Author Topic: Hi there! Corona newbie here, I need help with my renders, they look meh  (Read 859 times)

2024-02-04, 15:29:15

Valerie95

• Users
    • View Profile
I'm using Corona for 3ds max 2024 and I've been struggling with obtaining a realistic looking render for quite some time now, I've tried watching many tutorials about many aspects of my scene, and in some cases it did help with smoothing the overall aspect BUT, I still find it lacks realism, it's just...strange. One thing that I really struggle with is the natural lighting, as you can well see from the image I attached; I've tried many times with different hdri maps, calibrating it first with the mtl override and then with materials on...it's just quite not right.
I know there are some major problems with some models: the entrance door and the antique sideboard. The first is only temporary and would be a flush to wall door, while that sideboard is the only decent looking (and free) 3d model I found. I also know that certainly some materials are not well mapped.
And these are the things I know that don't really work with my model...then there could be an abyss that I don't know about, so I will also link the file for you more navigated people to explore it and see what you can sort out...I'd be really grateful, because I'm out of ideas :((

https://www.dropbox.com/t/rmG5PpPMhmZvWZ1w

2024-02-08, 13:29:18
Reply #1

Nejc Kilar

• Corona Team
  • Active Users
    • View Profile
    • My personal website
Howdy and welcome aboard!

To be honest, for a self proclaimed newbie, this is a friggin terrific start, kudos!!

In my opinion you got all the basic ingredients in there already. For example the lighting feels natural to me although from a "creative director's POV" maybe a little too "everyday" maybe but that is potentially highly subjective of a comment.