Author Topic: Body Objects - rendered as low poly  (Read 9598 times)

2012-10-21, 21:10:33

hglr123

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 113
    • View Profile
Body objects are rendered as low poly.
They are set to high poly in render options in Body object, but Corona renders them as low poly.

BR!
Nik

2012-10-21, 21:36:12
Reply #1

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 9084
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
What is a body object? Some plugin?
Rendering is magic.How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2012-10-22, 14:40:31
Reply #2

hglr123

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 113
    • View Profile
files that are comming from CAD are presented in 3ds max as Body Objects. This is NPower plugin integration inside max.
You can try import as example - IGS or other CAD file - it will come as Body Object.

2012-11-08, 16:14:46
Reply #3

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 9084
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
CAn you give me an example scene?
Rendering is magic.How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2012-11-08, 16:23:33
Reply #4

hglr123

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 113
    • View Profile
Will send you a scene tomorrow :)

2012-11-09, 09:49:05
Reply #5

hglr123

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 113
    • View Profile
Here is a simple file - with only one body object inside. Render it and you will see for what I'm talking about :)


BR!
Nik

2013-08-28, 17:51:26
Reply #6

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 9084
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
Seems to be working now (but I needed to isolate and resave the object)
Rendering is magic.How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2014-01-05, 23:42:17
Reply #7

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 7935
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
I don't know if it was changed in daily builds, but in alpha, body objects renders significantly different than in mental ray or scanline. In corona, one have to crank rendering aproximation settings much higher to match MR output. And MR somehow adjust triangulation depending on render size (the higher render output size one chooses, the more faces, body object will have on render), whereas corona always produce constant number of primitives depending on rendering aproximation settings in body object.
I understand that such things is very low on priority list, but hopefully in distant future it will be fixed...
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2014-01-06, 01:26:47
Reply #8

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 9084
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
my last post was AFTER alpha5, so it was referencing daily builds. So it should work in the enxt build
Rendering is magic.How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2014-01-06, 10:30:31
Reply #9

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 7935
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Wow, it's getting harder and harder to wait for A6, then :]
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2014-03-02, 20:31:38
Reply #10

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 7935
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Tested body objects in newest build and doesn't noticed any change from how it worked in A5. Although it's possible to achieve pretty decent body object's aproximation in Corona, but results are still inferior if compare it to mr or scanline.

On the other hand, i find how to replicate corona's result in mr and scanline - for that, one needs to switch from view dependent approx to size dependent approx in rendering approximation tab (see attachement). Maybe that will help to identify where such difference comes from.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2017-08-22, 22:11:56
Reply #11

3di

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 128
    • View Profile
Was this ever fixed?

2017-08-22, 23:32:03
Reply #12

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 7935
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Yes, it was fixed long time ago. Do you have some problems with rendering body objects?
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2017-08-23, 02:44:58
Reply #13

3di

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 128
    • View Profile
Hi, thanks for coming back to me.  Yes body objects seem to render at the lowest possible quality regardless render approximations settings I choose.  I can bypass it to some degree by choosing use viewport settings, but there are artifacts showing in the render which are not there in the viewport.  It's not ideal to use the "use viewport settings" as I tend to work with pretty massive files so it's important to be able to have a lower quality in the viewport than the render.

2017-08-23, 09:38:29
Reply #14

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 7935
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Can you show your body objects settings? For me it works as it should right out of the box and viewport settings has no influence on redering approximation.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures