Author Topic: Corona Renderer 5 for Cinema 4D daily build  (Read 28337 times)

2019-11-13, 16:14:36
Reply #150

TomG

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 4043
    • View Profile
Do you mean using the new Corona Sky object, vs. the old Corona Sky tag on a C4D Sky object? If so, note that you no longer need to use a Corona Light Mtl with the HDRI in it, you can simply select the HDRI / Shader mode in the Corona Sky, and load the HDRI directly in there.

If applying a Corona Light Mtl on top of the Corona Sky object (not recommended), you will need to manually change the projection of the HDRI to Spherical (I think that was done automatically before when using the Corona Sky tag on top of a native C4D Sky object).

(a screengrab of your Sky set ups would be useful here :) )

2019-11-13, 18:42:03
Reply #151

iacdxb

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 739
  • 3D Deisgner
    • View Profile
    • www.behance.net/iacdxb
Here is screen shot and scene file.

HDRI light set by Sky rotation is easier and handy than putting offset values in Syy HDRI slot.
And if HDRI used in sky hdri slot, sky rotation shows in view port but it does not effect. HDRI used in sky hdri slot, is much brighter light than adding hdri in light material to sky, it should not be same light effect, its ny hdri slot or by light material...?
And seeing... Sky in shader also....!

Thanks.
...
« Last Edit: 2019-11-13, 18:46:20 by iacdxb »
Mac OS, Cinema 4D R23.

2019-11-13, 23:19:39
Reply #152

Studio Heisenberg

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 67
  • Let's cook
    • View Profile
It does remind me of reflections of caustics (that is, there is a caustic result somewhere, which is showing up in the reflection of another material) - takes a while to clean up if so. Starting point would be whether or not caustics are enabled as Nejc asks :)
not indeed caustics, I did had them in few materials. but this is without any caustics on

2019-11-14, 00:34:58
Reply #153

jojorender

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 116
    • View Profile
Hi Corona Team,
created scene in V.4.0  Now installed V.5 RC 4 and the scene parsing went from a couple of minutes to 27 min....
Hi, sending us the scene would be great. We can get access to those plugins so no need to worry there. ;) Thanks
https://corona-renderer.com/upload
Uploaded scene to dropbox - "jojorender_V5-RC4_parsing_time.zip". Let me know if there are issues using the scene.
Thanks.
EDIT:
Getting confused by your naming convention. I tested V5 RC 4 last weekend, but you posted RC 1 yesterday.
Is this a countdown?
« Last Edit: 2019-11-14, 00:47:36 by jojorender »

2019-11-14, 04:34:18
Reply #154

TomG

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 4043
    • View Profile
On the naming convention:

- The VFB shows the CORE that Corona is based on. The current RC1 for Cinema 4D is based on the RC4 of the core (from Max)
- The About section will show you the naming of the version for C4D (will be RC 1)

They always count up, and Corona for C4D has only had RC 1 so far (next will be RC 2); it's just that the VFB title bar shows you the core version of Corona being used :)

2019-11-14, 11:41:09
Reply #155

iacdxb

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 739
  • 3D Deisgner
    • View Profile
    • www.behance.net/iacdxb
Hi TomG,

Have you tried file....?
In R20 its same with fireflies.

Thanks.
...
Mac OS, Cinema 4D R23.

2019-11-14, 14:05:07
Reply #156

TomG

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 4043
    • View Profile
Hi!

No, I have not tried the file - that would be for support and developers to dive into :) I was just popping in to explain the naming conventions there.

Cheers!
   Tom

2019-11-15, 10:05:31
Reply #157

Frankco

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Hi Corona team, thanks for the last RC. All seems pretty stable and more memory friendly. (less crashes)
One thing: When the the Corona VFB is open and I shut down C4D, C4D crashes always and becomse un-responsible (spinning beachball on Mac). I need to do a force quit.
Each and every time . But if I manually close VFB before quitting C4D there is no problem.
A small thing, but annoying.
I'm on MacOS 10.14.4, C4Dr21.022 , latest Corona build "Version: 5.0 rc 1 (core 5 (Release Candidate 4)"
(I agree the naming of the build are confusing)

2019-11-15, 10:52:03
Reply #158

iacdxb

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 739
  • 3D Deisgner
    • View Profile
    • www.behance.net/iacdxb
Yes, I noticed also this, when IR open and quit c4d manyually.... it takes time but in my side it does not crash....!

...
Mac OS, Cinema 4D R23.

2019-11-15, 14:04:23
Reply #159

Beanzvision

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 2087
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
Hi TomG,

Have you tried file....?
In R20 its same with fireflies.

Thanks.
...
I've tested your scene and had no exposure differences between an HDRI light material applied to a Corona Sky vs an HDRI loaded within the Corona Sky object. Both rendered with the 100 passes that were set up in your scene.

2019-11-16, 22:21:59
Reply #160

houska

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1513
  • Cestmir Houska
    • View Profile
Hello everyone!

Release Candidate 2 of Corona Renderer for Cinema 4D is out! We fixed a few crashes and bugs this time and are busily preparing the final release. Stay tuned!

Download link:
https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1BxlBSWEkpZSR-54EHJGkoONNW20DYPBB

Changelog:
https://forum.corona-renderer.com/index.php?topic=26054.msg159461#msg159461

2019-11-17, 12:01:59
Reply #161

fabio81

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 336
    • View Profile
Hi Corona team,
thanks for the updates! for me the problem of the node editor cannot be solved, I tried also with the new tool but after the conversion the multimap node loses all the paths. Perhaps the problem is the multimap node? because it's just what gives me problems now while everything else works. I am attaching two screen shots before and after shader conversion.

I wanted to ask you something else, I'm doing an exterior animation with PT + PT with pass limit and GI / AA 8 - LSM 2 to have a more accurate AA, it is normal to have 01.45 of parsing scenes and 01.00 of geometry for each frame ?
thanks

2019-11-17, 22:07:52
Reply #162

Studio Heisenberg

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 67
  • Let's cook
    • View Profile
It does remind me of reflections of caustics (that is, there is a caustic result somewhere, which is showing up in the reflection of another material) - takes a while to clean up if so. Starting point would be whether or not caustics are enabled as Nejc asks :)
not indeed caustics, I did had them in few materials. but this is without any caustics on
Found the problem, those splotches are affected by Sun seems like they disappear when we untick generate caustics in Corona Sun.

2019-11-18, 04:48:38
Reply #163

ddaker

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Is there any chance you guys could allow people to go below the standard 10 abbe number under refraction, this request has been asked multiple times for over a year, please can you guys implement it?

please.

2019-11-18, 09:10:32
Reply #164

Nejc Kilar

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1065
    • View Profile
    • My personal website
It does remind me of reflections of caustics (that is, there is a caustic result somewhere, which is showing up in the reflection of another material) - takes a while to clean up if so. Starting point would be whether or not caustics are enabled as Nejc asks :)
not indeed caustics, I did had them in few materials. but this is without any caustics on
Found the problem, those splotches are affected by Sun seems like they disappear when we untick generate caustics in Corona Sun.

Thanks for sharing what caused it. Super weird though, you'd think if caustics are disabled then that toggle has no effect. Weird stuff.