Author Topic: Relative IES paths still broken when working on network shares.  (Read 1242 times)

2018-11-07, 15:09:37

mp5gosu

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 152
    • View Profile
Please see item #2957 on Mantis.
Seems like Mantis isn't used anymore?

2018-11-07, 15:18:00
Reply #1

houska

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1513
  • Cestmir Houska
    • View Profile
Hi Robert!

Yes, Mantis is being phased out, because not many people used it. But I saw your comment there, don't worry :-)

Unfortunately, we haven't investigated the issue. As far as I remember, we never got to reproduce the issue reliably, so that's a bit hard to fix in that case.

2018-11-07, 19:11:48
Reply #2

mp5gosu

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 152
    • View Profile
Dammit. This somehow breaks our pipeline when rendering our projects.
Even full console and debug out does not give any warnings or errors.

Let me explain our infrastructure, maybe you guys can work something out with that.

So, we own different file servers (Win Server 2012 if I remember right), of course HyperV hosts.
Those are then used to create data shares. Thos data shares are then aliased as Network drives to our local workstations.
For (a practical) example:
I'm working on "scene.c4d". This scene is located at the following path: "R:\project_xy\01_c4d\". So the full path expands to something like "\\MYFILESERVER\\Rendering\\project_xy\01_c4d\scene.c4d".
Now when selecting an IES light, the usual popup shows up, asking me to make it relative. If I click "no", the path will be absolute, which works: "R:\library\ies\light.ies"

If I'm choosing "yes", a "ies" folder is created at the correct project location and the IES is copied ("project_xy\ies\light.ies"), the path in the Corona light then shows "./ies/light.ies" - which does NOT render.
Like posted on Mantis, it works on local drives, so I'd assume there's something wrong with an internal UNC representation or whatever you guys use.

As always, if there's something else I can come up with, please let me know!

edit: May it be possible for you to provide a debug function that simply prints to console out or program output (to print it to the debugger) the final IES path when rendering? With this, I may be able to nail down the problem.
« Last Edit: 2018-11-09, 10:47:57 by mp5gosu »

2018-11-09, 13:48:32
Reply #3

Beanzvision

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 2030
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
May it be possible for you to provide a debug function that simply prints to console out or program output (to print it to the debugger) the final IES path when rendering? With this, I may be able to nail down the problem.

Hi Robert, this is indeed possible ;)

2018-11-09, 17:40:00
Reply #4

houska

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1513
  • Cestmir Houska
    • View Profile
Hi Robert! Thanks for the offer to help us fix the issue! We'll send you a special build that dumps the IES light absolute paths to C4D console on Monday.

2018-11-10, 15:36:25
Reply #5

mp5gosu

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 152
    • View Profile

2018-11-14, 17:19:10
Reply #6

houska

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1513
  • Cestmir Houska
    • View Profile
Ok, we found out what the issue was and fixed it (thanks for your help, Robert!), so you guys can expect the fix in one of the next dailies.

2018-11-14, 20:51:20
Reply #7

mp5gosu

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 152
    • View Profile
Great! Thanks guys. Invaluable developers! :)