Author Topic: New workstation  (Read 4257 times)

2015-01-09, 11:25:45

fabioazevedo

• Active Users
    • View Profile
Hey guys
so, after some time using mostly stations from the studios where I've worked, I've decided to invest in a personal machine.
I did some research, but since I'm no expert, thought I would ask for some advice.

My most demanding work is rendering (3ds+corona), the rest being mostly autocad, photoshop and indesign.

Here is the setup I'm considering (with a slightly stretched budget already):

CPU: Intel Core i7-5960X
cooler: Noctua NH-D15
motherboard: Asus X99-DELUXE
graphics card: Asus STRIX-GTX970
RAM: Gskill Ripjaws4 Black DDR4-2400Mhz 4x8Gb
1st Disk: SSD Samsung 2.5" 850 Pro 256Gb
2nd Disk: WD Black 1TB SATA III 64Mb
case: Fractal Define R5

a couple of question/doubts:

is the cpu investment (1k+€) worth it? or should I settle for the 6core version? should I  consider xeon?
which PSU would you recommend? (I'm a bit lost on this one)
regarding RAM, should I go for DDR4 2133 instead of the 2400, since the cpu is supposedly designed for it?

thanks in advance
Fabio

2015-01-09, 12:30:09
Reply #1

Juraj

• Active Users
    • View Profile
    • studio website
Hi Fabio,

whether 5960X is worth the price depends on your budgetary means and how many other machines you have. Unless you already have formidable render farm, I think of powerful workstation as good investment as well.

I don't think the same of Asus X99-Deluxe board, which unless you know exactly why you would need it ( dual lan NICs, extreme amount of inputs,etc..) you can either go for Asus X99-S which is the same Deluxe board without dual nics and few less contact,
or even "vanilla" Asus XX9-A. They all provide equal overclocking capacity mostly.

Not much to say about Strix 970, it's considered decently silent compared to reference cooling, which is imho important.