Author Topic: Anbody with Octane or Redshift experience and how it compares to Coronarender  (Read 1333 times)

2022-11-19, 22:44:26

frv

• Active Users
    • View Profile
I am just wondering if there is anybody here who has experience with GPU Octane and or Redshift but is also using Coronarender. How about interactive rendering, speed to first pixel and the overall workflow advantages if there are any.
I noticed that most have years of experience with one render engine or another and often do not want to change. But I am constantly checking out what I might do next. Unreal, GPU or just stick to what I know (C4D Corona Mac). Maybe in the end there is nothing much to gain changing from one fast system to another. As Johan Cruijff used to say, every disadvantage has its advantage.

2022-11-20, 11:51:50
Reply #1

ianosss

• Active Users
    • View Profile
I have been using Corona for a few years now and also been trying Octane out this last year for a few projects. I must say both engines are great but after using Octane and then switching back to Corona I find myself getting a bit frustrated with the speed of Corona for both IPR and final render compared to Octane. Maybe I do something wrong or maybe my projects are more suited to Octane. I'm now doing a basic test scene and seems to be alot faster on Octane.

I'm using a pc with a 3960X threadripper and a 2080 super. So I can easily get a massive speed boost by updating my GPU to something like a 3090 also.

2022-11-21, 00:47:10
Reply #2

frv

• Active Users
    • View Profile
Tx, what kind of project do you do. Is it archviz with lots of vegetation, interiors ? It makes a difference maybe. Coronarender is fast for regular exterior work though. Problem I find is getting assets for Octane for archviz. But I am hearing good news about Octane lately crashing much less than from what I heard before.