Author Topic: The new Corona Converter feedback thread  (Read 65026 times)

2021-10-11, 21:39:01
Reply #120

Otuama

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 129
    • View Profile
Ok I'll look for a script but surely this is a bug??  It can't be intentional & we can't be the only ones having the issue.

Here's a corona material before and after running the converter



Now imagine issues caused by this all over the scene.

Earlier I had to rerender some frames in a few shots for an animation.  There was a red/incompatible vray material.  I converted the scene and put the shots back onto render.

I checked a few hours later and the frames looked very different to what they should.  Again, it had gone nuts & converted perfectly good Corona materials - I then had to go back to previous scenes and hunt for any incompatible materials.

TOP IS BEFORE - BOTTOM IS AFTER



What a faff!

It converted the vray object..... but messed up everything else

80% of our library is made up of Corona ready models - now, unless we go hunting for individual vray objects with issues we're going to have this problem

I'll email Corona to suggest that the converter bypasses legacy materials - or at least a checkbox as an option to do this

2021-10-12, 13:34:25
Reply #121

niljut

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
I made a version that adds a "ignore legacy materials" checkbox, which, unsurprisingly, ignores legacy materials.

https://gist.github.com/ejut/68f88069f7b2fbb4765d41a2803693fc

Download it and place the .ms file in C:\Program Files\Corona\Corona Renderer for 3ds Max\20XX\Scripts. Make a backup of the original, of course.

The only actual change besides the UI is to the convertSceneMtlsMaps function, from:

Code: [Select]
fn convertSceneMtlsMaps ErrorReport:true =(
...
for supportedMtlClassName in converterTempData.supportedMtlClassNames do ( -- Where supportedMtlClassName.creatable.
...
to
Code: [Select]
fn convertSceneMtlsMaps ErrorReport:true =(
...
local supportedMtlClassNames = copy converterTempData.supportedMtlClassNames #noMap

if matConvMethods.owner.converterSettings.ignoreLegacyMaterials == true do (
local idx = findItem supportedMtlClassNames "CoronaLegacyMtl"
if idx != 0 do (
deleteItem supportedMtlClassNames idx
)
)
for supportedMtlClassName in supportedMtlClassNames do ( -- Where supportedMtlClassName.creatable.
...

That said, all of the conversions being done are solid in theory, but fail due to incorrectly made materials. Learning why and how to avoid it is valuable.

2021-10-12, 13:42:29
Reply #122

Otuama

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 129
    • View Profile
This looks promising thanks.

I'll use a system as a guinea pig to test it later.

Thanks

2021-10-12, 16:33:54
Reply #123

Otuama

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 129
    • View Profile
I think I love you niljut

That works

Before & after on my system



Before & after on the test system



Thanks again.

2021-10-30, 19:41:10
Reply #124

Basshunter

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 279
    • View Profile
There are two options I'd really like to have available on the conversion window. These are:

Use "Default" material preset: A lot of assets from online libraries comes with really odd configurations that I usually don't want to port into my converted materials. So I'd love to have an option to make sure all converted material parameters are set to default. I'd then make adjustments to my taste.

Delete original: After converting VrayBitmaps to CoronaBitmaps, the first ones usually stay next to the newly-created bitmaps. This leaves us with a bunch of bitmaps from which we have to manually choose and delete original ones. It's really annoying and can lead to mistakes. Allowing us to choose whether to automatically delete them or not would be really handy.

« Last Edit: 2021-10-30, 19:50:21 by Basshunter »

2021-12-01, 21:11:47
Reply #125

Javadevil

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 399
    • View Profile
Will the updated material converter convert 3dsmax's Physical Material to Corona?
Models that I bring in from other Architectural apps default to that. It's such a pain to manually convert them all. Even if it just copied the bitmap paths over to the diffuse channel, I can set the rest of the settings.

thanks

Hello Javadevil, thank you very much for your feedback. Conversion of 3ds Max's Physical Material is very high on our "what to do next list", however before adding support for another material to Corona Converter, first we want to make sure conversion of already supported materials works as expected. So currently we mostly focus on simplifying the shading networks, since this is something which troubles lots of early adopters of Corona 7. If everything goes well and we'll manage to address all the issues with currently supported materials, hopefully we would be able to start working on support for Physical Material soon :)

Hi Selene,
Any news on the 3dsmax Physical material convertor?

2021-12-09, 20:46:59
Reply #126

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 8778
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Is it me, or someone else also has noticed that converter without apparent reason occasionally strips all textures from converted materials? When i try to replicate the issue and import original model again, converter works fine. Happened to me few times today. 3ds Max 2016, Corona V8 (Dec 8), converter 2.03
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2022-02-14, 19:31:29
Reply #127

VASLAVO

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 295
    • View Profile
Hi, guys, keep getting this erros when i convert vray ies lights to corona, (latest build daily and converter)

>>> SCENE Info: <<<
Converter version: 2.03
Max version: 24000
Installed Vray plugins: V_Ray_GPU_5__update_2_2  V_Ray_5__update_2_2 
Error occurred in VRayIES : $VRayIES:vm_v3_062_IES_02 @ [-315.181396,36.867615,364.482788]
-- Unknown property: "includeList" in $VRayIES:vm_v3_062_IES_02 @ [-315.181396,36.867615,364.482788]

