Author Topic: Find out Corona version of a max file  (Read 5724 times)

2016-05-19, 18:40:11

Frood

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1919
    • View Profile
    • Rakete GmbH
Is there any possibility to find out which Corona version was used for a given file?

Good Luck

Never underestimate the power of a well placed level one spell.

2016-05-20, 19:53:10
Reply #1

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 9048
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
we dont save that info in. We have paramblock versioning, but that does not map 1:1 to stable versions
Rendering is magic.How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2016-05-20, 20:33:20
Reply #2

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 12741
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
How about this? File > Properties > File Properties
Marcin Miodek | chaos-corona.com
3D Support Team Lead - Corona | contact us

2016-05-20, 20:46:45
Reply #3

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 8829
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
maru, does that show Corona version in which file was originally created or just current Corona version? I tried to search such info through MAXFinder utility and coundn't find any clear info about renderers's version.

EDIT: Tested it myself and it looks like maru's method is legit :]
« Last Edit: 2016-05-20, 20:52:04 by romullus »
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2016-05-21, 19:47:24
Reply #4

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 12741
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
I'm not sure how exactly this works as 3ds is black magic, but I just recalled this option and tested it with some old scenes - seems that it shows the original version with which the file was saved.
Marcin Miodek | chaos-corona.com
3D Support Team Lead - Corona | contact us

2016-05-23, 12:50:10
Reply #5

Frood

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1919
    • View Profile
    • Rakete GmbH
Thanks to all!

Yes, this is it ... almost. But it is about 3d Studio Max by the you-know-who company.

When it comes to the interesting part (Corona daily 'subversion') you are just not able to read it because the window size is fixed. Additionally you can´t copy&paste something from that window.

Don´t know what´s so difficult to make a window resizable (or copy enabled) so that it can actually be used. Mabe because it´s so much work to to it with native Win32 api, isn´t it, Ondra? ;)

So I have to do a listener call like

Code: [Select]
print (fileProperties.getItems "Render Data")
to read that particular information. But it at least works! Thanks again,

Good Luck

Never underestimate the power of a well placed level one spell.

2016-06-01, 10:18:28
Reply #6

Frood

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1919
    • View Profile
    • Rakete GmbH
For quick acces I ended up with a macro script for my toolbar as one-click solution. If anyone needs it: Paste this into the maxscript listener window, select all lines and drag it to some toolbar, done.

Code: [Select]
for i=1 to (fileProperties.getItems "Render Data").count as integer do (
if ((findstring (fileProperties.getItems "Render Data")[i] "Renderer Name") !=undefined) do (
message=(fileProperties.getItems "Render Data")[i]
if (autosave.Enable==true) do (
message+="\r\n\r\nNote: Auto backup is enabled, this information may be no longer valid after first autosave."
)
messageBox message title:"Renderer information of this file:"
)
)


Good Luck


Never underestimate the power of a well placed level one spell.

2016-07-14, 18:41:59
Reply #7

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 8829
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Hey Frood, your script just saved my day! Thank you very much. Though that info is not so easy to find. Could you duplicate it over this topic, so it become more accessible: https://forum.corona-renderer.com/index.php/topic,9728.0.html Or i could do it on your behalf if you wish.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2016-07-15, 10:06:15
Reply #8

Frood

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1919
    • View Profile
    • Rakete GmbH
Hi romullus, please do as you like, I´ve got not so much time right now, thank you.

Good Luck

Never underestimate the power of a well placed level one spell.

2016-07-15, 10:45:23
Reply #9

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 8829
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Just did it. Thanks once again.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures