Author Topic: Upgrading to Snology DS1517+ (8GB RAM model) with 10GbE networking?  (Read 7692 times)

2018-01-28, 23:21:57

3dwannab

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 362
    • View Profile

What I have so far is the DS918+ and Zenith Extreme Motherboard which came packaged with a 10GbE card (RJ45) and the ASUS DSL-AC68U modem/router.


To get 10GbE, I might just have to sell the DS918+ and opt for the DS1517+ 8GB model (found here on senetic)


I'm just setup on one workstation currently and was hoping to delve into the land of fast 10GbE.


I unknowingly didn't really know the benefits of having a 10GbE before I bought the DS918+.
The reason for the NAS is just to have one accessible place to grab work files from anywhere when I need too and store all my other personal files. But having the luxury to edit directly from the NAS would be great.


Q's.
  • What do I need for 10GbE connection directly to the NAS apart from the 10GbE network interface for the NAS to connect to my PC which has the RJ45 10gbe card? My router is the dsl-ac68u (1900 mbps).
  • Will the router do? Or does that need upgrading too?
  • Is there another way to skin this cat?
Any expertise on this subject would be great, thanks.

2018-01-29, 05:19:42
Reply #1

SaY

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 72
    • View Profile
You would need a switch.
Luckily the prices came down a lot lately, here is an affordable 5-port 10gb:
https://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_from=R40&_trksid=p2047675.m570.l1313.TR0.TRC0.H0.XNetgear+XS505M-100NAS+.TRS5&_nkw=Netgear+XS505M-100NAS+&_sacat=0
I'm running a Freenas server on 10gb network in my studio and getting consistent 700-800MB/s network read/write speed.  Faster than any sata SSD drive.

2018-01-29, 12:44:16
Reply #2

3dwannab

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 362
    • View Profile


Thanks, I've found this card for the NAS:

€100 for a Dell Intel Single Port Copper RJ-45 10Gb PCI-e x8 Network Low Profile NIC
https://www.ebay.ie/itm/NEW-Dell-Intel-Single-Port-Copper-RJ-45-10Gb-PCI-e-x8-Network-Low-Profile-NIC/391741715588?ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT&_trksid=p2055119.m1438.l2649


Then someone on amazon answered my Q with this switch which is 2 port:

€287.95 for the ASUS XG-U2008 Unmanaged 2-Port 10G/8-Port Gigabit Switch
https://www.amazon.co.uk/ASUS-XG-U2008-Unmanaged-2-Port-Gigabit/dp/B01NCT21GL/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1517225508&sr=8-1&keywords=asus+xg-u2008

  • Would these do the trick?
  • Is the low profile cards the only ones that work in a NAS?
  • Would I need a two 10G port for the NAS for any reason?
  • Will the RJ45 cables that come with the NAS CAT5e work?
« Last Edit: 2018-01-29, 14:31:59 by 3dwannab »

2018-01-29, 16:53:04
Reply #3

Juraj

  • Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 4435
    • View Profile
    • studio website
While all the network cards are made by either Intel or Aquantia I would rather buy one directly from Intel than the Dell branded ones. They cost the same on ebay, or just tiny bit difference.

https://www.synology.com/en-global/compatibility?search_by=products&model=DS1517%2B&category=network_interface_cards&p=1

Make sure you buy one with RJ45 lan port, not the SFP+ ones.

The Asus is good enough as long as you only need two 10 10gbit ports (one will got to the NAS, one to your workstation, other devises will connect at 1gbit).

CAT5e is good enough for 10gbit up to 50 +/- meters.
talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2018-01-29, 18:08:10
Reply #4

SaY

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 72
    • View Profile


Thanks, I've found this card for the NAS:

€100 for a Dell Intel Single Port Copper RJ-45 10Gb PCI-e x8 Network Low Profile NIC
https://www.ebay.ie/itm/NEW-Dell-Intel-Single-Port-Copper-RJ-45-10Gb-PCI-e-x8-Network-Low-Profile-NIC/391741715588?ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT&_trksid=p2055119.m1438.l2649


Then someone on amazon answered my Q with this switch which is 2 port:

€287.95 for the ASUS XG-U2008 Unmanaged 2-Port 10G/8-Port Gigabit Switch
https://www.amazon.co.uk/ASUS-XG-U2008-Unmanaged-2-Port-Gigabit/dp/B01NCT21GL/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1517225508&sr=8-1&keywords=asus+xg-u2008

  • Would these do the trick?
  • Is the low profile cards the only ones that work in a NAS?
  • Would I need a two 10G port for the NAS for any reason?
  • Will the RJ45 cables that come with the NAS CAT5e work?

1,2) I would check with Synology if the adapter will work. As i understand you already have 10gb for your workstation.  Of course Synology will try to sell their branded adapters for 3x the price but Juraj is right - all adapters pretty much the same. Check the synology forum to see what adapters are tested by the users.
3) 1 is enough.
4) Cat 5e will work if they not too long. Or just get Cat7 on amazon, prices are not that high.

That switch you found will work great if you're sure you will have only one 10gb workstation.  All the nodes will get 1gb which is enough to transfer scenes and assets.

