Author Topic: Corona Renderer 7 for 3ds Max - Daily Builds Discussion  (Read 72116 times)

2021-05-06, 08:19:52
Reply #315

draxdamax

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
For me the converter still gives strange results. I kind of stopped using it.

2021-05-06, 09:52:51
Reply #316

rowmanns

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1269
    • View Profile
For me the converter still gives strange results. I kind of stopped using it.
Hi,

I'm sad to hear that. Do you have some examples where it gives you strange results? I would like to investigate more.

Thanks!
Please read this before reporting bugs:
How to report issues to us!

2021-05-06, 10:57:09
Reply #317

Neeraj Gajjar

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Hi
I don't know if it's a bug or works like that.
when we replace instance material/map type in material editor it won't replace on scene environment panel in render settings , but replaced in environment tab.
using corona DB 21-04-2021,3dsmax 2022.0.1

2021-05-06, 11:51:33
Reply #318

Frood

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1655
    • View Profile
    • Rakete GmbH
it won't replace on scene environment panel in render settings

Render setup window just needs to be updated I guess. Close and reopen it and you should see the updated map. If not, the maps have not been instances initially.


Good Luck



Never underestimate the power of a well placed level one spell.

2021-05-06, 13:08:54
Reply #319

cgiout

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 105
    • View Profile
I don't know if the behavior is normal or it's a misunderstading from me.

1. Converting materials of ​selected objects, duplicates the materials into slate editor. It maintains the old material and then creates the converted one (overlapped)...annoying thing because i don't need the old mat nomore.

2. Converting materials from selected materials into slate editor, doesn't convert anything

What's wrong.

Running latest daily on 3dsmax2019.

2021-05-06, 13:25:42
Reply #320

Neeraj Gajjar

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
it won't replace on scene environment panel in render settings

Render setup window just needs to be updated I guess. Close and reopen it and you should see the updated map. If not, the maps have not been instances initially.


Good Luck
Yes it worked on render setup window.
But while working on Interactive rendering in active viewport or corona VFB it also needs to restart interactive rendering to update any changes done in replaced map. after restart it works just fine.


thanks.

2021-05-06, 14:51:05
Reply #321

aaouviz

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 430
    • View Profile
    • Another Angle 3D
For me the converter still gives strange results. I kind of stopped using it.
Hi,

I'm sad to hear that. Do you have some examples where it gives you strange results? I would like to investigate more.

Thanks!

I'm still seeing that the material converter isn't reliable with v7 dailies. I have uploaded an archived scene to the dropbox uploader. It contains a towel which used to convert flawlessly, but now it converts it allllll wrong.

2021-05-06, 16:19:22
Reply #322

rowmanns

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1269
    • View Profile
I don't know if the behavior is normal or it's a misunderstading from me.

1. Converting materials of ​selected objects, duplicates the materials into slate editor. It maintains the old material and then creates the converted one (overlapped)...annoying thing because i don't need the old mat nomore.

2. Converting materials from selected materials into slate editor, doesn't convert anything

What's wrong.

Running latest daily on 3dsmax2019.
Hi,

The 1st one is a 3ds max bug we managed to do some fix for this on our side, however this fix only works in Max 2020 and later. The workaround for it in Max 2019 is to have the SME closed when you run the converter.

I will take a look into the 2nd issue.

Thanks!
Please read this before reporting bugs:
How to report issues to us!

2021-05-06, 16:20:55
Reply #323

rowmanns

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1269
    • View Profile
it won't replace on scene environment panel in render settings

Render setup window just needs to be updated I guess. Close and reopen it and you should see the updated map. If not, the maps have not been instances initially.


Good Luck
Yes it worked on render setup window.
But while working on Interactive rendering in active viewport or corona VFB it also needs to restart interactive rendering to update any changes done in replaced map. after restart it works just fine.


thanks.
Hi,

Thanks for reporting this, iirc this was caused by 3ds Max. I will take another look and see if we can something about it.

Cheers!
Please read this before reporting bugs:
How to report issues to us!

2021-05-06, 16:22:13
Reply #324

rowmanns

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1269
    • View Profile
For me the converter still gives strange results. I kind of stopped using it.
Hi,

I'm sad to hear that. Do you have some examples where it gives you strange results? I would like to investigate more.

Thanks!

I'm still seeing that the material converter isn't reliable with v7 dailies. I have uploaded an archived scene to the dropbox uploader. It contains a towel which used to convert flawlessly, but now it converts it allllll wrong.
Hi,

I see the scene in our uploader, we will look into it and see if we can do something :)

Thank you!
Please read this before reporting bugs:
How to report issues to us!

2021-05-06, 17:01:30
Reply #325

Frood

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1655
    • View Profile
    • Rakete GmbH
iirc this was caused by 3ds Max.

Looks like. I just tried it with 2021 + same DB an could not reproduce.


Good Luck



Never underestimate the power of a well placed level one spell.

2021-05-06, 21:35:50
Reply #326

Feodor

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 107
    • View Profile
Hi! I have one question, will Corona Converter be able to disable the conversion of materials to PhysicalMtl? Since I have a lot of projects with finely tuned complex materials that simply break down when converted and give a completely different result. At the moment, the Corona Converter causes me only a feeling of deep disappointment, I want to throw it out as a tool that can do nothing but break well-tuned materials! I believe this is an imposed function that does not work properly at the moment and makes me ask for an old converter. For example, the converter has become very long to convert and load the processor, the Converter will never be able to determine what to convert, metal or not metal? The converter does not work well with LayeredMtl where materials with different properties are mixed, will the converter be able to accurately reproduce such materials? It does not convert translucency well, so it will not convert flora well, and so on... How do I transfer scenes to people who have a previous version? Has anyone thought about this? And in general, why this rigid irreversible imposition of what works poorly?

An obvious function, but why did no one in your company think of it right away, why do need to ask for it?
A vivid example in the pictures.

« Last Edit: 2021-05-06, 21:52:37 by Feodor »

2021-05-06, 23:14:22
Reply #327

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 7088
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Build Apr 21

Displacement does not work in layered material, not even in the base slot.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2021-05-07, 10:07:18
Reply #328

GeorgeK

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 501
  • George
    • View Profile
Hi! I have one question, will Corona Converter be able to disable the conversion of materials to PhysicalMtl? Since I have a lot of projects with finely tuned complex materials that simply break down when converted and give a completely different result. At the moment, the Corona Converter causes me only a feeling of deep disappointment, I want to throw it out as a tool that can do nothing but break well-tuned materials! I believe this is an imposed function that does not work properly at the moment and makes me ask for an old converter. For example, the converter has become very long to convert and load the processor, the Converter will never be able to determine what to convert, metal or not metal? The converter does not work well with LayeredMtl where materials with different properties are mixed, will the converter be able to accurately reproduce such materials? It does not convert translucency well, so it will not convert flora well, and so on... How do I transfer scenes to people who have a previous version? Has anyone thought about this? And in general, why this rigid irreversible imposition of what works poorly?

An obvious function, but why did no one in your company think of it right away, why do need to ask for it?
A vivid example in the pictures.

This would be a great scene for us to investigate the conversion further, is there a possibility you could share an archive?
For solutions and troubleshooting please visit - [link]
Please submit your tickets here - [link]

2021-05-07, 10:17:59
Reply #329

GeorgeK

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 501
  • George
    • View Profile
Build Apr 21

Displacement does not work in layered material, not even in the base slot.

Hey, it seems to be working fine here, can you please share more information from your material setup (or a small repro scene)?
For solutions and troubleshooting please visit - [link]
Please submit your tickets here - [link]