more cores (slower ones though). The question is do you need those extras or not.

Also, the 5000 series has better IPC and can boost much higher than the 3000 series so you will have better performance in terms of opening files loading files, opening the material editor, generally all the tasks that are single-core oriented (pretty much all the tasks that are not rendering). If you are not in a rush I would suggest waiting for the new Threadripper series.

2021-12-02, 07:00:32
Reply #1351

cjwidd

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1069
    • View Profile
    • Artstation
Why on Earth is the 3990x (64/128) priced at ~$6,000 in 2021? Are we basically just waiting for the 96-core Genoa chip before 3990x prices will drop? What about 5950x, or is it not sufficient to operate as a render node?

2021-12-02, 11:43:00
Reply #1352

Nejc Kilar

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1096
    • View Profile
    • My personal website
Why on Earth is the 3990x (64/128) priced at ~$6,000 in 2021? Are we basically just waiting for the 96-core Genoa chip before 3990x prices will drop? What about 5950x, or is it not sufficient to operate as a render node?

Ha, here I'm able to find a 3990x for around 4000€ but getting a non 1000€ motherboard for it is... An art form.

Given the leaks lately there's a chance there won't be any Zen 3 Threadrippers except potentially Pro versions but somehow I can't quite imagine that they'd be priced in a way that it makes sense - the 3990x Pro model (WX) costs north of 5000€ and with the global chip shortages plus no competition in the HEDT space, I'm kind of inclined to think that if there is a Zen 3 Pro Threadripper lineup, it'll cost a lot more than the 3990x currently does. I could be wrong though :)

edit:
As for the render node, I think the 5950x makes sense but only in the context of the entire rendering farm you have and your workstations. My opinion is that if you are riding on a single machine, say a 3960x, a 5950x will complement it nicely. Plus, it's $ efficient, especially so with the recent discounts (the higher up the stack you go the more power you get but in terms of $ per performance its diminishing returns style). Now if you already have a 3990x and a 3970x in your office, well, in my opinion then the 5950x starts making a little less sense because you already have a lot of firepower - and to notice a big difference you'll need to add even more firepower.

Just thinking out loud here but if a 3990x and 3970x net you 10 hours of rendering (let's say you do animations) then a 5950x is going to make a bit of a dent to that render time but not a whole lot more. Now if you'd add another 3990x to that mix, well, you'd take hours off that total render time. Conversely, the other way around, if you're sporting a 3960x and you add a 5950x next to it... Well, you'll cut your render times down significantly - probably near 40-45% is my guess.

Again, just a personal opinion. We just chatting here :)
« Last Edit: 2021-12-02, 11:51:47 by Nejc Kilar »
Nejc Kilar | chaos-corona.com
Educational Content Creator | contact us

2021-12-06, 12:38:40
Reply #1353

hurrycat

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
I am on a 3970x machine for 6 months now, and I am thinking of adding a second one to render consecutively. I am between the same 3970x or a 5950x, but I think the first one makes more sense, since I am used to the times it takes to render etc.
It's also about 2000€ in my country, and generally available (I hope I won't regret saying that).
(Also I have read somewhere about the 5950x rebooting randomly, but that may affect a very small percentage, or may be have been fixed by now.)

I would like to wait for the next year to see if anything new comes out, but not only do I need the second machine quickly, I also hope that those two will not feel obsolete with the new generation.

I am thinking of operating the second one independently and not as a render slave (copying the files over through the network and firing up 3dsMax and rendering). It may sound silly, but I have not tried Distributed Rendering yet, and with some crashes I'm reading about I think It might be a safe and not very time-wasting option.

2021-12-06, 13:20:33
Reply #1354

Nejc Kilar

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1096
    • View Profile
    • My personal website
I am on a 3970x machine for 6 months now, and I am thinking of adding a second one to render consecutively. I am between the same 3970x or a 5950x, but I think the first one makes more sense, since I am used to the times it takes to render etc.
It's also about 2000€ in my country, and generally available (I hope I won't regret saying that).
(Also I have read somewhere about the 5950x rebooting randomly, but that may affect a very small percentage, or may be have been fixed by now.)

I would like to wait for the next year to see if anything new comes out, but not only do I need the second machine quickly, I also hope that those two will not feel obsolete with the new generation.

I am thinking of operating the second one independently and not as a render slave (copying the files over through the network and firing up 3dsMax and rendering). It may sound silly, but I have not tried Distributed Rendering yet, and with some crashes I'm reading about I think It might be a safe and not very time-wasting option.

