Author Topic: DR Render Problem - Failed to send render results back to master.  (Read 854 times)

2022-02-22, 17:59:54

rohe

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
hello, Corona DR Render is giving this error. What would be the reason?

2022-02-22 19:53:51   Failed to send render results back to master.
2022-02-22 19:54:35   Started EXR dump (2.233 M bytes, filename: C:/Users/User09/AppData/Local/CoronaRenderer/DrData/dump846.exr)

2022-06-22, 11:05:39
Reply #1

m.krajewski@dotdesignstud

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
I have the same problem.

3ds max 2023, corona 8, win 10, ryzen 5950x

Funny thing is that there are two workstations with ALL the part the same (down to plugged usb devices and monitors) with the same software, everything updated the same way.
One can render just fine, and the other cant send results, or can't connect at all.
Another funny thing is that it is sometimes the first one, sometiems the second one, sometimes both can connect.
Restarting DRServer doesn't help, restarting the slave machine doesn't help, turning off the firewall or antivirus doesn't work.

We did not have this problem with max 2021 + corona 7.
 
Mike

2022-06-22, 14:12:45
Reply #2

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 11414
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
DR issues are often hard to diagnose. It may be related to your network setup. Can you explain how your computers are connected? Are they both plugged into a switch, or maybe connected directly with a cable, or maybe something else?

We can suggest some basic troubleshooting but it would be best to contact our support team here: https://support.chaos.com/hc/en-us/requests/new
Marcin Miodek | chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona Support Team Lead | contact us

2022-06-27, 19:29:00
Reply #3

m.krajewski@dotdesignstud

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Router connects to the switch. rendering master is connected directly to the router. render slaves are connected to the switch.
We had 0 problems likt this for a year of using this setup. Now in corona 8 we have this issue.
tested on max 2021 and 2023

2022-06-28, 11:56:32
Reply #4

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 11414
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
started a support ticket - #44743
Marcin Miodek | chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona Support Team Lead | contact us

2022-06-28, 12:26:57
Reply #5

m.krajewski@dotdesignstud

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
OK,

i stops sending renders after few updates:


2022-06-28 11:52:48   Downloaded scene: 2 032 612 bytes in 0 s
2022-06-28 11:52:49   Render for connection #1 started
2022-06-28 11:59:21   Started EXR dump (700 M bytes, filename: C:/Users/papens/AppData/Local/CoronaRenderer/DrData/dump1565.exr)
2022-06-28 12:02:54   Finished EXR dump after 212 s
2022-06-28 12:02:54   Received sampling focus mask (region 0 1932 5400 2415)
2022-06-28 12:03:07   Received sampling focus mask (region 0 0 5400 3375)
2022-06-28 12:04:26   Started EXR dump (699 M bytes, filename: C:/Users/papens/AppData/Local/CoronaRenderer/DrData/dump1566.exr)
2022-06-28 12:09:31   Started EXR dump (745 M bytes, filename: C:/Users/papens/AppData/Local/CoronaRenderer/DrData/dump1567.exr)
2022-06-28 12:09:34   Finished EXR dump after 307 s
2022-06-28 12:14:35   Started EXR dump (794 M bytes, filename: C:/Users/papens/AppData/Local/CoronaRenderer/DrData/dump1568.exr)
2022-06-28 12:19:34   Failed to send render results back to master.
2022-06-28 12:19:41   Started EXR dump (1 012 M bytes, filename: C:/Users/papens/AppData/Local/CoronaRenderer/DrData/dump1569.exr)


in corona log it looks nice:

2022-06-28 11:56:59  Estimated time left: 0:00:00
2022-06-28 11:57:00  Parsing scene took 161.671005 seconds
2022-06-28 11:57:00  Calculating displacement
2022-06-28 11:57:00  Computing displacement took 0 seconds
2022-06-28 11:57:00  Preparing geometry
2022-06-28 11:57:05  Embree: memory usage: 3,3 GB. Total embree build time is 5497ms, top level commit took: 1826ms. There are 2205 embree geometry groups, 3453168 instances, triangle objects: non-animated=3801/animated=0, hair objects: non-animated=0/animated=0, custom objects: non-animated=116/animated=0, particle objects: non-animated=0/animated=0
2022-06-28 11:57:05  Embree scene building took: 5498
2022-06-28 11:57:08  Preparing geometry took 8.17700005 seconds
2022-06-28 11:57:08  Preparing lights
2022-06-28 11:57:08  Preparing lights took 0.143000007 seconds
2022-06-28 11:57:08  Computing sec. GI
2022-06-28 11:57:09  Estimated time left: 0:00:06
2022-06-28 11:57:16  Computing secondary GI took 8.6420002 seconds
2022-06-28 11:57:16 
2022-06-28 11:57:16 
2022-06-28 11:57:16      Rendering started...
2022-06-28 11:57:17  Rendering initial pass
2022-06-28 11:58:58  Rendering pass 2
2022-06-28 11:59:21  Rendering initial pass
2022-06-28 12:00:44  Rendering pass 2
2022-06-28 12:02:35  Rendering pass 3
2022-06-28 12:02:54  DR slave received sampling mask, region 0 1932 5400 2415
2022-06-28 12:03:08  DR slave received sampling mask, region 0 0 5400 3375
2022-06-28 12:04:26  Rendering initial pass
2022-06-28 12:04:50  Rendering pass 2
2022-06-28 12:07:02  Rendering pass 3
2022-06-28 12:09:04  Rendering pass 4
2022-06-28 12:09:31  Rendering initial pass
2022-06-28 12:11:20  Rendering pass 2
2022-06-28 12:13:15  Rendering pass 3
2022-06-28 12:14:36  Rendering initial pass
2022-06-28 12:15:11  Rendering pass 2
2022-06-28 12:17:05  Rendering pass 3
2022-06-28 12:19:15  Rendering pass 4
2022-06-28 12:19:41  Rendering initial pass
2022-06-28 12:21:19  Rendering pass 2

and at this point (sfter 2 updates) it stops sending it to the host.


Also i cant just close the DrServer. I click inside and open logs, but that little closing X does not work.
i have to kill it via task manager or wait like 10 minutes to let it die on it's own.

It happened on both render slaves at the same time in the same way


I can send you those dump exr files if you want.
« Last Edit: 2022-06-28, 12:32:20 by m.krajewski@dotdesignstud »

2022-06-28, 12:48:43
Reply #6

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 11414
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
Can we please continue in the support ticket, not here on the forum? Thanks a lot in advance.
I have created the ticket under kr**********0@gmail.com so please check your inbox.
Marcin Miodek | chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona Support Team Lead | contact us