Poll

3 features you want the most:

Geopattern-like tool ("texturing" objects with geometry)
27 (10.8%)
Cryptomatte (masking workflow)
16 (6.4%)
Sketch/Toon/Stylized shader
9 (3.6%)
Curvature map
7 (2.8%)
Dedicated CarPaint Shader
2 (0.8%)
Dedicated fabrics shader
15 (6%)
Decals workflow (placing independent textures on objects with a modifier)
34 (13.7%)
Render-time booleans (cut/slice objects)
8 (3.2%)
Adding own materials to Corona Material Library
9 (3.6%)
Lightmix extended to materials, textures, ...
17 (6.8%)
VR Scans compatibility
3 (1.2%)
Interactive rendering in 3ds max viewport (with gizmos, object selection, manipulation, ...)
6 (2.4%)
Rendering memory usage improvements
5 (2%)
Speed of rendering improvements
18 (7.2%)
Speed of interactive rendering improvements specifically
18 (7.2%)
GPU/Hybrid rendering
37 (14.9%)
Stability improvements (bug fixes)
6 (2.4%)
Improvements to caustics
12 (4.8%)

Total Members Voted: 96

Author Topic: The most wanted feature?  (Read 339088 times)

2021-03-24, 11:01:32
Reply #885

Nejc Kilar

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1048
    • View Profile
    • My personal website
Does it even matter now, when you can't buy any GPU without selling your kidney?

For what its worth you seemingly can't buy a CPU either lol :D

2021-03-24, 12:15:20
Reply #886

Juraj

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 4312
    • View Profile
    • studio website
Does it even matter now, when you can't buy any GPU without selling your kidney?

For what its worth you seemingly can't buy a CPU either lol :D

I had to check but thankfully it looks like you can, at least 90perc. of them :- ). Looks to be mainly the popular big-hitters, like Ryzen 5900X or Threadripper 3990X which are hard to source (but plenty of 3995WX for 5.5K Euro..uff).

I will sell my 1080ti cheaply to anyone who will swap his place in vaccine order with me! I will give one Quadro RTX too if it's one of mRNA ones. PM me ! Srs.. maybe.
talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2021-03-24, 21:03:56
Reply #887

Nejc Kilar

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1048
    • View Profile
    • My personal website
Ever since the WX series arrived I've noticed extra stock for those yeah. Last month or so I was scouring the shops for anything TR like and nobody had anything except a couple of shipments here and there. But most hadn't and the ones I asked didn't know when the next batch was coming in. Looking at some of the more popular retailers, looks like there is more stock in there now too - at some extra prices :) Non TR stuff is luckily more accessible though.

Crazy times! I wouldn't be surprised you'd get PMed, even a 1080ti is worth A LOT these days lol. Talk about holding value over the years...

2021-03-24, 21:10:10
Reply #888

sebastian___

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 188
    • View Profile
Does it even matter now, when you can't buy any GPU without selling your kidney?

Maybe it will matter for the future (in the future).

2021-03-26, 01:50:24
Reply #889

burnin

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1170
    • View Profile
Just consider a Feature request granted.

There's scarcity all over.
Now do your best with what you got. You're an artist FFS.
So stay calm and effortlessly say it... 

It's karma :)
« Last Edit: 2021-03-26, 01:54:48 by burnin »

2021-04-02, 06:54:45
Reply #890

reyaz

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Lightmix needs to be like it was in corona 4.0 and below versions. Its was really good before where we don't have to save lightmix as a preset. For latest versions, Even saving the preset It can not remember the values/properties for the lights based on the names.

please find attached screenshots for your reference.
For the 2nd render, I have added extra lights after saving the preset, but you can see even after loading the saved lightmix preset, It cannot remember the name and properties of existing lights.
In the screenshots you can clearly see the values of light 001, 002 and 003 is swapped to box light, box light001 and box light 002 respectively. so basically it just works based on the order of the lights. It would be better if it can remember the names of the existing lights.

I Hope there will be a fix for this issue for the upcoming corona version.



2021-04-10, 13:52:55
Reply #891

denisgo22

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 691
    • View Profile
highly recommend for a huge render time saving add to Corona Camera-- parameter of denoising amount and passes amount/ so it will be possible to adjust the render time for different cameras. since there are different positions where half of the image is empty. for example for aerial views where a large number of unnecessary passes are rendered after reaching the required number of amount noise and quality.it will also be possible to reduce render times for views where the visible quality is sufficient with fewer passes, or more noise amount/

2021-04-13, 16:53:17
Reply #892

Jpjapers

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1462
    • View Profile
Might i suggest adding 'Make volumetrics work with a camera inside the volume' to the list?

Edited for clarity.
« Last Edit: 2021-04-16, 21:46:03 by Jpjapers »

2021-04-13, 17:57:34
Reply #893

TomG

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 3939
    • View Profile
Might i suggest adding 'Make volumetrics work inside the volume' to the list?

Not sure what you mean - if you mean having volumetric objects (Volume Grid or Volume Material) work inside a Global Volume, that's already done https://forum.corona-renderer.com/index.php?topic=30876.msg182024#msg182024.

2021-04-14, 00:11:31
Reply #894

burnin

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1170
    • View Profile
I suspect he means "volume inside a volume inside another volume..." - Volume priorities :)
Please, re-consider thoroughly, if it's worth having feature implemented but keeping it out of artist's reach.   

2021-04-16, 21:45:25
Reply #895

Jpjapers

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1462
    • View Profile
Apologies i mistyped. Make volumetrics work with the camera inside the volume.
Ive edited for clarity.

2021-04-17, 03:19:08
Reply #896

lupaz

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 659
    • View Profile
Might i suggest adding 'Make volumetrics work with a camera inside the volume' to the list?

Edited for clarity.

I could sware this was possible a long time ago.

2021-04-19, 14:52:57
Reply #897

TomG

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 3939
    • View Profile
I could sware this was possible a long time ago.

Nope, this has never worked. The camera has always had to be outside the volume. There are examples of things like cloud fly-throughs, which can be done by using render time booleans (make a sphere around the camera that follows the camera, make the sphere a render time boolean that cuts out that shape from the volume object, now the camera is always outside the volume object :) ).

2021-04-24, 22:42:31
Reply #898

Jpjapers

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1462
    • View Profile
I know there are many workarounds but its not always practical especially with walkthrough animations where you want volumetrics and the scale of the space changes throughout.

2021-05-06, 00:36:34
Reply #899

exor

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
Might i suggest adding 'Make volumetrics work with a camera inside the volume' to the list?

Edited for clarity.

yes please ! +1