Author Topic: CORONA NEED ACES COLOR SPACE (AcesCg)  (Read 6403 times)

2021-09-11, 13:36:58

xis

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
WE NEED ACES CG COLOR SPACE IN CORONA RENDERER
AND CORONA CAMERA IN CINEMA 4D NEED LENS DISTORTION
🤦‍♂️

2021-09-11, 14:27:49
Reply #1

artdude12

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile

2021-09-11, 14:31:25
Reply #2

burnin

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1386
    • View Profile
Forwarded info

This is an excerpt from "Corona for C4D EUG (Discord)" discussion on topic:

Quoting Ondra:
Quote
ok, I watched it, there are 3 parts:

1. wider internal rendering color space
2. s-curve output transform
3. being aware of what color space you are using

#1 is in corona since 2012

#2 is also in Corona since 2010ish, just a slightly different (reinhard). We will implement more of the s-curves, including the one in aces

#3 is something that we cannot really help you with. The difference is between making sure you match all your inputs to sRGB or you match all your inputs to aces. And aces cannot be loaded by C4D/3dsmax natively, where we get our data
tl;dr you are already getting the magical, mythical advantage of ACES since 2012. We will check its s-curve to see if it is more pleasant than filmic/reinhard, but it is nothing else in principle

Finally,
Quote
unless C4D/Max adopts it we would be fighting the host application over that.

Refered video...

2021-09-11, 18:51:52
Reply #3

xis

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
actually we need to export final render in Acescg for post process, like vray, redshift and octane
how should we do this ?

2021-09-17, 08:21:01
Reply #4

DotDesignStudio

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile

2021-10-19, 11:28:31
Reply #5

haffy

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile

2021-11-03, 17:22:10
Reply #6

Matthew86

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile

2021-11-03, 18:08:09
Reply #7

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 9048
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
we are running  some... experiments :D

but still unless the host application supports it, it will be very limited experience.
Rendering is magic.How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2022-04-02, 23:55:47
Reply #8

indexofrefraction

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 110
    • View Profile
will there be support for ACES in Corona 8?

2022-04-03, 13:43:23
Reply #9

Philw

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 144
    • View Profile
Hopefully S26 will have host level integration to avoid confusion. Currently, for example, C4D and Redshift with ACES is a confusing mess.

2022-04-04, 23:38:57
Reply #10

indexofrefraction

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 110
    • View Profile
well... if solidangle can do it...

2022-04-05, 08:35:57
Reply #11

davetwo

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 184
    • View Profile
There is a lot of hype over ACES. But in reality people just want the image to look nice. Corona tonemapping already does a good job at this.
More complicated colour management workflows will simply produce problems IMHO. And likely worse/badly setup images half the time.

2022-04-05, 12:37:55
Reply #12

Beanzvision

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 2532
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
If you want to request something, please use the dedicated ''Feature request'' thread.
Bengamin Jerrems l chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona Support Representative l contact us

2022-04-05, 23:03:22
Reply #13

indexofrefraction

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 110
    • View Profile
If you want to request something, please use the dedicated ''Feature request'' thread.

where is the dedicated ''Feature request'' thread ?

and.. mid 2021 it was said it is in the works,
but with "use the dedicated 'Feature request' thread" it doesn't look like ACES is coming in v8.

« Last Edit: 2022-04-05, 23:14:49 by indexofrefraction »

2022-04-06, 08:51:43
Reply #14

burnin

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1386
    • View Profile
Take notes...





Best would be, if C4D gets native OCIO v2 support in upcoming version :|


« Last Edit: 2022-04-06, 08:56:07 by burnin »