Author Topic: Layered Material  (Read 2746 times)

2021-09-10, 10:00:47

LeSill

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
Hello Corona team,

I have noticed a problem with Layered material. When I copy an object with that material to a different project, the layered material looses all the materials in the Layered material. The materials itself are coppied to a new project, but they are not correctly inserted in the layered material. Please fix this issue. Thanks.

Kind regards

2021-09-10, 10:51:17
Reply #1

mmarcotic

  • Former Corona Team Member
  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 544
  • Jan - C4D QA
    • View Profile
Hello,

this is odd, but this seems to work for me correctly. I have tested it with a Cube and 4 materials inside a Layered, I've also tried having some naming conflicts with existing materials, but this all seems to be working correctly.

Could you please draft a scene where this issue occurs? Or guide me into running into this issue?

Thanks,
Jan
Learn how to report bugs for Corona in C4D here.

2021-09-10, 11:24:29
Reply #2

Daniel Mikolajčák

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 166
  • ArchViz specialist
    • View Profile
    • Behance portfolio
I was just about to report this problem. It only happens if physical material is plugged into layer material. Legacy materials are copied along to a new project fine.
 
Thanks
Daniel

2021-09-10, 13:36:57
Reply #3

LeSill

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
Thank you for the clarification.

2021-09-13, 09:15:39
Reply #4

mmarcotic

  • Former Corona Team Member
  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 544
  • Jan - C4D QA
    • View Profile
What version of C4D are you using? What OS are you working with?

Thanks,
Jan
Learn how to report bugs for Corona in C4D here.

2021-09-15, 23:09:12
Reply #5

Daniel Mikolajčák

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 166
  • ArchViz specialist
    • View Profile
    • Behance portfolio
R23 latest Mac

2021-10-04, 16:51:11
Reply #6

mmarcotic

  • Former Corona Team Member
  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 544
  • Jan - C4D QA
    • View Profile
I still cannot reproduce this, does this happen for you with any Physical material or with the default one as well?

Also, could you send over a scene in which this "corrupted layered material" is?

Thanks,
Jan
Learn how to report bugs for Corona in C4D here.

2021-10-04, 22:22:20
Reply #7

BigAl3D

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 562
    • View Profile
I know this was a bug many versions ago, but has worked for quite a while. I just copied an object with a layered material (legacy) and pasted into a blank scene. Everything is fine. I then converted them all to Physical, copied and pasted into a new blank scene and gain, everything is fine.

Mac, R20, Corona 7 Hotfix 2.

2021-12-30, 17:38:59
Reply #8

frv

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 149
    • View Profile
This bug is still present. I can't copy a carpaint material from one file to another without loossing its settings.
iMac intel, C4D R25.113 OSX Monterey 12.1, CRv8 dailybuild.

Another problem is that these physically based materials like carpaint (layered materials ?) can not be imported to the new C4D asset browser. They loose their settings the same as copy paste into new files.

Its easy to see why. See attachments. The blue carpaint material copies well but the black one not at all. Hope this helps in solving the problem.

2021-12-30, 17:47:11
Reply #9

frv

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 149
    • View Profile
Another example, white cube with same black carpaint material comes from the asset browser as white.
But given the this material from the Corona material library its black. When this material is imported from the asset browser it looses its other layered materials.