Author Topic: AO exclude/include  (Read 17278 times)

2014-01-26, 14:05:26

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8952
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
I've added new modes to the ambient occlusion shader to allow excludes/includes for the occlusion, either by list, or on the same object basis:

Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2014-01-26, 14:23:58
Reply #1

MatEvil

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
    • www.art2upz.com
Good ;)
CG Artist specialize @ Fluid and Dynamic
www.art2upz.com

2014-01-26, 14:38:44
Reply #2

kregred

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 58
    • View Profile
Just perfect! It is often necessary.

2014-01-26, 17:15:27
Reply #3

antanas

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 272
  • Hmm ...
    • View Profile
Great !

2014-01-26, 17:56:05
Reply #4

Polymax

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 830
  • CG Generalist
    • View Profile
    • maxkagirov.com
Useful feature! Thank you!
Corona - the best rendering solution!

2014-01-26, 19:00:10
Reply #5

The Pixel Artist

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 60
    • View Profile
    • The Pixel Artist Illustration
You keep adding features, that I've been asking other engine developers for year, like it's no problem!

Amazing KM, keep it up!
Adrian Alan Brown
The Pixel Artist Illustration
www.thepixelartist.com
Behance Gallery: https://www.behance.net/thepixelartist

2014-01-26, 19:17:40
Reply #6

nerosama

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Great !!!

2014-01-27, 08:43:13
Reply #7

bair4ik

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
its good, Thank you!

2014-01-27, 09:33:34
Reply #8

jjaz82

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 299
    • View Profile
Smart AO.. :D Perfect

2014-01-27, 10:28:21
Reply #9

fellazb

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 281
    • View Profile
In MR you have another way of setting up AO. There is the default feature like you illustrate (put a AO shader in the diffuse slot), but the second one is pretty neat. It only creates AO where there's no direct light and gives a realistic approach of using AO because it only appears on indirect illumination spots. This can be found under the "special effects" tab of the A&D shaders.

See attachment for the difference. It would be very nice to see such a feature for AO in Corona.

2014-01-27, 11:34:12
Reply #10

Ludvik Koutny

  • VIP
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 2560
  • Just another user
    • View Profile
    • My Portfolio
In MR you have another way of setting up AO. There is the default feature like you illustrate (put a AO shader in the diffuse slot), but the second one is pretty neat. It only creates AO where there's no direct light and gives a realistic approach of using AO because it only appears on indirect illumination spots. This can be found under the "special effects" tab of the A&D shaders.

See attachment for the difference. It would be very nice to see such a feature for AO in Corona.

That is not true, when using AO as special effect of Arch&Design material, it still appears everywhere, not only in shadow. Only difference being that special effect one has soft fixed spread, and by default, occluded color is not completely black.

You can do a simple test by setting AO shadow color for example to vibrant green, and increasing radius. You will see that AO distribution is same in lit areas as it is in shadows.

2014-01-27, 12:07:08
Reply #11

fellazb

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 281
    • View Profile
Rawalanche,

You're true about that, see attachment.

but I'd like to address the fact that AO shouldn't be used (or far less) at places with direct light. An online manual posted somewhere on this forum tells a same story.

http://www.slideshare.net/ozlael/hable-john-uncharted2-hdr-lighting (page 173 (and some pages before and after to explain the principle))

The AO in the special effects roll-out of the A&D shader deals with this quite clever I think unless the fact that it actually generates AO the same way as you stated but with a better refinement.

2014-01-27, 15:52:13
Reply #12

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8952
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
AO in Corona is meant only as a dirt simulation, not GI simulation, and as such, is independent on the actual lighting. You should never, ever get into a situation where you need to "enhance" the GI solution with AO in Corona.
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2014-01-27, 16:15:29
Reply #13

Midge

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 42
    • View Profile
    • The Mantissa
How about inverse AO? I tend to use it to detail edges of things such as metal objects with rust or scratches on the edges.
Combined with being able to plug in a map you can get some pretty nice effects.

2014-01-27, 18:59:27
Reply #14

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8952
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
already done, check the invert checkbox
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)