Author Topic: 3ds max crash when 'Parsing the scene'  (Read 12436 times)

2015-03-10, 16:50:08

Jpjapers

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1500
    • View Profile
Ive had max crash twice today on two seperate files when reaching the 'Parsing the scene' rendering stage when using corona. Small scenes. It just does nothing and im forced to crash out max.
I cannot send the files as they are work files and are confidential but surely its a renderer issue and not a file issue if it has occurred on two completely different files?
Jack

P.S. I Also note that this version is noticeably slower than the A7 release

2015-03-10, 17:11:33
Reply #1

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 11207
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
Is there some error message/window or 3ds Max freezes and you have to close it?
Are you using displacement?
Marcin Miodek | chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona Support Team Lead | contact us

2015-03-10, 17:38:19
Reply #2

Jpjapers

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1500
    • View Profile
No error message and no displacement either :/

2015-03-10, 17:49:48
Reply #3

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 11207
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
So does 3ds max freeze or just suddenly disappears?
Marcin Miodek | chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona Support Team Lead | contact us

2015-03-12, 10:31:08
Reply #4

Jpjapers

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1500
    • View Profile
Just a freeze, no errors or close i've left it for over an hour before and its definitely stuck and not just being slow.

2015-03-12, 10:33:11
Reply #5

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 11207
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
Aren't you running out of memory? What's the resolution? Can you tell more about the scene?
Marcin Miodek | chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona Support Team Lead | contact us

2015-03-12, 14:49:04
Reply #6

Jpjapers

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1500
    • View Profile
Rendering at 1920x1200, i have 32gb of memory in my machine so i doubt its running out.
The scene is very basic. its a counter layout for a shop and it has less than 100k polys. It sometimes renders fine, ive had many renders from the scene, other times it completely crashes. It says parsing the scene but the progress bar stays at 0.

2015-03-12, 15:39:54
Reply #7

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 11207
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
When 3ds Max is frozen, could you try saving a dump like in this article? (2. Reporting Error Messages)
https://coronarenderer.freshdesk.com/support/solutions/articles/5000524006
Maybe Ondra would take a look at it.
Marcin Miodek | chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona Support Team Lead | contact us

2015-03-12, 16:07:49
Reply #8

Jpjapers

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1500
    • View Profile
It doesnt bring up a max crash dialog unfortunately. it just stops responding completely. the only way to exit it is to end the process.

2015-03-12, 16:10:10
Reply #9

Jpjapers

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1500
    • View Profile
Yeah checking the cpu load and ram useage it has just frozen the ram and the cpu load is <1% so its a complete freeze. are there known issues with multiple lights in a scene? i have about 26 lights in the scene at the moment.

2015-03-12, 17:07:02
Reply #10

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 11207
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
It doesnt bring up a max crash dialog unfortunately. it just stops responding completely. the only way to exit it is to end the process.
Please check the article again. I meant this part:
2. Reporting Error Messages
If you are experiencing a recurrent error that you are able to reproduce (for example a window shows up in 3ds Max saying "DEBUG ALERT"), please use this tool:

Process Explorer

When the error message appears, run the Process Explorer, find "3dsmax.exe" process (it is usually visible after clicking the + icon next to "explorer.exe"), select 3dsmax.exe and go to Process > Create Dump > Create Minidump... then save the file in a desired location and upload it to us using the Corona Uploader.

Create the dump when 3ds max is frozen.
Marcin Miodek | chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona Support Team Lead | contact us

2015-03-13, 11:29:12
Reply #11

Jpjapers

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1500
    • View Profile
Oh ok ill give that a go next time it crashes :)
thanks

2015-03-24, 13:31:22
Reply #12

Jpjapers

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1500
    • View Profile
Ive narrowed this down to a single set of actions.
I Render my scene, its too bright so i go and adjust my lights. When i re-render it sticks on parsing the scene. I just tried to dump out the process but it caused an unexpected reboot. This seems like a pretty big problem...

2015-03-24, 16:01:09
Reply #13

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 11207
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
Does it only happen in this specific scene or also in other scenes? Can you describe in steps (1,2,3...) what you are doing?
Marcin Miodek | chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona Support Team Lead | contact us

2015-03-28, 19:51:43
Reply #14

Jpjapers

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1500
    • View Profile
It has happend in multiple scenes of diferent sizes. Step 1 i render the image after some material changes or something else. step 2 i stop the render. step 3 i adjust the lighting step 4 i render the image again. step 5 the render stops at parsing scene.