Author Topic: Corona Layered Material + Multiple Displacement  (Read 3095 times)

2020-02-25, 11:09:56

Dionysios.TS

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 618
    • View Profile
    • Personal Portfolio
Hi guys and excuse me for bringing up this issue here.

Do you plan to fix the limitation of using Corona Layered Mtl and multiple displacement maps in this cycle?
I am using multiple mix maps now (only evident solution) but things are a bit complicated as I have at least 6 different materials with different displacements and I need to apply all of them on a single terrain object by using multiple masks.

Thanks in advance,

Dionysios -
RPBW Responsable d’Imagerie / CGI Manager
& freelance 3D Artist

https://evolvia.design/

2020-02-25, 16:16:51
Reply #1

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 10779
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
This topic is brought up from time to time and we have it logged in our internal task tracker. No specific time frame at this moment, but we will be sure to notify you (and also post a public note) once we have any details.

(Internal ID=321467484)

2020-02-25, 16:38:08
Reply #2

Dionysios.TS

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 618
    • View Profile
    • Personal Portfolio
This topic is brought up from time to time and we have it logged in our internal task tracker. No specific time frame at this moment, but we will be sure to notify you (and also post a public note) once we have any details.

(Internal ID=321467484)

Thanks for the update Maru, I really hope you can make it guys!

Dionysios -
RPBW Responsable d’Imagerie / CGI Manager
& freelance 3D Artist

https://evolvia.design/

2020-02-25, 17:54:15
Reply #3

PROH

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1166
    • View Profile
+ 1000. This would really make a huge difference in workflow and speed :)

2020-02-25, 18:24:53
Reply #4

Dionysios.TS

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 618
    • View Profile
    • Personal Portfolio
+ 1000. This would really make a huge difference in workflow and speed :)

Don't tell me... I have to map 1.5km of terrain and deal now with 6 materials + displ. maps makes me sick... :(

Dionysios -
RPBW Responsable d’Imagerie / CGI Manager
& freelance 3D Artist

https://evolvia.design/

2020-02-26, 23:38:23
Reply #5

iancamarillo

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 273
    • View Profile
I may be reading this incorrectly but cant you mix displacements with the corona displacement modifier using a custom map?

2020-02-26, 23:44:21
Reply #6

Dionysios.TS

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 618
    • View Profile
    • Personal Portfolio
I may be reading this incorrectly but cant you mix displacements with the corona displacement modifier using a custom map?

Is a bit complicated this issue.

You can use the Corona Displacement Modifier which in this case will be applied globally to all the Displacement maps which may compose a Corona Layered Mtl by using unfortunately the Mix map method, this is the only solution to combine multiple Displ. Maps under a Corona Layered Material. Then you can set individually the brightness of is Displacement Map to set it's height. Is a pain… Believe me…
RPBW Responsable d’Imagerie / CGI Manager
& freelance 3D Artist

https://evolvia.design/

2020-02-26, 23:46:04
Reply #7

iancamarillo

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 273
    • View Profile
yeh i tried it and it was kinda messy

2020-02-26, 23:50:29
Reply #8

Dionysios.TS

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 618
    • View Profile
    • Personal Portfolio
yeh i tried it and it was kinda messy

Is you can set up everything properly is seems to work. This is the only solution for now. The big problem is that I have a huge terrain area and I need to use 6 Quixel materials on it by using masks which I've produced with the help of World Creator.
Everything seems to work great except of this Corona limitation which slows down all my workflow. But there is no other solution for now, I need to proceed with it as it is, if not I am in trouble! :)
RPBW Responsable d’Imagerie / CGI Manager
& freelance 3D Artist

https://evolvia.design/

2020-05-05, 17:59:31
Reply #9

scionik

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 143
    • View Profile
yeah!
+100500
I really need it too.
Could you please add support to this function.

2021-06-05, 10:36:26
Reply #10

LorenzoS

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 181
    • View Profile

2021-06-07, 17:03:30
Reply #11

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 10779
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
It is still something that we consider for future versions of Corona, but because it is not trivial to do right, we cannot provide a timeframe right now.

(Report ID=CRMAX-70)