Author Topic: Corona Renderer 7 for 3ds Max - Daily Builds Discussion  (Read 72059 times)

2021-05-07, 11:09:00
Reply #330

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 7088
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Build Apr 21

Displacement does not work in layered material, not even in the base slot.

Hey, it seems to be working fine here, can you please share more information from your material setup (or a small repro scene)?

I just found that it works in new scenes, but doesn't work in the legacy ones, at least not in the one i attached here. After reseting render settings, layered displacement starts working here too. Maybe i did mess up with render settings somehow, but i couldn't find anything that could be causing such behaviour. I would appreciate if you could take a look and let me know what's wrong with this scene.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2021-05-07, 11:54:34
Reply #331

GeorgeK

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 501
  • George
    • View Profile
Build Apr 21

Displacement does not work in layered material, not even in the base slot.

Hey, it seems to be working fine here, can you please share more information from your material setup (or a small repro scene)?

I just found that it works in new scenes, but doesn't work in the legacy ones, at least not in the one i attached here. After reseting render settings, layered displacement starts working here too. Maybe i did mess up with render settings somehow, but i couldn't find anything that could be causing such behaviour. I would appreciate if you could take a look and let me know what's wrong with this scene.

Thank you Romullus, it seems that's a bug with the Displacement preservation in Mtl override, displacement won't be calculated/rendered. So to resolve it remove the preserve option, I am reporting it, thanks again.

(Report ID=CRMAX-541)

« Last Edit: 2021-05-07, 12:00:50 by GeorgeK »
For solutions and troubleshooting please visit - [link]
Please submit your tickets here - [link]

2021-05-07, 12:05:19
Reply #332

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 7088
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Oh, it's that simple. Thanks George! :]
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2021-05-07, 12:27:53
Reply #333

twoheads

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 254
    • View Profile

2021-05-07, 13:17:08
Reply #334

TomG

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 3856
    • View Profile
Hey Guys,

When we can expect release candidate?

No pressure, just asking.

We can't even hazard a guess yet, since a major feature (tone mapping) is not even in a daily yet :) So that has to be in a daily, then it depends on bug reports or user feedback, then we will have a better idea of how much is still to be done before things could move to RC stage - but until then, who knows what bugs and user feedback there could be... maybe none all is perfect, maybe lots...

So, very much no way to put a date on an RC yet.

2021-05-07, 13:31:59
Reply #335

denisgo22

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 690
    • View Profile
highly recommend adding an option noise amount, pass amount and denoiser amount  in Corona Camera to be able to adjust theses  parameters per Camera view/
for for huge render time savings per camera/because each view sometimes requires visually less or more noise amount or passes which theoretically can greatly reduce render times.

can also dramatically reduce render times at different resolutions on different cameras

I once wrote about this also in future requests but got no answer
thanks
« Last Edit: 2021-05-07, 13:40:18 by denisgo22 »

2021-05-07, 15:13:57
Reply #336

Feodor

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 107
    • View Profile
Hi! I have one question, will Corona Converter be able to disable the conversion of materials to PhysicalMtl? Since I have a lot of projects with finely tuned complex materials that simply break down when converted and give a completely different result. At the moment, the Corona Converter causes me only a feeling of deep disappointment, I want to throw it out as a tool that can do nothing but break well-tuned materials! I believe this is an imposed function that does not work properly at the moment and makes me ask for an old converter. For example, the converter has become very long to convert and load the processor, the Converter will never be able to determine what to convert, metal or not metal? The converter does not work well with LayeredMtl where materials with different properties are mixed, will the converter be able to accurately reproduce such materials? It does not convert translucency well, so it will not convert flora well, and so on... How do I transfer scenes to people who have a previous version? Has anyone thought about this? And in general, why this rigid irreversible imposition of what works poorly?

An obvious function, but why did no one in your company think of it right away, why do need to ask for it?
A vivid example in the pictures.

This would be a great scene for us to investigate the conversion further, is there a possibility you could share an archive?

