Author Topic: question about glossiness  (Read 8300 times)

2015-03-22, 21:04:43

AndrewAdler

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
if i set glossiness parameter below 0.300
i start to see mesh of object
Is it ok?

2015-03-22, 22:06:41
Reply #1

luvualld

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Apply turbosmooth and if already applied then increase it.

Sorry
For Maya increase smoothness.
« Last Edit: 2015-03-22, 22:13:15 by luvualld »

2015-03-22, 23:14:54
Reply #2

juang3d

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 639
    • View Profile
I think that's not right, are you sure this happens in max also luvualld?

A sphere with that level of subdivision, at least the right one, should not present this effect I think (I may be wrong).

Cheers.

2015-03-22, 23:20:32
Reply #3

AndrewAdler

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Apply turbosmooth and if already applied then increase it.

Sorry
For Maya increase smoothness.
Thanks for the tip.
sphere on the left has 1600 faces
to look smooth sphere it is necessary to have  approximately 25280 faces
if you increase the smoothing, than the problem is solved but the geometry becomes very heavy.

2015-03-22, 23:26:18
Reply #4

AndrewAdler

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
I think that's not right, are you sure this happens in max also luvualld?

A sphere with that level of subdivision, at least the right one, should not present this effect I think (I may be wrong).

Cheers.
juang3d
I agree with you
I also think that the detail is high enough to smooth

2015-03-22, 23:51:07
Reply #5

haggi

  • Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 338
    • View Profile
I'll have a look.

2015-03-23, 00:05:12
Reply #6

AndrewAdler

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Sphere from the right has (6400 faces)
Sphere from the left has (25280 faces) after applying smoothing

2015-03-23, 00:31:22
Reply #7

Stanislav_But

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 525
    • View Profile
    • https://www.behance.net/archdizs
It's an issue of all unbiased renderers
At now only solution is increasing the number of polygons

2015-03-23, 00:41:20
Reply #8

AndrewAdler

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Thanks
now I'll know


2015-03-23, 09:55:12
Reply #10

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 7239
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
No, it's not shadow terminator problem. I did a quick render in max with very low poly sphere and glossiness of 0.25. And although shadow terminator issue is very clear, you can see that there's no visible poligonal divisions in reflection whatsoever.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2015-03-23, 10:38:24
Reply #11

AndrewAdler

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Romullus
Thanks for help
a mysterious situation

2015-03-23, 12:07:57
Reply #12

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8956
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
maya version currently still uses the old core version because I have not updated the licensing API yet, so it is perfectly plausible that that was a bug fixed in 1.0
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2015-03-23, 12:37:46
Reply #13

AndrewAdler

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
This is good news!