Author Topic: VCM test  (Read 28431 times)

2013-07-18, 18:34:10
Reply #30

Polymax

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 830
  • CG Generalist
    • View Profile
    • maxkagirov.com
1. PT+PT
2.VCM
3.Bidir
Corona - the best rendering solution!

2013-07-18, 19:34:22
Reply #31

Captain Obvious

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 167
    • View Profile
That's a pretty substantial difference, and a pretty substantial render time too. Do you have Maxwell, by any chance? If not, any chance you could send the scene and I could give it a try.

2013-07-18, 20:44:11
Reply #32

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 12828
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
found a bug (I think so) : when rendering a region with VCM it behaves strange
Marcin Miodek | chaos-corona.com
3D Support Team Lead - Corona | contact us

2013-07-19, 01:32:07
Reply #33

iliyang

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Thanks a lot, Polymax!

2013-07-19, 06:21:08
Reply #34

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 9048
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
found a bug (I think so) : when rendering a region with VCM it behaves strange

Small region, I assume?
Rendering is magic.How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2013-07-19, 10:25:09
Reply #35

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 12828
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
Yes, a small region. Here's a render. Second one has a small region rendered at the top corner of the water tank. It's after more than 3000 passes and more than 1 minute of rendering. Also, it looks like VCM isn't very good for glossy refraction.
Marcin Miodek | chaos-corona.com
3D Support Team Lead - Corona | contact us

2013-07-21, 19:53:04
Reply #36

Bzdashekzapadlovski

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
After opening your scene, found some changes in the Render setup.
What's this?

2013-07-21, 21:39:43
Reply #37

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 12828
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
It's a secret feature no one but trusted alpha testers should have seen. :/





But really it's what appears after you select bidir/vcm from "renderer" dropdown.
Marcin Miodek | chaos-corona.com
3D Support Team Lead - Corona | contact us

2013-07-23, 10:45:19
Reply #38

quizzy

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 58
    • View Profile
some scene I did for a MR book written by a friend of mine now coronized......

both rendered for 23 minutes.....

2013-07-23, 15:34:52
Reply #39

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 12828
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
Looks like your water has no refraction.
Marcin Miodek | chaos-corona.com
3D Support Team Lead - Corona | contact us

2013-07-23, 16:05:12
Reply #40

quizzy

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 58
    • View Profile
it does have refraction, but with an IOR of 1, because I did not want to distort the concrete beneath the water..

2013-07-23, 22:07:23
Reply #41

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 12828
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
That's what I meant. Used wrong words. :)
Marcin Miodek | chaos-corona.com
3D Support Team Lead - Corona | contact us