Author Topic: squares on reflection pass  (Read 702 times)

2021-06-12, 00:49:24

leo_surrealismo

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
hi,
I am having difficulties trying to solve this kind of square artifacts on my scene.
Can support take a look at my scene?
3dsmax 2021 + corona 7 rc1.

2021-06-12, 01:18:08
Reply #1

leo_surrealismo

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
Corona sun + Sky and a spherical jpg on the override menu.  see attached.

2021-06-12, 10:37:56
Reply #2

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 7114
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
This looks like adaptive light solver issue. Try to turn it off in render setup>performance tab.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2021-06-12, 13:13:31
Reply #3

leo_surrealismo

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
If I take out the jpg from the environment override, it goes away.
I am going to try your suggestion.

2021-06-12, 14:42:39
Reply #4

leo_surrealismo

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
This looks like adaptive light solver issue. Try to turn it off in render setup>performance tab.
It was the adaptive solver.  Is there a perfomance hit if I keep this off?  or is this a bug?

thanks!

2021-06-12, 14:50:37
Reply #5

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 7114
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Yes, this is a bug. The team knows about it and is working on a fix. This issue manifests itself only in rare cases, so it is advisable to leave adaptive light solver turned ON and only turn it OFF when you notice artifacts.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2021-06-12, 15:01:19
Reply #6

leo_surrealismo

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
thank you romullus!
Does it help If I sent the max file to support?

2021-06-12, 15:05:11
Reply #7

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 7114
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Yes, i think that would definitely help. You can use private uploader for that: https://corona-renderer.com/upload Just don't forget to reference this topic with your upload, so the team would know which issue it represents.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2021-06-16, 12:21:12
Reply #8

Avi

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 79
    • View Profile
Hi,

Thank you for submitting your scene. We have logged this issue in our system and looking forward to getting it fixed soon.

Regards,
Avi

(Report ID=CRMAX-699)

2021-06-16, 13:24:26
Reply #9

leo_surrealismo

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
thank you Avi!

2021-06-16, 20:24:04
Reply #10

dj_buckley

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 439
    • View Profile
This looks like adaptive light solver issue. Try to turn it off in render setup>performance tab.
It was the adaptive solver.  Is there a perfomance hit if I keep this off?  or is this a bug?

thanks!

I've asked about the performance/realism hit many times and never had an answer

I asked here where my issue was created with exactly the same setup as yours - Sun/Sky and Jpeg Reflection Override - https://forum.corona-renderer.com/index.php?topic=31521.msg184723#msg184723

also had the same issue here and again it was an issue with an Override - https://forum.corona-renderer.com/index.php?topic=29580.msg170993#msg170993

As nobody has been able to answer the question as to what realism hit I'm losing, I leave it OFF by default now.  If all it's saving is a bit of render time/quicker noise cleanup, then I'd rather wait an extra hour for a render than wait all night to find the render unusable.

2021-06-16, 20:35:02
Reply #11

TomG

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 3869
    • View Profile
Well, the answer about accuracy/realism was in the Corona 6 release blog, with this comparer :) You can see the difference in the shadows, where the 6 shadows are more correct:
https://corona-renderer.com/comparer/oamVj9

And of course it is faster, getting down to 5% noise rather than 10% noise in the same time and doing quite a lot more passes.

In a wider render of that scene, not shown in the blog but I remember it when testing and putting things together, the wall to the left of the image correctly picks up a slightly more green tint, from lighting coming through from the window in the other room and coming through a doorway, but that was not as pronounced as the close up on the shadows so didn't add it to the release blog - just so you know it isn't just shadows that get more accurate.

2021-06-16, 21:54:53
Reply #12

dj_buckley

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 439
    • View Profile
Thanks Tom, although to me it just looks like there is more noise in the V5 version which would ultimately clean up eventually and look VERY similar to the result of the V6 image?  Or am I not seeing something?  Whilst I can see the obvious difference in terms of how cleaner it is in a quicker time, the difference in 'realism' isn't quite enough to wait all night for a render on the off chance it has those artifacts, which are way more obvious than the increase in realism :)

I must admit though, when I've had it off, I've not gone back to using portals, simply just turned it off.  I'm probably not noticing time savings as I tend to run renders over night as a lot of studios do (well the ones I've worked for did), which is why I'm looking for the realism boost element to it.  Without question I'd use it if I could guarantee not waking up to those squares, but you don't always spot them when using IR or regions when developing a scene, and it's only when you come to look at the final render (usually on deadline day) that you actually spot them

2021-06-16, 22:01:34
Reply #13

TomG

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 3869
    • View Profile
There's a distinct difference in shadows that is not related to the noise, in the corner where the cabinet meets the wall, and under the chair. The results from 6 are more accurate than the result in 5, showing some variation in that shadow in 6 as it gets grey toward the farther reaches of the shadow (more accurately sampling the HDRI outside the window), while in 5 they are just a solid shape.

PS - we will of course be looking at getting rid of those cases where it doesn't work as expected!