Author Topic: Corona slicer not working with single-sided geometry  (Read 1147 times)

2022-01-24, 17:33:14

v.p.vlasenko

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 59
    • View Profile
Check images, same scene, just different camera rotation. Such behavior was in all previous versions.


2022-01-27, 06:06:12
Reply #1

GeorgeK

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 769
  • George
    • View Profile
Check images, same scene, just different camera rotation. Such behavior was in all previous versions.

Hi I can't reproduce this, I don't really understand your setup can you please share a quick repro-setup?
George Karampelas | chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona QA Specialist | contact us

2022-01-27, 07:08:46
Reply #2

v.p.vlasenko

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 59
    • View Profile
It can be easily reproduced (check the image), but it seems to be a false alarm... just realized that while it is obvious for me where the cap should be added - it's not obvious for the renderer.

So not sure if that can be solved. What do you think?

The problem is that in this particular situation I'm working with a ~10M polys terrain model, adding thickness to it isn't that good option for me.

Addition: actually no, it's not a false alarm and should be solved - in the case of single-sided geometry cap should be created at the backside based on normal orientation.

« Last Edit: 2022-01-27, 07:28:05 by v.p.vlasenko »

2022-01-27, 10:39:28
Reply #3

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 7532
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Try to put some geometry around and below the terrain. The easiest way is to create big box and delete its top face. Its material doesn't matter, but you can assign it rayswitcher to exclude the box from the lighting (direct slot must be populated, otherwise the trick won't work).
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2022-01-27, 15:51:09
Reply #4

v.p.vlasenko

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 59
    • View Profile
Thanks,
I already found similar workaround - just extruded outer(open) edge down, even without bottom cap. But that a workaround - it will be better if it works out of box.

Box is simpler but the edge of terrain isn't flat and it's visible, as that terrain object is a one tile from many.
« Last Edit: 2022-01-27, 15:55:10 by v.p.vlasenko »

2022-01-28, 16:27:05
Reply #5

GeorgeK

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 769
  • George
    • View Profile
Thanks, yeah I believe this could use some improvement here, I am not sure how easy or feasible it's going to be but reporting it regardless.

(Report ID=CRMAX-1258)
George Karampelas | chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona QA Specialist | contact us