Well on a $ per performance I think the 3970x will come out as less optimal but if time is of the essence then it really is the only option (that or the 3990x :) )  - in my opinion that is.

One thing to consider is that if you want to be running 3ds Max + Corona concurrently on a second machine you'll probably need to buy another set of licenses. With DR you typically don't.
Nejc Kilar | chaos-corona.com
Educational Content Creator | contact us

2021-12-29, 22:26:47
Reply #1355

dfcorona

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 240
    • View Profile
Just to give you guys an update, I finally received all the parts for my build and installed the SilverStone IceGem 360 on the 3990x.  I think the temps look good and I will try with PBO at one point. I rendered for 10 minutes straight at 100% load.


2022-01-15, 22:38:21
Reply #1356

dfcorona

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 240
    • View Profile
So I guess the new Threadripper 5000 is coming soon with dual socket.  I'm a little disappointed though, still the same 64 core.  Would you get this or wait for the 128 core, and when do you think it's coming?  I fear not until next year, since it seems the Epyc 128 core Bergamo comes out probably towards the end of this year.

2022-01-19, 23:34:12
Reply #1357

Blackmann

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Hello folks

My current system specs are as follows

AMD Ryzen Threadripper PRO 3995WX
ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. Pro WS WRX80E-SAGE SE WIFI
Corsair CMH128GX4M4E3200C16 x 4(32GB EACH)
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3090
Sabrent Rocket 4.0 Plus (RKT4P1.21EDA92318183) (On NVMe Card)
EVGA 1600W PSU

I'm currently having an issue with interactive rendering on 3dsmax 2022 with corona 7.1

Its normally fast with normal rendering however with interactive rendering, the pc becomes a pentium 4 in performance

Please assist

Never had these issues with my intel i9 9960x


2022-01-19, 23:54:28
Reply #1358

dfcorona

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 240
    • View Profile
Hello folks

My current system specs are as follows

AMD Ryzen Threadripper PRO 3995WX
ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. Pro WS WRX80E-SAGE SE WIFI
Corsair CMH128GX4M4E3200C16 x 4(32GB EACH)
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3090
Sabrent Rocket 4.0 Plus (RKT4P1.21EDA92318183) (On NVMe Card)
EVGA 1600W PSU

I'm currently having an issue with interactive rendering on 3dsmax 2022 with corona 7.1

Its normally fast with normal rendering however with interactive rendering, the pc becomes a pentium 4 in performance

Please assist

Never had these issues with my intel i9 9960x
I have the same issue running with same software. Almost cannot do anything with IPR running.  I even excluded half my processors under corona system settings.

2022-01-20, 15:41:33
Reply #1359

Nejc Kilar

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1096
    • View Profile
    • My personal website
That doesn't sound good, nope. Can you guys please try describing what's happening a bit more in detail please? Is it just 3ds Max that gets sluggish, is it the mouse cursor as well, is it just the rendering performance or is the whole system (Windows included) just a lot slower?
Nejc Kilar | chaos-corona.com
Educational Content Creator | contact us

2022-01-20, 16:30:15
Reply #1360

dfcorona

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 240
    • View Profile
That doesn't sound good, nope. Can you guys please try describing what's happening a bit more in detail please? Is it just 3ds Max that gets sluggish, is it the mouse cursor as well, is it just the rendering performance or is the whole system (Windows included) just a lot slower?
Well, it's Max I guess.  With IPR even if you try to change material settings it seems to be so slow.  I don't know why freeing up more cores in the system settings doesn't help.

2022-01-20, 19:18:25
Reply #1361

Blackmann

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
That doesn't sound good, nope. Can you guys please try describing what's happening a bit more in detail please? Is it just 3ds Max that gets sluggish, is it the mouse cursor as well, is it just the rendering performance or is the whole system (Windows included) just a lot slower?

In my case the whole computer gets slow during IR, but performs well during rendering.

2022-02-08, 22:50:11
Reply #1362

mojemenojemato

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Hello everyone,

my new build is giving me headaches and I have run out of ideas to make it stable.

The PC is used for modeling and rendering in max 2016 with corona 6 (hotfix 2). When modeling or doing basicaly any other type of work, the machine is working nice and fast. But when rendering it keeps randomly crashing. Sometimes I am able to render multiple images, sometimes it crashes 2/3 into the render, sometimes at denoising. When it crashes screen turns black, monitor goes into sleep mode, nothing works, not even the reset button. I have to switch off the PSU. The symptoms are exactly the same as people describing in other posts here https://forum.corona-renderer.com/index.php?topic=27699.0.

