Author Topic: why is IPR re rendering when i tune tone mapping settings?  (Read 1350 times)

2022-01-20, 20:59:49

Stefan-L

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 254
    • View Profile
Hi

one thing i wondered since some time, why does the ipr start the rendering new when i only tune the tone mapping in the vfb settings? like burn, contrast, white balance etc?

to my logic these are more post effects that, at least for ipr not need to initiate a new render?

in special in bigger scenes this is annoying as one has always to wait a bit for each small tone mapping change until the image is re rendered in ipr.
would it be possible to change this behaviour so render would continue at the pass where it was, even though one changes some tone mapping settings?

thanks
Stefan

p.s this is in daily v8 (jan 7 build), but was also in v6

2022-01-21, 09:33:39
Reply #1

mmarcotic

  • Former Corona Team Member
  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 544
  • Jan - C4D QA
    • View Profile
Hello,

does this happen in all scenes? Does this happen for all tone mapping options? In my test, changing Tone mapping does not restart IR.

Thanks,
Jan
Learn how to report bugs for Corona in C4D here.

2022-01-21, 13:34:24
Reply #2

Stefan-L

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 254
    • View Profile
yes i have this in all scenes i work on.

try scenes that use cloners with instances/render instances/multi instances, those i use in any scene. i think hair triggers the same.

i think it is connected to some generators in the scene.

Stefan

2022-01-24, 13:38:51
Reply #3

Beanzvision

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 2418
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
Hi Stefan,

Are you able to record a short vid of this happening? I have also tried but was unsuccessful. Thanks in advance.
Bengamin Jerrems l chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona Support Representative l contact us

2022-01-25, 10:01:43
Reply #4

mmarcotic

  • Former Corona Team Member
  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 544
  • Jan - C4D QA
    • View Profile
Hello,

same here, with Cloners, Hair, ... I also cannot reproduce this on my end. I tried it through VFB, Camera Tag and Render Settings as well.

Thanks,
Jan
Learn how to report bugs for Corona in C4D here.

2022-01-25, 13:14:19
Reply #5

Stefan-L

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 254
    • View Profile
interesting.
i am a bit in a workload, but i make you a recording as soon i can, to show this (r25 v8 daily)

2022-01-28, 14:36:39
Reply #6

Stefan-L

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 254
    • View Profile
here i made a short video, this is the latest v8 daily and c4d r25, win10:

https://stefan-share.s3.eu-west-1.amazonaws.com/IPR%20restarts%20render%20at%20tone%20mapping%20changes.mp4

it is the same problem in most scenes i have, on home and office PCs.
more or less any value i change in vfb initiates a render restart of the IPR.

hope you can find a solution for next daily build :)

thanks
Stefan
« Last Edit: 2022-01-28, 14:58:41 by Stefan-L »

2022-01-31, 15:17:13
Reply #7

Beanzvision

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 2418
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
Hi Stefan,

Thanks for sending in the video. I have reported your problem and we will look into it further.
(Internal ID=763037818)
Bengamin Jerrems l chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona Support Representative l contact us

2022-01-31, 15:21:38
Reply #8

Stefan-L

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 254
    • View Profile
thanks a lot,

as said the scene uses many instances(mograph cloners) most of them in multi instance mode,
i think also some hair generators are in the scene