Author Topic: Corona Renderer 7 for 3ds Max - Daily Builds Discussion  (Read 84747 times)

2021-04-16, 20:59:55
Reply #300

EugeneDa

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
    • Behance
Max 2021.3, Win10 pro 2004, amd 2990wx, Radeon rx580 8gb.

All updates and drivers are installed. And I also tried to install an older version of the video card driver, as there were problems with them in Blender before.
As soon as I have time I will try to remove other plugins or reset 3ds max.

2021-04-20, 13:03:21
Reply #301

TEV09

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Hi. Does anyone else have this problem? The first time you click on it, some menu items are not available. After removing Corona, everything works the first time. See the attached file.

3dsmax 2021, corona-7-3dsmax-daily-2021-03-30
I have the same problem. It only happens when you restart 3Ds Max. I have tested this on 2018 version without plugins (corona 7 only) and on 2021, after removing corona render the problem disappears.

2021-04-20, 14:38:41
Reply #302

GeorgeK

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 553
  • George
    • View Profile
Hi. Does anyone else have this problem? The first time you click on it, some menu items are not available. After removing Corona, everything works the first time. See the attached file.

3dsmax 2021, corona-7-3dsmax-daily-2021-03-30

Thank you, we've managed to reproduce this.

(Report ID=CRMAX-487)

« Last Edit: 2021-04-21, 09:40:04 by rowmanns »
For solutions and troubleshooting please visit - [link]
Please submit your tickets here - [link]

2021-04-21, 18:04:01
Reply #303

rowmanns

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1304
    • View Profile
Hi All,

We have made some improvements to the converter in the latest daily build. It should no longer delete maps, I am interested to hear everyone's feedback on this new iteration of the converter.

Changelog:
https://forum.corona-renderer.com/index.php?topic=30876.msg184445#msg184445

Thanks,

Rowan
Please read this before reporting bugs:
How to report issues to us!

2021-04-21, 20:25:51
Reply #304

Bormax

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 529
    • View Profile
Hi
Corona DB 2021-04-21 and previous one (didn't try with Corona 6), if secondary GI solver set to 4K Cache, GI in reflections gets splotchy during IR. There is no such problem with UHD Cache. These splotches appear only during IR, no problem with production render.
On attached pictures we see the boxes on the wall reflected in flat mirror placed on the opposite wall. Here is also the scene for you, made in Max 2021, saved as Max 2018

Max 2021.3

2021-04-21, 21:52:57
Reply #305

Bormax

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 529
    • View Profile
Hi again!
Corona7 DB 2021-04-21. IR is still working very laggy with Forest Pack 7. With ForestPackPro711 it works a bit better than with ForestPackPro706, but it is still makes IR not usable in scenes with grass and trees scattered with FP. With FP6 in the same scenes IR works fine and smooth.

Here is simplified example - piece of ground surface with boxes scattered the same way as I scatter grass patches. With FP 7 any change such as Sun position or panning in rendered window makes Max to hang for 7-20 seconds before IR's picture is getting updated. With FP6 - no any such kind of hanging, picture is updating immediately.

Max 2021.3, Corona7 DB 2021-04-21

2021-04-22, 13:55:59
Reply #306

Kris H

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Hi
Corona DB 2021-04-21 and previous one (didn't try with Corona 6), if secondary GI solver set to 4K Cache, GI in reflections gets splotchy during IR. There is no such problem with UHD Cache. These splotches appear only during IR, no problem with production render.
On attached pictures we see the boxes on the wall reflected in flat mirror placed on the opposite wall. Here is also the scene for you, made in Max 2021, saved as Max 2018

Max 2021.3

Thank you Bormax! We've managed to reproduce this issue both in V7 DB 2021-04-21 and V6HF2.

(Report ID=CRMAX-500)
« Last Edit: 2021-04-22, 14:15:14 by Kris H »

2021-04-22, 13:58:21
Reply #307

Kris H

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Hi again!
Corona7 DB 2021-04-21. IR is still working very laggy with Forest Pack 7. With ForestPackPro711 it works a bit better than with ForestPackPro706, but it is still makes IR not usable in scenes with grass and trees scattered with FP. With FP6 in the same scenes IR works fine and smooth.