The build:
GIGABYTE B550M AORUS ELITE
AMD Ryzen 9 5900X
NOCTUA NH-U12P SE2 + AM4 mounting kit (repurposed from previous pc)
G.SKILL 64 GB KIT DDR4 3600 MHz CL18 Ripjaws V ( 2x32GB)
Samsung SSD 970 EVO Plus
ASUS DUAL GTX 1060 OC
Seasonic Core GM 500W Gold
two other HDD drives

My first suspect was RAM. When I did memtest-86 on those RAMs, one specific address kept returning errors in one bit (10000000 instead of 00000000, or E7F7F7F7 instead of F7F7F7F7, you get it). So I tried turning off XMP without any change in behavior. Then I pulled one stick out, hoping to leave only the good one in. It kept crashing, so I swapped the sticks, still crashing.

Second suspect was overheating, but temps under render load are (from HWiNFO64) 69c for CPU die average, VRM MOS 86c, GPU chilling at 52c after 30 mins of rendering and they dont seem to creep up more.

Third suspect is PSU, but all online power calculators say it should be able to handle it with reserve. I have 750W PSU from previous pc so I can try that, but it was making strange squeak noise when AIDA64 performed L3 cache copy benchmark. This new makes it too, just quietly/differently so I assumed its a feature.

Windows event manager is not very helpful, it only says unexpected shutdown. PC runs Win10+latest updates, latest drivers and BIOS. I did not tinker with any RAM or CPU settings.

I am thankful for any ideas.
Martin

2022-02-09, 14:33:25
Reply #1363

lupaz

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 763
    • View Profile
If you over clocked it I'd go back to default.

2022-02-14, 20:40:16
Reply #1364

pedrovargas

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Hey mojemenojemato
I have exactly the same problem. When it crashes screen turns black, monitor goes into sleep mode, nothing works, not even the reset button. I have to switch off the PSU. I changed the voltage to 1.35V and felt more stability. The problem now happens once a day. But I still haven't found a definitive solution. Could anyone help?

The build:
GIGABYTE B550M AORUS ELITE
AMD Ryzen 9 5900X
Deepcool Gammaxx 400 Ex 120mm + 3 Cooler Fans Deepcool 120mm
Kingston Fury Beast, RGB, 32GB (2x16GB), 3600MHz, DDR4, CL18
Samsung SSD 970 EVO Plus
ASUS DUAL NVIDIA RTX 3060 TI 8GB
Corsair CV650, 650W, 80 Plus
2TB HD drive

Hello everyone,

my new build is giving me headaches and I have run out of ideas to make it stable.

The PC is used for modeling and rendering in max 2016 with corona 6 (hotfix 2). When modeling or doing basicaly any other type of work, the machine is working nice and fast. But when rendering it keeps randomly crashing. Sometimes I am able to render multiple images, sometimes it crashes 2/3 into the render, sometimes at denoising. When it crashes screen turns black, monitor goes into sleep mode, nothing works, not even the reset button. I have to switch off the PSU. The symptoms are exactly the same as people describing in other posts here https://forum.corona-renderer.com/index.php?topic=27699.0.

The build:
GIGABYTE B550M AORUS ELITE
AMD Ryzen 9 5900X
NOCTUA NH-U12P SE2 + AM4 mounting kit (repurposed from previous pc)
G.SKILL 64 GB KIT DDR4 3600 MHz CL18 Ripjaws V ( 2x32GB)
Samsung SSD 970 EVO Plus
ASUS DUAL GTX 1060 OC
Seasonic Core GM 500W Gold
two other HDD drives

My first suspect was RAM. When I did memtest-86 on those RAMs, one specific address kept returning errors in one bit (10000000 instead of 00000000, or E7F7F7F7 instead of F7F7F7F7, you get it). So I tried turning off XMP without any change in behavior. Then I pulled one stick out, hoping to leave only the good one in. It kept crashing, so I swapped the sticks, still crashing.

Second suspect was overheating, but temps under render load are (from HWiNFO64) 69c for CPU die average, VRM MOS 86c, GPU chilling at 52c after 30 mins of rendering and they dont seem to creep up more.

Third suspect is PSU, but all online power calculators say it should be able to handle it with reserve. I have 750W PSU from previous pc so I can try that, but it was making strange squeak noise when AIDA64 performed L3 cache copy benchmark. This new makes it too, just quietly/differently so I assumed its a feature.

Windows event manager is not very helpful, it only says unexpected shutdown. PC runs Win10+latest updates, latest drivers and BIOS. I did not tinker with any RAM or CPU settings.

I am thankful for any ideas.
Martin