Author Topic: Personal Tutor for Corona for C4D Rendering  (Read 1506 times)

2023-01-06, 01:21:16

kmwhitt

• Active Users
    • View Profile
I hate to admit that I’ve been using Corona for C4D for several years now and I have yet to achieve any quality renderings.  I’ll spend hours changing materials, render settings, and post-production to no avail.  I always end up with a murky, gray, hazy result (example attached) – not the crisp clear images others are producing.  This is a link to the type of images I hope to produce:

https://rebusfarm.net/blog/3797-the-making-of-bedroom-by-white-balance

To say the least, after so many years this is disheartening…

I am quite familiar with Corona as I’ve been using it for so long (obviously incorrectly).  I won’t need anyone to go through the basics.  I’ve also been a C4D user for almost 20 years, so I know my way around the software and am quite familiar with various rendering engines.  I was a Vray user prior to Corona and achieved the same subpar results.

It has only come to my attention recently that I can increase material values above 70% and that you’re in the “safety” zone if not exceeding 90%.  I’ve been using this 70% cap as I was taught incorrectly when Vray was first introduced to Cinema 4D.  To make matters worse the earlier versions of Vray for C4D were glitchy in the way materials and light were calculated – as some users may remember.

As our firm creates mostly kitchen and bath design, we work in inches.  I have often wondered if Corona isn’t converting the units correctly as some of the light settings need to be lowered substantially to avoid over-exposure.  An example would be having to set under cabinet lighting to 50 lumens or less in an LED strip span of 5’ which is not realistic or 25 watts of fill light blowing out the entire scene.  Further, none of the PBR materials I create in Substance look the same as they do in Substance.  I always must adjust glossiness/roughness and base color considerably.