2018-01-29, 18:26:09
Reply #5

Juraj

  • Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 4435
    • View Profile
    • studio website
The newer TIA approved successor is actually CAT6A, which I would suggest because it's compatible with every 10gbit device, unlike Cat7 whose GigaGate45 (GG45) connectors might cause some backwards compatibility issues.

talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2018-01-30, 18:50:21
Reply #6

3dwannab

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 362
    • View Profile
Thanks for the good answers guys.


Sorry for the late reply but I've having outrageous trouble backing up to an external drive connected via USB3.0 using the so called Hyper Backup app of Snologys with version history (Long thread about it here). So far, 4TB has taken 4 days. Still at 92%. I’m also gone 92% crazy with it! Renaming the app to ‘Sammy the slug Backup’ would be more apt.


But, I digress.
I’m just not sure if the NAS running in Snologys proprietary RAID SHR would take advantage of 10GbE.


So, what about 40Gbps.


Would I be safer getting a 4 Bay QNAP-TS-453BT3-8G below with DUAL Thunderbolt 3 ports for €1,200 and setting up a different RAID type. I went ahead and got the Ironwoft 10TB drive so I could have one drive and 3 as redunancy. I'm sure the W/R speeds would be crazy.
https://www.amazon.co.uk/QNAP-TS-453BT3-8G-Bay-Desktop-Enclosure/dp/B076ZXZ2SF/ref=sr_1_1?s=computers&ie=UTF8&qid=1517333438&sr=1-1&keywords=QNAP+TS-453BT3
and get a TB3 expansion card for the PC like the ASUS ThunderboltEX 3 for €75
https://www.amazon.com/ASUS-Expansion-Card-Motherboards-ThunderboltEX/dp/B01HDUVJ54


The above price would be similar to what I’ve fork out for the other setup. PLUS, I could flog my 10GbE ASUS card. And have a daisy chainable system.
 
« Last Edit: 2018-01-30, 18:57:50 by 3dwannab »

2018-01-30, 19:55:53
Reply #7

Juraj

  • Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 4435
    • View Profile
    • studio website
Don't get me started on the HyperBackup. I tried it when I first bought my first Synology NAS and I was literally shocked how sluggish it is.

I now back-up using (paid) SyncBreeze which can be configured from super-simple to ultra-complex. It is incredibly fast. Like billion times faster I am not kidding.
It's able to search my 4TB SSD drives full of projects and assets within like 2 minutes. Then back-up using 100perc. of the speed of drive.

Thunderbolt NAS are waste unless you connect them directly to your Workstation, in which case you might as well install those drives locally on your workstation.

The moment you want fast, large capacity and expandable to 10gbe NAS, it gets so expensive it's actually cheaper to build a regular PC as file-server.
If full-on file-server is too complex, one can still install some linux-distro like FreeNas on it instead of Windows, but I run Windows on it instead.
talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2018-01-30, 20:07:18
Reply #8

3dwannab

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 362
    • View Profile
It's brutal. The bad type of brutal.


The Irish meaning of the word is quite different to other countries. :)


So that SyncBreeze is an app available in DSM? I've had to step away from the PC in case I break something up. ;)


I will be connecting directly to my workstation. AFAIK thunderbolt is daisychannable so if I attach a laptop to a hub or to the spare TB 3 I/O in the QNAP it'll be very handy.


That qnap also has a ready installed 10G NIC. So it has options.


Would RAID 10 be the choice for the fastest read/writes? I've 4 x 10tb hard drives so 3 can be redundant.

2018-01-31, 10:32:39
Reply #9

Juraj

  • Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 4435
    • View Profile
    • studio website
I am not sure if the QNAP card isn't SFP+ only, better check it.

If you don't plan the NAS for office of multiple PCs, then the thunderbolt is ok then.
talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2018-01-31, 19:10:04
Reply #10

3dwannab

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 362
    • View Profile
With thunderbolt and the right raid config would it be better than a 10G setup.


I might just ask the approx speed on the forum.

2018-02-01, 20:38:40
Reply #11

3dwannab

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 362
    • View Profile
I've thought about it and decided to scrap the idea of 10GbE for now as I've only one workstation and the benifits far outway the cost.


So, I've got an existing 1TB 960Pro here (need 2TB) so might just get another and put them in RAID 0 and be done with it. Which will blow any other type setup out of the water.
And, use that as a work drive along with windows backup with file versioning enabled to do 15-min interval backups to the 1GbE connection to the NAS. And weekly backups to the external offsite device.


Doing those frequent backups won't bare the system down too much.


I just got to look at the performance gain for NVMe in RAID 0. But it'll far outway anything a 10GbE could do.

2018-02-18, 22:19:42
Reply #12

3dwannab

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 362
    • View Profile
CDM Results for 2x 960pros in RAID 0. 1.9TB.

:)                                                 :)                                                 :)                                                 :)                                                 :)                                                 :)                                                 :)                                                 :)

2018-02-20, 01:36:57
Reply #13

Juraj

  • Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 4435
    • View Profile
    • studio website
Are you showing off :- ) ? (your insanity)
talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2018-02-20, 01:55:33
Reply #14

3dwannab

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 362
    • View Profile
I never have to try hard at that I'm afraid.


Using this as the primary drive backing up on the regular is a good solution for me.


What's sort of W/R speeds do you get with your 10g setup?