Author Topic: HDRI & Background way to dark  (Read 3621 times)

2020-06-18, 16:47:57

sykane

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Hey everyone,
I got a question concerning HDRI Domes and Background images.
My HDRIs and my Background Pictures appear much much Darker in the Interactive Rendering as they really are (Photoshop for example).
They also look OK in the small preview Window of the Background Image File as well in Corona Sky.
In Corona Sky I need to Boost nearly 5 Exposure Stops to make it look ok Bright in the Interactive Rendering (Compared to the Corona Sun for example) but then the Preview Picture is naturally completely white and Overexposed also in the Workspace area its just white... just in the Interactive Rendering its much to Dark.

Does anyone know what im doing wrong here?
Is there a certain workflow you guys follow?

Thx in advanced.

2020-06-18, 23:53:01
Reply #1

burnin

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1213
    • View Profile
Hard to judge...
Do provide technical data, specs and visual examples.
But as with any issue, best practice is to post your study/problematic scene describing steps to reproduce.

2020-06-19, 11:19:23
Reply #2

SHIFT

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Have a look at CoronaTonemapControl map.

2020-06-20, 14:18:42
Reply #3

sykane

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Hard to judge...
Do provide technical data, specs and visual examples.
But as with any issue, best practice is to post your study/problematic scene describing steps to reproduce.

So I made some screenshots

This Is how my HDRI and Background image File look like in Photoshop:

2020-06-20, 14:21:49
Reply #4

sykane

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Hard to judge...
Do provide technical data, specs and visual examples.
But as with any issue, best practice is to post your study/problematic scene describing steps to reproduce.

And this is what I see in Cinema / Corona Renderer:

I tried it with regular sRGB color profiles as well as with an Linear one... same results so far.
Also im wondering if there is a possibility to see the HDRI in better quality in the working editor?

thx a lot

2020-06-22, 11:44:10
Reply #5

Beanzvision

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 2145
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
Could it be a conflict between using the background object and a Corona sky? Would the shadow catcher be better to use here?

2020-06-22, 18:48:43
Reply #6

sykane

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Could it be a conflict between using the background object and a Corona sky? Would the shadow catcher be better to use here?

I started up a whole new scene... just added an cube wit an standard corona material... used again a corona sky with my HDRI File... it still appears wax to dark in the rendering... but the preview is absolutely fine.
From that I assume the background is not my problem, at least in my case.

2020-06-22, 19:06:28
Reply #7

sykane

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Could it be a conflict between using the background object and a Corona sky? Would the shadow catcher be better to use here?


I think my problem has something to do with my Color Profiles or something in that area.... I set up a Test Scene (C4d R21) with an very small version of my HDRI File and an Standad Object and attached It to my Post.. maybe somebody could tell by that what im doing wrong.

thx in advanced!


2020-06-23, 00:54:39
Reply #8

burnin

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1213
    • View Profile
You messed up your render settings, make a New one.
&
To play with your HDRI Color Profile, enable Linear Workflow in Project Settings (ctrl+D)
or to simply have it brighter (as is in PS example) set HDR gamma 2.2.

OK?

2020-06-23, 09:13:01
Reply #9

sykane

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
You messed up your render settings, make a New one.
&
To play with your HDRI Color Profile, enable Linear Workflow in Project Settings (ctrl+D)
or to simply have it brighter (as is in PS example) set HDR gamma 2.2.

OK?

Thats a good hint, never realised that Option!
It changes the appearance in the Preview/Work area a lot, but no matter what I do the render output is about the same... I tried all possible settings with gamma and the given options.

2020-06-23, 09:30:58
Reply #10

sykane

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
You messed up your render settings, make a New one.
&
To play with your HDRI Color Profile, enable Linear Workflow in Project Settings (ctrl+D)
or to simply have it brighter (as is in PS example) set HDR gamma 2.2.

OK?

for example:

2020-06-23, 09:40:47
Reply #11

sykane

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
oh man... I got it, photoshop needed to be setup to convert RGB to to gamma 2,2 in its collor settings, now its working as it should.
Thx guys!


just one last question, where can I set the preview resolution in the Editor for my HDRI, its a tiny bit to low to set it up perfectly before rendering?

Thx again!

2020-06-23, 11:07:53
Reply #12

Beanzvision

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 2145
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
oh man... I got it, photoshop needed to be setup to convert RGB to to gamma 2,2 in its collor settings, now its working as it should.
Thx guys!


just one last question, where can I set the preview resolution in the Editor for my HDRI, its a tiny bit to low to set it up perfectly before rendering?

Thx again!

Glad to hear you sorted it out. In regards to the HDRI preview, what Corona version do you have? The old method was to open the material, go to preview, and then set the resolution there. However, this is no longer the case with the latest release. It's a known issue that we hope to address.

2020-06-23, 11:10:29
Reply #13

sykane

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Im using the latest (test) version of corona.
Still trying to figure out if I will stay with it.

Is there any plan on releasing an update soon?

2020-06-23, 11:56:59
Reply #14

Beanzvision

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 2145
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
Im using the latest (test) version of corona.
Still trying to figure out if I will stay with it.

Is there any plan on releasing an update soon?

Indeed there is, we're currently in the process of finalizing V6. If all goes to plan, it will be released within 2 weeks.

2020-08-27, 17:35:59
Reply #15

ce.truonghai

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
I have some big problem with HDRi color profiles or gamma or some reason I don't know.
I can set the HDRi correctly in 3ds max but in C4D I try many way but I can not. (I tried to change between Linear or sRGB workflow but not working)

Color of HDRi sky in C4D is wrong for me. Please see attached image will realize the problem clearly.
This is important with me. Please help me if you know how to fix this problem.

Happy with any helps.

2020-08-27, 17:54:05
Reply #16

TomG

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 4063
    • View Profile
Which version of Corona? If 6, are you using the C4D color space for the VFB?

2020-08-28, 04:52:21
Reply #17

ce.truonghai

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
I am using Corona 6, and checked Using C4D Color Space.
(But I think C4D Color Space is a few effects only, not big different as image)

I tried many way like Linear, sRGB, turn off Linear Workflow but not working.

Can you send me any example for tested high quality HDRi in both of 3ds Max and C4D with same result?
(Of course with same setting like HDR intensity, LUTs, highlight compress, exposure, saturation...)

Thank you.

2020-08-28, 12:24:19
Reply #18

TomG

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 4063
    • View Profile
As a check, what do things look like if you do not use the C4D color space? It can be enabled/disabled at any time (even after a render is complete).