Chaos Corona Forum

Corona Renderer for 3ds Max => [Max] I need help! => Topic started by: 3di on 2017-06-30, 22:07:55

Title: glow
Post by: 3di on 2017-06-30, 22:07:55
Hi, I'm a returning user and i'm just working onan image of someone welding. 

I know when I used to use it a few versions ago glow effects etc weren't supported, does anyone know if they are now?  I'd like to render it all in corona without comping so I can get all of the reflections of the glowing sparks on the reflective surfaces.

Cheers
Title: Re: glow
Post by: romullus on 2017-06-30, 22:29:01
The answer is yes, Corona now has its own bloom and glare solution: https://coronarenderer.freshdesk.com/support/solutions/articles/12000017222-how-to-use-bloom-and-glare-
Title: Re: glow
Post by: 3di on 2017-06-30, 22:34:39
Thanks romulus, that's great news.  I'll give it a try.  I'm guessing the intensity will be controlled by the individual lights intensity?  For example a neon light will provide more bloom than a 100w bulb?
Title: Re: glow
Post by: romullus on 2017-06-30, 23:39:12
You can control intensity either locally by adjusting each light source strength or globally through glare and bloom parameters. Needless to say that exposure level also has great influence on B&G strength. You should definitely give it a try - it's fully interactive and very fun to play with :]
Title: Re: glow
Post by: 3di on 2017-07-01, 17:20:37
yes it's producing some good results.  Only problem is I cant get the particles or anything with the corona light material to show up in the alpha channel, so i'm losing all of the glow on the .png output.  I've tried using a corona material instead with self illumination, but then this doesnt show up in the lightimix.

Any workaround?

Cheers