Here is simplified example - piece of ground surface with boxes scattered the same way as I scatter grass patches. With FP 7 any change such as Sun position or panning in rendered window makes Max to hang for 7-20 seconds before IR's picture is getting updated. With FP6 - no any such kind of hanging, picture is updating immediately.

Max 2021.3, Corona7 DB 2021-04-21

And thank you again! We've reproduced that one as well.

(Report ID=CRMAX-499)

2021-04-22, 23:06:05
Reply #308

danio1011

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 290
    • View Profile
Would you ever consider a toggle to FULLY turn off bucket rendering for IR?  I still find it sub-optimal in certain situations, such as when you delete a region box when you've already passed the initial pass limit.  You could even bury it in the dev settings.  Just generally speaking I haven't 'noticed' the speed increase of bucket rendering in IR but I have noticed some of the downsides that affect the artistic process.  It also sometimes seems like optix isn't quite as effective using buckets but that may be my imagination.

Thanks for considering.

2021-04-26, 13:21:03
Reply #309

bluebox

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 268
    • View Profile
Hey guys, since the majority of other big features are now closed on trello do you have any ETA on when can we expect a daily build with new tone mapping ? Pretty sure many of us are eagerly waiting to see it in play.

2021-04-26, 19:19:09
Reply #310

ACSLATER

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
I'm using Corona version: 7 (DailyBuild Apr 21 2021) - 3DS Max 2020

Hi guys, Seems like there is an issue with the shadow catcher material when HDRI is set to "Dome", getting too close with the camera or perspective view, the geometry of the shadow catcher material becomes visible. You can also see it in cutting a line at the bottom of the car. Havent tried it in Corona 6

2021-04-27, 12:07:19
Reply #311

GeorgeK

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 553
  • George
    • View Profile
I'm using Corona version: 7 (DailyBuild Apr 21 2021) - 3DS Max 2020

Hi guys, Seems like there is an issue with the shadow catcher material when HDRI is set to "Dome", getting too close with the camera or perspective view, the geometry of the shadow catcher material becomes visible. You can also see it in cutting a line at the bottom of the car. Havent tried it in Corona 6

This looks like the camera is rendering under the shadow catcher geometry, are you using any clipping? What's the size of your shadow catcher plane in metric units?
For solutions and troubleshooting please visit - [link]
Please submit your tickets here - [link]

2021-04-27, 16:24:46
Reply #312

rowmanns

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1304
    • View Profile
Hey guys, since the majority of other big features are now closed on trello do you have any ETA on when can we expect a daily build with new tone mapping ? Pretty sure many of us are eagerly waiting to see it in play.
Hi,

I hope relatively soon, we are working hard on it still to get it ready. I will poke our devs and see if I can get a better estimate for you.

Thanks,

Rowan
Please read this before reporting bugs:
How to report issues to us!

2021-04-29, 15:34:35
Reply #313

JG_pictures

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 107
  • JG
    • View Profile
    • www.gehrcken.de
I tried the new propagate-mask feature in z-depth. Which might help a lot in certain situations.
But its missing in Cgeometry_normals...

Is there a list in wich Renderelements, this new option is used?

2021-05-05, 09:59:08
Reply #314

rowmanns

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1304
    • View Profile
I tried the new propagate-mask feature in z-depth. Which might help a lot in certain situations.
But its missing in Cgeometry_normals...

Is there a list in wich Renderelements, this new option is used?
Hi,

So far it is available in the following;
  • CMasking_ID
  • CMasking_Mask
  • CMasking_WireColor
  • CGeometry_ZDepth
  • CTexmap

I can log a feature request to add it to other render elements if it makes sense to, could you give me a bit of info about how you would use it in the other render elements?

Cheers!
Please read this before reporting bugs:
How to report issues to us!