Author Topic: Corona for Apple Silicon M1?  (Read 18356 times)

2022-02-14, 04:37:57
Reply #45

caspian

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 93
    • View Profile
I’m using an M1 Max with Corona (beta 8 I think) and it hasn’t let me down. It’s gross faster than my old MBP. The bump when it’s native Silicon will be a treat, but for now I am still content.

2022-02-14, 13:13:42
Reply #46

TomG

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 4499
    • View Profile
I’m using an M1 Max with Corona (beta 8 I think) and it hasn’t let me down. It’s gross faster than my old MBP. The bump when it’s native Silicon will be a treat, but for now I am still content.

Sorry, I am not sure what this means - the current daily build IS native silicon and does not need to be run under Rosetta, so not sure what bump in speed you are looking for?
Tom Grimes | chaos-corona.com
Product Marketing Manager | contact us

2022-02-14, 15:53:33
Reply #47

BigAl3D

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 586
    • View Profile
Curious question. If you're running a non-M1 native version of C4D (R22 and earlier), would Corona 8 install as native or use Rosetta? Is that even possible?

What version of C4D are you using @caspian?

2022-02-15, 10:01:08
Reply #48

mmarcotic

  • Former Corona Team Member
  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 544
  • Jan - C4D QA
    • View Profile
Curious question. If you're running a non-M1 native version of C4D (R22 and earlier), would Corona 8 install as native or use Rosetta? Is that even possible?

What version of C4D are you using @caspian?

Hi,

Corona will not install natively on versions in which C4D does not support M1 natively, that is just a hard brick wall.

Thanks,
Jan
Learn how to report bugs for Corona in C4D here.

2022-02-15, 10:49:59
Reply #49

Philw

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 144
    • View Profile
Also, even R23 is native but would require the latest service pack to work for Corona etc - and as its not an automatic update (need to download manually from Maxon) - Corona have taken the decision to only support S24 as a native minimum version. I get this as most people don't even realise there was an R23.110 version.

2022-02-21, 13:33:53
Reply #50

PeterBartel

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Have I understand it correctly that M1 Max running Corona Renderer native renders at about twice the time as the old iMac i9? Wow that came as a huge surprise. Wouldnt M1 Max run faster then an Imac i9?

2022-02-21, 15:30:03
Reply #51

Philw

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 144
    • View Profile
Purely about number of cores - i9 iMac (depending on model) has 10 cores but 20 threads so that has to be an advantage. Its a balance.... Power consumption and noise on the iMac so much greater than the M1 Max.

2022-02-21, 22:06:18
Reply #52

PeterBartel

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
M1 max also has 10 cores and their cores score higher per core then the imac i9, right? So its all about miltithreading then which the silicon cant do if I understand it right?
Such i bummer, Im getting the m1 max any day now and I was hoping it would replace my imac :(

2022-02-22, 11:31:14
Reply #53

Philw

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 144
    • View Profile
Mine has replaced my iMac - purely for the silence, general responsivity and low power consumption. However, I always hand off jobs I need serious rendering for to my Threadripper PC so my use case will be different perhaps. I was finding the noise on my 2020 iMac offputting for building the scenes and previewing - so was always limiting the number of cores anyway in the live viewing to mitigate the fans - no such issue with the M1 - I just leave all cores going...

2022-02-23, 14:19:23
Reply #54

jojorender

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 194
    • View Profile
Have I understand it correctly that M1 Max running Corona Renderer native renders at about twice the time as the old iMac i9? Wow that came as a huge surprise. Wouldnt M1 Max run faster then an Imac i9?
These numbers are according to the Corona benchmark results? The Corona benchmark is a old standalone app that doesn’t run M1 native. If the claim of 45-50 % faster rendering in native mode is true… well…
I think it would be good to have a “c4d test scene” that can be shared here that renders in about 10 min or so on a modern system. That would give us a more real representation of how M1’s compare to Intel macs. That would also show how much advantage team rendering can bring.
All scenes I have, use assets that I’m not allowed to share. Anybody here has a somewhat demanding scene that they can share?

2022-02-23, 14:23:39
Reply #55

Philw

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 144
    • View Profile
Just the scene from further up this thread. It would definitely be useful if the benchmark was updated.

2022-02-23, 14:57:08
Reply #56

jojorender

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 194
    • View Profile
Not sure what scene you are referring to. Can you link to the scene?
Benchmark update - I think the argument is that all test results will not be comparable if old and new results are mixed.

2022-02-23, 15:15:34
Reply #57

Philw

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 144
    • View Profile
There are three screenshots further up - that's all.

Yes, agree for direct comparson there needs to be a standard. I'm just agreeing that my results are similar and make sense with the threads vs cores type thing.

Most of the "it's the most awesome thing ever" reviews only discuss the hardware video encoding/decoding which isn't going to help us.
« Last Edit: 2022-02-23, 16:45:15 by Philw »

2022-02-23, 16:42:33
Reply #58

BigAl3D

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 586
    • View Profile
@jojorender For years, I've been using the Grapes sample scene that you can find in the asset browser. It's not Corona, but does give you an idea of the raw render speed since it has many render intensive features in the scene, i.e. SSS, opacity, Dof, etc. Obviously, the faster C4D runs on your system, the faster Corona will render as well.

There is an old thread of mine that shows render times. Since everyone has access to that scene, it's easy and consistent. Plus, it's more of a real-word test than a benchmark test. Just open that scene and hit render to picture viewer without changing anything.

For reference, my old Mac Pro trashcan did it in 10 min 3 sec. My 2017 iMac Pro blew that away at 3:19. I also have a renderbox with dual-CPU E5 v4 processors. That thing comes in below 3 min, but I don't have that info handy.
« Last Edit: 2022-02-23, 17:01:57 by BigAl3D »

2022-02-23, 23:25:04
Reply #59

ficdogg

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 108
    • View Profile
@BigAl3D you intrigued me with the grapes scene so I ran it out of curiosity😄.
5900x with 64GB RAM, 2min 14 sec render time.