Author Topic: Added support for Multiscatter, ForestPack  (Read 61305 times)

2013-03-24, 23:12:28
Reply #15

Ludvik Koutny

  • VIP
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 2560
  • Just another user
    • View Profile
    • My Portfolio
For Multiscatter users:

at the moment, Corona renders Multiscatter but error message that current renderer is not supported by MS keeps popping up, so we will have to wait for developers of MS to do something on their side i am afraid. It renders fine, but error window is quite annoying, especially when it pops up several times for every instance in your scatter object list :)

ForestPack seems to be ok :)

2013-03-24, 23:49:30
Reply #16

Chakib

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 787
  • Corona Omnomnomer !
    • View Profile
Yep i confirm, forest pack works like a charm :



« Last Edit: 2013-03-25, 00:47:37 by Chakib »

2013-03-25, 00:52:30
Reply #17

DeadClown

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1445
    • View Profile
    • racoon-artworks
Yep i confirm, forest pack works like a charm :

Indeed, foliage stuff is really fun with pathtracing :) Way easier to setup, especially when we get interactive rendering!

Any sufficiently advanced bug is indistinguishable from a feature.

2013-03-25, 10:04:56
Reply #18

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 11392
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
I wonder what will be the first Disney/Pixar/Dreamworks movie rendered in Corona.
Marcin Miodek | chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona Support Team Lead | contact us

2013-03-25, 10:55:30
Reply #19

Ludvik Koutny

  • VIP
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 2560
  • Just another user
    • View Profile
    • My Portfolio
Yep i confirm, forest pack works like a charm :

Indeed, foliage stuff is really fun with pathtracing :) Way easier to setup, especially when we get interactive rendering!

Could you try to render that exact same shot with 1 PT samples and random sampler set to 5D High-D + PRNG for the same time (20:17) and post for comparison? :)

2013-03-25, 17:33:58
Reply #20

Chakib

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 787
  • Corona Omnomnomer !
    • View Profile
the only problem ive found with forestpack is librairy elements, in my example  above i did use the scripr material converter then i did edit materials manually of the grass and flower, but when i reopen that same corrected scene, grass material is weird it changes and it doesnt accepte the manual changes, so i conclude that we must use our models already converted with forestpack better than the presets of forestpack because of this weird problem.

2013-03-25, 18:44:54
Reply #21

DeadClown

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1445
    • View Profile
    • racoon-artworks
Hm... I must admit that my converter script sucked when converting the Vray-shaded Forestpack presets (one reason is that it does not convert VrayFastSSS2) but I didn't try out the resaving issue yet.

Rawalanche: here you go, but it's not that much difference in this image, this is the raw render, both have similar rendertime but different amount of passes. Anyways, I think I already noticed some improvements in certain conditions.

Any sufficiently advanced bug is indistinguishable from a feature.

2013-03-25, 18:46:25
Reply #22

Ludvik Koutny

  • VIP
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 2560
  • Just another user
    • View Profile
    • My Portfolio
Hmm, i expected the difference to be more significant... From my tests, difference in DoF convergence is a bit larger :) Thanks for taking time to test :)

2013-03-25, 19:12:21
Reply #23

DeadClown

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1445
    • View Profile
    • racoon-artworks
I have another scene where - I think - this is true, it's just more noticeable when you wait a little longer for a more "clean" result. But there are some problems with sundisc reflections (even when turned off) and I wanted to test a little more before i post it :)
Any sufficiently advanced bug is indistinguishable from a feature.

2013-03-25, 19:16:00
Reply #24

Ludvik Koutny

  • VIP
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 2560
  • Just another user
    • View Profile
    • My Portfolio
Yes, correct...  i found out just yesterday. Sundisc visibility+reflection toggle does not work for reflections that are not perfectly sharp, as it is a bit harder to separate specular reflection from diffuse one. So for reflections with lower glossiness, it has no effect. Keymaster said he will fix it, but that it will require some heavy dark magic... ;)

2013-03-25, 19:39:13
Reply #25

DeadClown

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1445
    • View Profile
    • racoon-artworks
aaaah, great! Thanks for the info :)
Any sufficiently advanced bug is indistinguishable from a feature.

2013-03-25, 20:44:12
Reply #26

jjaz82

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 308
    • View Profile
sorry for the question, but the version compatible with forest pack is in the download section alpha 4? because I downloaded the latest version but it does not seem to be compatible.
Nicola

2013-03-25, 21:04:32
Reply #27

DeadClown

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1445
    • View Profile
    • racoon-artworks
It's unfortunately not the public alpha but a daily build. You will have to wait for the next public alpha to get this functionality.
Any sufficiently advanced bug is indistinguishable from a feature.

2013-03-25, 21:13:26
Reply #28

jjaz82

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 308
    • View Profile
oki thanks for answer :)
can't wait !!!! :D

2013-03-25, 21:32:40
Reply #29

ecximer

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 286
  • Scriptobot
    • View Profile
jjaz82, what do you can not wait?
sorry for my english