Author Topic: Mask seen in reflexion / refraction  (Read 12104 times)

2015-12-14, 17:55:01

Naxos

  • Primary Certified Instructor
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 170
    • View Profile
Hello there,

I'm starting a new project, a nice one (Babyfoot games)... And i'd prefer to render it with Corona (fast, nice, i felt in love with it)...
My 2 other historic renderes are Maxwell (too slow for this project), and Vray (not so fast & nice in my opinion)...

Problem is that i'll HAVE TO get masks, lots of masks, and i must admint that Vray's option "affect all channels" plus multimatte element is a must have !

It renders the alpha objects taking account of reflexion / refractions...

Can Corona render that ? Will it be able to in a next release ?

here is a picture that explains what i mean...



Regards.

2015-12-15, 14:17:27
Reply #1

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 10777
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
Hi, sorry, but this is currently not possible. We have already received feature requests about this and this is high on the todo lists.

Currently the only workaround would be to re-save the scene and "fake" the masks using custom materials (self illumination or lightmtl without emission). I understand it sounds ridiculous, but it looks like this is the only option now...

2015-12-15, 14:52:29
Reply #2

Naxos

  • Primary Certified Instructor
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 170
    • View Profile
Ok, i guess i can do the masks passes using Vray in the midtime...

If it is on the todo list, that's ok...

2016-01-20, 07:45:33
Reply #3

Siahpoosh

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 141
    • View Profile
    • Siahpoosh.Net
+1 , really needed

2017-03-08, 16:23:05
Reply #4

Naxos

  • Primary Certified Instructor
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 170
    • View Profile
Up...

It's been a while since this initial post... Any changes ?

2017-03-08, 20:22:19
Reply #5

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8947
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
unfortunately not, not planned for 1.6, only later
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2017-03-11, 13:34:02
Reply #6

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8947
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
logged in the most wanted thread, closing this down as duplicate
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2018-05-02, 08:54:02
Reply #7

DPS

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
Are we any closer to this being implemented?
Specs: AMD 1950X, Aorus Gaming 7 x399, 64GB RAM, 1080ti. Win10, Max 2017, Corona 1.7.3

2018-05-02, 09:05:28
Reply #8

Naxos

  • Primary Certified Instructor
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 170
    • View Profile
We still need that asap !

Please Ondra, have a quick look at it : you probably could code that in several hours or minutes...

2018-05-07, 16:16:08
Reply #9

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8947
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
If I could, I would :/
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2018-05-09, 12:12:26
Reply #10

Naxos

  • Primary Certified Instructor
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 170
    • View Profile

2018-05-10, 09:04:03
Reply #11

DPS

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
If I could, I would :/

Do you think it's something that could be learnt from Vray or is the issue to do with a fundamental difference in how Corona works compared with Vray? i.e not possible? :)
Specs: AMD 1950X, Aorus Gaming 7 x399, 64GB RAM, 1080ti. Win10, Max 2017, Corona 1.7.3

2018-07-19, 11:08:17
Reply #12

icedlake

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
unfortunately we still can't get this in the latest release 2.0.

2019-03-20, 18:12:08
Reply #13

PauloRosario

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Please Ondra. Do u have any news?
I'm just looking for the possibility to mask diferent materials in layered material. Is there a timeframe?
Thank you

2019-04-04, 15:35:35
Reply #14

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 10777
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
Corona was not originally designed for doing things like this, so it will take some time to implement it. We do however have it on our TODO.
The current status is "once it will be coming soon, we will announce it".
We are aware that this is an essential feature for many users.

2020-09-10, 10:02:33
Reply #15

Naxos

  • Primary Certified Instructor
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 170
    • View Profile
Corona 6 is the answer, many thanks guys !

2020-09-23, 16:03:32
Reply #16

PauloRosario

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Unfortunately I still can't get this in the latest release (6.0).
I did a simple test using corona 6 trial for 3ds max.
So that's what i need to do just to have masks:
1- Duplicate pillow's front mesh
2 - Use Push modifier to make it slightly in front of original front mesh.
2 - Set a new multi-sub object ID
3 - Place opacity map on that new material
4 - Set a diferent g-buffer iD for it

Using V-ray, for instance, i just need a vray blend and materials with diferent g-buffer ID's. No modeling work needed.


EDIT: Sorry guys, I know it’s not about reflection. But I was hoping that it would come together.
« Last Edit: 2020-09-23, 16:10:41 by PauloRosario »

2020-09-23, 17:58:03
Reply #17

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 10777
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
Unfortunately I still can't get this in the latest release (6.0).
I did a simple test using corona 6 trial for 3ds max.
So that's what i need to do just to have masks:
1- Duplicate pillow's front mesh
2 - Use Push modifier to make it slightly in front of original front mesh.
2 - Set a new multi-sub object ID
3 - Place opacity map on that new material
4 - Set a diferent g-buffer iD for it

Using V-ray, for instance, i just need a vray blend and materials with diferent g-buffer ID's. No modeling work needed.


EDIT: Sorry guys, I know it’s not about reflection. But I was hoping that it would come together.

I am really sorry, but I do not understand the problem described here.
Could you explain what exactly you are after? What kind of masks do you need to render, and what for?
And maybe you could also show the correct V-Ray result?

2020-09-23, 22:22:22
Reply #18

PauloRosario

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Hi Maru.
Yeah, i didn't express myself well and everything became a mess!

To be clear: I just need masks while i'm using CoronaLayeredMtl.
I need masks to do post-production of products to achieve high precision in color treatment.

For now, i have to use the techniques i said before:

1- Duplicate pillow's front mesh
2 - Use Push modifier to make it slightly in front of original front mesh.
2 - Set a new multi-sub object ID
3 - Place opacity map on that new material
4 - Set a different g-buffer iD for it

In V-ray i just have to use a vray Blend with two materials with different mask IDs.

There is no need to duplicate the front mesh of my models and use opacity maps on the materials.

« Last Edit: 2020-09-24, 15:34:43 by PauloRosario »

2020-09-30, 20:37:11
Reply #19

PauloRosario

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Hi Maru

Did you understand now?

2021-01-07, 15:38:42
Reply #20

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 10777
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
I know it's probably too late, but I still don't understand it, sorry. It's probably because of my lack of experience with masks and compositing.

Here is my issue:

As I understand it, from looking at your images, you would like to render a green mask of the "background" and a red mask of the "bird":


The thing is that you already have such mask:


Why not just use it and, for example, color the black parts green and color the white parts red?


I am 100% sure I am missing something, but I would love to understand what.
Maybe explaining what kind of results you would like to get would make it easier? What the end result should look like?