Author Topic: Clamping texture rgb output to a specific value  (Read 727 times)

2018-12-15, 12:10:19

mantaskava

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 72
    • View Profile
Hello,

Is it somehow possible in (3DS Max here) to clamp texture output to a specific value (globally)?
Example:
Let's say there is a grey scale dirt/grunge map, and I want to clamp it's output value to a max of 0.9 (which converts to srgb 230). And, if let's say, that exact texture doesn't reach that value anyways, it wouldn't be affected at all. It only should be affected IF it exceeds that value of 0.9 or srgb 230. How do I do that? Of course everyone's first thought comes to 'Output' node, but the thing is, that node works "locally" if that makes any sense, so the texture will be clamped to 0.9 of it's CURRENT max value, and not the global value of 255 or 1.0
I hope I was clear enough :)
Thanks

2018-12-15, 13:16:01
Reply #1

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 7239
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Is that what you want to achieve?
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2018-12-15, 13:57:18
Reply #2

mantaskava

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 72
    • View Profile
Is that what you want to achieve?

Yes it is! Thanks!
Though I was expecting something more like this:

Which would be a lot more convenient in my opinion.

2018-12-15, 14:23:50
Reply #3

pokoy

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1627
    • View Profile
There's a 3rd party map called ColorCorrect which lets you specify clamping with values. It's way better than the built-in one and works in Corona. Look it up on maxplugins.de

2018-12-15, 14:53:32
Reply #4

mantaskava

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 72
    • View Profile
There's a 3rd party map called ColorCorrect which lets you specify clamping with values. It's way better than the built-in one and works in Corona. Look it up on maxplugins.de

Nice, works great! Thanks mate.