Author Topic: 3dsmax standard/photometric lights supported  (Read 13336 times)

2013-09-02, 23:34:00

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 9042
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2013-09-03, 02:09:35
Reply #1

Chakib

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 787
  • Corona Omnomnomer !
    • View Profile

2013-09-03, 07:49:35
Reply #2

hglr123

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 113
    • View Profile

2013-09-03, 10:28:18
Reply #3

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 11282
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
Marcin Miodek | chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona Support Team Lead | contact us


2013-09-03, 13:15:58
Reply #5

Polymax

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 830
  • CG Generalist
    • View Profile
    • maxkagirov.com
Big thanx!
Corona - the best rendering solution!

2013-09-03, 14:21:18
Reply #6

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 9042
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
added soft shadows to CoronaShadow:

Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2013-09-03, 16:20:26
Reply #7

Chakib

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 787
  • Corona Omnomnomer !
    • View Profile
i'll definitely gonna play with these, thanks ondra !

2013-09-03, 16:29:40
Reply #8

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 9042
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
please don't :D Using CoronaLights is much more recommended ;)
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2013-09-03, 16:47:18
Reply #9

Chakib

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 787
  • Corona Omnomnomer !
    • View Profile
please don't :D Using CoronaLights is much more recommended ;)

i know  hehe but nice to play with it :D
« Last Edit: 2013-09-03, 18:51:54 by Chakib »

2013-09-03, 18:50:02
Reply #10

DeadClown

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1445
    • View Profile
    • racoon-artworks
It's more recommended to use coronaLights but what are the "real" drawbacks in using the standard lights? I mean speed-wise or something like that. I would guess that standard lights with sharp shadows should render faster than little CoronaLights.
If it enables us to do specific things (which are not doable with coronaLights) then it should be working well (and we should know the problem cases) ;)
Any sufficiently advanced bug is indistinguishable from a feature.

2013-09-03, 19:23:00
Reply #11

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 9042
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
It's more recommended to use coronaLights but what are the "real" drawbacks in using the standard lights? I mean speed-wise or something like that. I would guess that standard lights with sharp shadows should render faster than little CoronaLights.
If it enables us to do specific things (which are not doable with coronaLights) then it should be working well (and we should know the problem cases) ;)

They will always give you incorrect (point) reflections in glossy surfaces, the rendertime goes up with the amount of lights (but not noise amount per pass, so it is similar to the way mental ray works), and it is very easy to create some possibly unnecessary fake effect, like incorrect decay, resulting in bad looking images.
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2013-09-03, 19:27:48
Reply #12

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 11282
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
Is there a proper "physical scale" for photometric lights? So for example if I place a photometric light with the preset "40W light bulb" does it really glow like one? I mean intensity. Can this be used to tune Corona lights to proper intensity?
Marcin Miodek | chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona Support Team Lead | contact us

2013-09-03, 19:31:37
Reply #13

DeadClown

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1445
    • View Profile
    • racoon-artworks
They will always give you incorrect (point) reflections in glossy surfaces, the rendertime goes up with the amount of lights (but not noise amount per pass, so it is similar to the way mental ray works), and it is very easy to create some possibly unnecessary fake effect, like incorrect decay, resulting in bad looking images.

Ok, good to know!
I understand the reflection thing and the rendertime stuff too (.. i think).
Yes I know you hate those fake lights, but clients tend to request the most unusual things which are not always achievable with CoronaLights - so.. fine if the client is happy (and you can still hate standard lights ;) )
Any sufficiently advanced bug is indistinguishable from a feature.

2013-09-03, 19:37:11
Reply #14

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 9042
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
maru: that does not make sense yet, because there is no physical camera
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)