Chaos Corona Forum

General Category => [Archive] Corona Renderer for ARCHICAD => Porting and API => [ARCHICAD] Feature Requests => Topic started by: Vasileios Stergioudis on 2018-11-21, 13:27:58

Title: Camera Clipping Plane
Post by: Vasileios Stergioudis on 2018-11-21, 13:27:58
Hello there,

I would like to have a camera clipping plane. Right now, I can use the bold marquee tool to cut a portion of my scene, but this is a real cut and the sunlight coming from windows is nowhere. There is just plenty of sunlight. With a use of a clipping plane we can render interior scenes with the sunlight coming from the windows. Maybe a specific corona camera could solve the problem? Or maybe a setting in the "camera" tab of "corona rendering" window?

Best,
Vasileios
Title: Re: Camera Clipping Plane
Post by: Jan Špaček on 2018-11-21, 18:22:10
Just to make sure I understand you correctly, you want to be able to define a plane so that everything on one side of the plane is invisible from the camera, but otherwise stays in the scene and casts shadows and affects global illumination?
Title: Re: Camera Clipping Plane
Post by: Vasileios Stergioudis on 2018-11-22, 08:09:25
Yes, that's correct!
Title: Re: Camera Clipping Plane
Post by: Jan Špaček on 2018-11-22, 17:06:53
Ok, this should be very easy to add, I will add this feature to the next version, which should come tomorrow.
Title: Re: Camera Clipping Plane
Post by: PROH on 2018-11-23, 01:43:06
Jan@ - This feature has been wanted for years in 3dsMax. So when you make it, please tell your team members how to do it :)

Regards
Title: Re: Camera Clipping Plane
Post by: Jan Špaček on 2018-11-23, 09:24:10
The feature has been implemented, I will release an updated version later today.

@PROH: You can access this feature in Corona for 3ds Max in the "Environment & Clipping" panel of the Corona Camera object, in the "Camera clipping" groupbox.
Title: Re: Camera Clipping Plane
Post by: PROH on 2018-11-23, 13:21:50
@Jan: I know. But I can't do it with a separate plane-object placed to my liking.
Maybe I misunderstood the request?
Title: Re: Camera Clipping Plane
Post by: Jan Špaček on 2018-11-23, 16:13:11
Near/far camera clipping is now available in the latest daily build: https://forum.corona-renderer.com/index.php?topic=22536.0 (https://forum.corona-renderer.com/index.php?topic=22536.0) Is that enough for your needs?
Title: Re: Camera Clipping Plane
Post by: spr0ckets on 2018-11-23, 18:43:51
If I understand him correctly (sorry for being the official/unofficial request interpreter for the forum, again), I think he means or meant a 'Slice' plane object like exists in 3ds Max - either as a modifier for 3ds Max proper, or as a separate render-time only object (like VRay has)

Corona in 3ds Max doesn't have this feature either, so it's doubtful it could be implemented here for ArchiCAD before it shows up in that program's plugin.

I believe (but may be wrong) that it's already been requested as a wishlist feature for the Corona 3ds Max plugin for future versions, so I'd pay attention to see if and when it shows up there in any upcoming version first, before showing up in the ArchiCAD plugin.
Just my opinion.
Title: Re: Camera Clipping Plane
Post by: Jarda on 2018-11-26, 11:36:32
Confirming that arbitrary cut planes are not supported by the Corona core - it's only coming up in corona 4 (version under development).
Maybe Jan has implemented some workaround or temporary solution.
Jarda (the corona team)
Title: Re: Camera Clipping Plane
Post by: Vasileios Stergioudis on 2018-11-26, 11:51:56
The far/near clipping is what I meant. Thanks a lot for the update!
Title: Re: Camera Clipping Plane
Post by: Vasileios Stergioudis on 2018-11-28, 07:39:02
I've just tested it. I cannot seem to see any difference when enabling "near", no matter what number I write on the input box. Even if I enable both "near" and "far" with the same input (logically the model would be invisible) I still see all the 3d model. What am I doing wrong?

Thanks in advance,
Vasileios
Title: Re: Camera Clipping Plane
Post by: Jan Špaček on 2018-12-03, 11:41:49
Oops, I was working in a hurry and made a stupid mistake, adding the clipping plane to the camera only when rendering in the PhotoRendering window! I apologize for wasting your time, the next daily build should work correctly in interactive rendering and in the VFB.
Title: Re: Camera Clipping Plane
Post by: Vasileios Stergioudis on 2018-12-03, 15:39:52
Thanks Jan!

You are not wasting my time. :) I cannot wait for the next version!

Best,
Vasileios
Title: Re: Camera Clipping Plane
Post by: sk-films on 2020-12-24, 17:20:29
For those who searching Corona Clipping Mesh


CHECK HERE -> https://forum.corona-renderer.com/index.php?topic=8913.msg179940#msg179940
Title: Re: Camera Clipping Plane
Post by: sk-films on 2020-12-24, 17:21:40
For those who searching Corona Clipping Mesh!

!!! CHECK HERE -> https://forum.corona-renderer.com/index.php?topic=8913.msg179940#msg179940

Search for:  #Corona Clipping Mesh , #Corona Custom Clipping Plane, #Corona Mesh Clipper