Author Topic: output color matching problem exr  (Read 413 times)

2022-04-12, 13:28:23

fabio81

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 381
    • View Profile
Hi guys,
i am trying to get the same result by saving in exr format but i get different results as you can see. Both with and without ACES.
the color profile of the EXR file is recognized by Photoshop as (RGB built IN)
What is the right setting?

2022-04-12, 13:34:57
Reply #1

TomG

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 4431
    • View Profile
Are you using EXR-io to load the EXR into Photoshop? Photoshop is terrible with EXRs unless you use this plugin to overcome its shortcomings (it's free - it will also let you see and use Cryptomatte data in Photoshop which you can't otherwise).
Tom Grimes | chaos-corona.com
Product Marketing Manager | contact us

2022-04-12, 13:53:30
Reply #2

fabio81

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 381
    • View Profile
Are you using EXR-io to load the EXR into Photoshop? Photoshop is terrible with EXRs unless you use this plugin to overcome its shortcomings (it's free - it will also let you see and use Cryptomatte data in Photoshop which you can't otherwise).

yes i'm using this plugin, can you try it to see how you visualize it?

I am attaching EXR 32bit files and scene files of c4d

2022-04-12, 14:01:00
Reply #3

TomG

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 4431
    • View Profile
Loading your EXR into PS for me looks the same as your VFB (and not the same as your PS), just as a quick bit of first info.
Tom Grimes | chaos-corona.com
Product Marketing Manager | contact us

2022-04-12, 14:03:52
Reply #4

TomG

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 4431
    • View Profile
While the cryptomatte settings should not make a difference (since there is no cryptomatte data in the file), here are my settings for EXR-io. Not sure if there might be some PS color management setting that could have an effect beyond this.
Tom Grimes | chaos-corona.com
Product Marketing Manager | contact us

2022-04-12, 14:09:34
Reply #5

fabio81

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 381
    • View Profile
meanwhile, thanks for your help! I set the EXR-IO plugin as yours but the result is always different. The only thing that might be at this point is the photoshop color management settings. You can find them below, can you let me know how is your color setting in photoshop?
thank you

2022-04-12, 14:10:28
Reply #6

TomG

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 4431
    • View Profile
My RGB working space in PS is sRGB IEC61966-2.1, under the Color Settings (apparently this is North America General Purpose 2 as the setting)

Posted this before seeing yours, but I would guess having Adobe RGB (1998) would be the issue, and it should be some form of sRGB profile.
Tom Grimes | chaos-corona.com
Product Marketing Manager | contact us

2022-04-12, 14:11:21
Reply #7

Beanzvision

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 2476
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
Loading your EXR into PS for me looks the same as your VFB (and not the same as your PS), just as a quick bit of first info.
I'm also getting the same result as you Tom.
Bengamin Jerrems l chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona Support Representative l contact us

2022-04-12, 14:20:42
Reply #8

fabio81

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 381
    • View Profile
My RGB working space in PS is sRGB IEC61966-2.1, under the Color Settings (apparently this is North America General Purpose 2 as the setting)

Posted this before seeing yours, but I would guess having Adobe RGB (1998) would be the issue, and it should be some form of sRGB profile.

nothing, very strange. I have the same settings as you now but I see it like this. Maybe I should hear ADOBE support to figure out what's wrong with my software.

2022-04-12, 14:27:28
Reply #9

fabio81

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 381
    • View Profile
I did it! I have manually assigned the RGB color space also because it is larger than SRGB and now I can see it well.

2022-04-12, 17:22:14
Reply #10

TomG

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 4431
    • View Profile
Glad you got it working! Adobe Photoshop and its handling of wide color spaces strikes again lol :)
Tom Grimes | chaos-corona.com
Product Marketing Manager | contact us

2022-06-02, 16:01:50
Reply #11

Buzzz

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 151
    • View Profile
I did it! I have manually assigned the RGB color space also because it is larger than SRGB and now I can see it well.

where did you configure it? in PS?

Thanks