Error occurred in VRayIES : $VRayIES:vm_v3_062_IES_03 @ [-187.415619,25.269470,364.482788]
-- Unknown property: "includeList" in $VRayIES:vm_v3_062_IES_03 @ [-187.415619,25.269470,364.482788]

Error occurred in VRayIES : $VRayIES:vm_v3_062_IES_04 @ [-120.652695,27.052795,364.482788]
-- Unknown property: "includeList" in $VRayIES:vm_v3_062_IES_04 @ [-120.652695,27.052795,364.482788]

Error occurred in VRayIES : $VRayIES:vm_v3_062_IES_05 @ [18.733459,16.151428,364.482788]
-- Unknown property: "includeList" in $VRayIES:vm_v3_062_IES_05 @ [18.733459,16.151428,364.482788]

2022-02-21, 03:46:13
Reply #128

I3ordo

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
if you people can solve that wrong "metal" outcomes, that convert from v-ray, i might stop using the 1.42 that i had find mid-production.

2022-03-10, 22:09:27
Reply #129

Rhodesy

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 553
    • View Profile
@Niljut thanks so much for making the ignore legacy mats version. Not sure why thats not in the official version.

The old coverter used to be pretty reliable for a quick Vray conversion more often than not but now I find the new one tries to make too many things a metal or high IOR. I think this has been mentioned earlier in the thread. Could there be a way to select convert to legacy material for vray materials? Less to go wrong / fix with that option I reckon.
Cheers

2022-03-11, 08:19:35
Reply #130

Ryuu

  • Former Corona Team Member
  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 654
  • Michal
    • View Profile
Hi guys, FYI, next build of Corona will introduce these 2 new options to the converter:
- Option to disable conversion of LegacyMtl to PhysicalMtl (any other materials will still be converted directly into PhysicalMtl though)
- Option to disable metalness autodetection and instead force the conversion to either metal or non-metal

2022-03-11, 13:14:54
Reply #131

Ink Visual

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 158
    • View Profile
 
Hi guys, FYI, next build of Corona will introduce these 2 new options to the converter:
- Option to disable conversion of LegacyMtl to PhysicalMtl (any other materials will still be converted directly into PhysicalMtl though)
- Option to disable metalness autodetection and instead force the conversion to either metal or non-metal

Great to heat that. Thanks for listeining guys!

2022-03-14, 12:13:32
Reply #132

rowmanns

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1892
  • Corona for 3ds Max QA Team
    • View Profile
Hi, guys, keep getting this erros when i convert vray ies lights to corona, (latest build daily and converter)

>>> SCENE Info: <<<
Converter version: 2.03
Max version: 24000
Installed Vray plugins: V_Ray_GPU_5__update_2_2  V_Ray_5__update_2_2 
Error occurred in VRayIES : $VRayIES:vm_v3_062_IES_02 @ [-315.181396,36.867615,364.482788]
-- Unknown property: "includeList" in $VRayIES:vm_v3_062_IES_02 @ [-315.181396,36.867615,364.482788]

Error occurred in VRayIES : $VRayIES:vm_v3_062_IES_03 @ [-187.415619,25.269470,364.482788]
-- Unknown property: "includeList" in $VRayIES:vm_v3_062_IES_03 @ [-187.415619,25.269470,364.482788]

Error occurred in VRayIES : $VRayIES:vm_v3_062_IES_04 @ [-120.652695,27.052795,364.482788]
-- Unknown property: "includeList" in $VRayIES:vm_v3_062_IES_04 @ [-120.652695,27.052795,364.482788]

Error occurred in VRayIES : $VRayIES:vm_v3_062_IES_05 @ [18.733459,16.151428,364.482788]
-- Unknown property: "includeList" in $VRayIES:vm_v3_062_IES_05 @ [18.733459,16.151428,364.482788]
Hi,

We have this one reported. Thanks!

(Report ID=CRMAX-1202)
Please read this before reporting bugs: How to report issues to us!
Send me your scene!

2022-03-14, 12:14:47
Reply #133

rowmanns

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1892
  • Corona for 3ds Max QA Team
    • View Profile
Hi guys, FYI, next build of Corona will introduce these 2 new options to the converter:
- Option to disable conversion of LegacyMtl to PhysicalMtl (any other materials will still be converted directly into PhysicalMtl though)
- Option to disable metalness autodetection and instead force the conversion to either metal or non-metal
These are now out in V8 RC1. You can download it here: https://forum.corona-renderer.com/index.php?topic=33839.msg196056#msg196056

Let me know if you have some issues.

Rowan
Please read this before reporting bugs: How to report issues to us!
Send me your scene!

2022-03-24, 17:19:02
Reply #134

edgaroe

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Hi
Im having issues since the release of the version of Corona Renderer 7, i usually import my models from other platforms like Revit or Sketchup, normally i import the geometry then select all and hit the converter, before it converts all my standard mtl to corona mtl, but now all the materials after apply the corona converter are Physical Material (Not corona physical mtl) and i have to change it one by one each mtl in my scene.

Am i the only one with whis issue or there are any way to take in this cases?

Regars Corona users!!!