Thanks for the reply. I sent you the scene "Trees and Grass" I hope it will help you. But I still recommend making the "Convert to PhysicalMtl" parameter and leaving Legacy Material as the default. Since at this stage, if there is an incorrect conversion from Legacy to Physical, then I have uncertainty that it will also not correctly convert VRayMtl in places, until the system is 100% debugged, it is still worth making the life of users easier. I have now almost stopped using the converter, due to incompatibility with previous versions of Corona and a certain lottery when I am not sure of the exact result.

2021-05-07, 16:46:11
Reply #337

Feodor

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 107
    • View Profile
Another example of a complex scene in terms of materials. After the conversion, you will have to edit all the materials, since there is not a single hit. My cannon is bronze, the converter says it's not metal, but how does the system know where the metal is, where it's not metal, at the moment it can only be determined by a person. Different behavior of Glossiness and reflections. As a result, you need to tweak and optimize everything. With this quality and accuracy of the conversion, the question arises, and will it also work with Vray? Converting to physical material is a point function, but not as global as it is now.

God forbid if you release this converter to the masses like this, even with all the fixes, but I'm sure there will be a lot of headaches for people, many will not appreciate it.

2021-05-07, 22:31:22
Reply #338

twoheads

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 254
    • View Profile
Hey Guys,

When we can expect release candidate?

No pressure, just asking.

We can't even hazard a guess yet, since a major feature (tone mapping) is not even in a daily yet :) So that has to be in a daily, then it depends on bug reports or user feedback, then we will have a better idea of how much is still to be done before things could move to RC stage - but until then, who knows what bugs and user feedback there could be... maybe none all is perfect, maybe lots...

So, very much no way to put a date on an RC yet.

Thanks for the info Tom

2021-05-10, 11:39:42
Reply #339

rowmanns

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1269
    • View Profile
How do I transfer scenes to people who have a previous version? Has anyone thought about this? And in general, why this rigid irreversible imposition of what works poorly?
Hi,

Thank you for sending over a scene, our devs are looking into the conversion right now and they will see if something can be done.

To answer this point, unfortunately in Corona we do not support forwards compatibility. So in the past this situation might have worked, it also might not have worked and caused some unexpected behavior and crashes.

Sorry about this.

Rowan
Please read this before reporting bugs:
How to report issues to us!

2021-05-10, 15:59:34
Reply #340

lzanlorenzi

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
and about the converter?... falloff maps still being a mess when we use the last converter. The converter create a lot of CoronaMix maps. Thanks for your hard word, I believe that issues will be fixed soon! ;)
« Last Edit: 2021-05-10, 16:09:16 by lzanlorenzi »

2021-05-11, 09:17:51
Reply #341

rowmanns

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1269
    • View Profile
and about the converter?... falloff maps still being a mess when we use the last converter. The converter create a lot of CoronaMix maps. Thanks for your hard word, I believe that issues will be fixed soon! ;)
Hi,

If you have a scene where the conversion doesn't work correctly please can you send it to us and we will investigate. Instructions on how to send the scene to us can be found in my signature.

Cheerss!
Please read this before reporting bugs:
How to report issues to us!

2021-05-12, 22:43:48
Reply #342

cjwidd

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 924
    • View Profile
    • Artstation
Aerial perspective included in 'Improved Sun & Sky model' in list 'version 7 - IN DEVELOPMENT' [Trello] - is this like global atmospheric fog / haze?

2021-05-13, 09:21:03
Reply #343

tallbox

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 127
  • George Nicola
    • View Profile
    • Architectural Visualizations | TALLBOX
Anyone having issues with the color selector? Whenever I try to pick a color, my CPU gets crazy maxing out all cores, and it stays for 5-10 seconds; it's unusable. 
Architectural Visualizations / Deep work practitioner
https://www.tallboxdesign.com

2021-05-13, 11:09:27
Reply #344

GeorgeK

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 501
  • George
    • View Profile
Anyone having issues with the color selector? Whenever I try to pick a color, my CPU gets crazy maxing out all cores, and it stays for 5-10 seconds; it's unusable.

I am unable to reproduce this, can you please offer a reproduction scene or some steps? Can you also reproduce the issue in a new empty scene?
For solutions and troubleshooting please visit - [link]
Please submit your tickets here - [link]