Author Topic: Easiest method of bringing 3d models, (trees), into my max scene  (Read 824 times)

2023-12-10, 19:35:07

just8thedog

• Active Users
    • View Profile
I'm pretty new to 3ds max Corona and I get a little stopped up when I need to bring previously downloaded models into my max scenes. I have downloads from Evermotion, Globe Plants, and Xfrog to name a few and they all extract differently into my material and asset folders. Some extract into multiple maps as individual files, some as folders with all the maps and .max files together, and some as .max files with a separate folder containing the maps. So, what is the easiest, most streamlined method for bringing these into my scenes?

2023-12-10, 21:16:18
Reply #1

James Vella

• Active Users
    • View Profile
Everyone works different but what works for me is, when I first purchase a new set of models I place them into my assets directory somewhere that suits in my library. General rule of thumb when working with 3dsmax is, once you put it somewhere dont move it unless you want to go through the below process every time for every model.

Then I open the model I need, relink the textures using Colins Bitmap Relinker script. It saved me so much time I had to donate some money to the guy. Save the scene then bring the model into my scene. From here on that model is always pathed correctly so no need to fuss about with missing textures etc. Next time I need a model I do the same thing -> open the scene, relink the paths, save the scene. That way each time I open the model the paths are always correct which means I can just copy/paste or merge.

You can also batch do this with other software such as Design Connected - Connecter (which is also free). This is also a great way to relink all your assets from each set of downloads so that when you file > merge they just come in as they should.