Author Topic: Weird blocks, NAN?  (Read 6739 times)

2020-06-22, 17:14:56

Barendby

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 123
    • View Profile
What can this be, is it a form of NAN?

2020-06-22, 18:31:41
Reply #1

Beanzvision

  • Former Corona Team Member
  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 3873
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
Hi, these aren't NaNs (they will always be black). It looks like a denoising artifact. Is this from IR or a final render? If it's reproducible, can you please share the scene with us? The private uploader link is in my signature below. Thanks!
Bengamin Jerrems l
Portfolio l Click me!

2020-06-23, 10:27:32
Reply #2

Barendby

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 123
    • View Profile
I got this yesterday on full render, not with IR.
Multiple times.

Today, it is all gone :)
No idea what caused it but it is gone, thanks anyway.

2020-06-23, 10:51:06
Reply #3

Beanzvision

  • Former Corona Team Member
  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 3873
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
Thanks for the update, If you come across it again, please let us know.
Bengamin Jerrems l
Portfolio l Click me!

2020-06-24, 20:49:42
Reply #4

Barendby

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 123
    • View Profile
So on another scene when I try to render I get the error:

An internal error has occurred causing your image to contain NaN (Not a Number) value.
Please report the bug with the scene attached. We can fix these problems promptly if we have the scene where it happens.

I am uploading the file now. PLEASE KEET IT CONFIDENTIAL!

2020-06-25, 13:44:19
Reply #5

Pepelecrabb

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 96
    • View Profile
I had this very same error message come up for me last week on a very simple scene. I did not see anything wrong with the rendered scene though. I forget what the problem was or what I did to remedy or even which file it was. But it went away after I did something so I let it slide. I think I had a broken texture link or something simple like that.
Sorry not much help, I just wanted to let it be known that others have had this error message come up.

Very odd error message. Don't know where a non numeric value could have been entered in this simple scene. 

2020-06-25, 14:48:31
Reply #6

Barendby

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 123
    • View Profile
yeah, this is odd... my render was all white when I got the error, so I didn't see any Nan's. in fact, the whole render view looked washed out.
This morning when I opened the same scene it renders perfect...no messages or errors. It is so inconsistent.

2020-06-25, 15:19:52
Reply #7

TomG

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 5528
    • View Profile
NaNs generally are inconsistent - because sampling involves randomness, sometimes a ray that causes a NaN will spawn, sometimes not. Generally they are caught when an animation is done, because then on some frames a NaN will happen (but, never on the same frames :) Just by repeating rendering the scene, the randomness will eventually show up). As a note, the NaN is not in the scene itself, but in the calculations done by Corona - thus, there isn't a "problem pixel" in the scene that is a NaN, but somewhere along the way a calculation in Corona results in something that can't be computed (you can take division by zero as the classic example).

Best thing to do in such cases is send us the scene, because if it happened once, it can happen again, depending on the "roll of the dice", and it's always an error in how Corona is calculating something so is something we really want to investigate. Thanks!
Tom Grimes | chaos-corona.com
Product Manager | contact us

2020-06-25, 18:53:01
Reply #8

Barendby

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 123
    • View Profile
Thanks for the explanation Tom.

I have sent the scene last night after the error occurred, hope it helps

2020-06-26, 12:18:15
Reply #9

Beanzvision

  • Former Corona Team Member
  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 3873
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
Thanks for the explanation Tom.

I have sent the scene last night after the error occurred, hope it helps

Where was it uploaded and what is the file called? Thanks
Bengamin Jerrems l
Portfolio l Click me!

2020-06-26, 12:22:07
Reply #10

Barendby

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 123
    • View Profile

[/quote]

Where was it uploaded and what is the file called? Thanks
[/quote]

I used your private uploader in your signature. Think it was called "Hilton_002.c4d"

2020-06-26, 12:36:44
Reply #11

Beanzvision

  • Former Corona Team Member
  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 3873
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
Thanks, I'll have a hunt for it ;)
Bengamin Jerrems l
Portfolio l Click me!

2020-06-29, 11:52:59
Reply #12

Barendby

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 123
    • View Profile
Beanzvision, please help me :)
I recently upgraded my pc from an old intel cpu to a new AMD 16 core machine.
Since the upgrade I get these weird render blocks, but super random. I even get it now on old scenes that had no problems, that rendered perfect on my old pc.

I never thought there can be a render difference between AMD and intel but is it maybe possible?
I am sure I had the same corona version on both pc's... not sure anymore but this is on the latest beta.

2020-06-29, 15:00:34
Reply #13

Beanzvision

  • Former Corona Team Member
  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 3873
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
Beanzvision, please help me :)
I recently upgraded my pc from an old intel cpu to a new AMD 16 core machine.
Since the upgrade I get these weird render blocks, but super random. I even get it now on old scenes that had no problems, that rendered perfect on my old pc.

I never thought there can be a render difference between AMD and intel but is it maybe possible?
I am sure I had the same corona version on both pc's... not sure anymore but this is on the latest beta.

Hi Barendby,

We still can't find this upload, are you certain of the file name? Can you try another service such as wetransfer.com and add my email to it? jerrems at coronarenderer.com Thanks a lot!
Bengamin Jerrems l
Portfolio l Click me!

2020-06-29, 16:31:06
Reply #14

Barendby

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 123
    • View Profile
I have tried to send it with wetransfer but I get an error. I have also sent you a mail, did you receive my mail... maybe I have the email adress wrong?