Author Topic: Substance in 3ds max does not detect corona 8 renderer as primary renderer  (Read 3931 times)

2022-04-27, 20:27:23

ShaNaya

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Hi,

I've encountered yesterday with an issue concerning Corona 8.
I was working on a scene using corona in IR mode when suddenly it opened up by itself a couple of dialog windows of folders with matrials. As I was trying to close every window suddenly 3ds max crashed.
I relaunched max and everything worked fine until I needed to use sbsar file from substance source.
When I tried converting the sbsar file through " Substance to corona" a dialog pops up saying "select primary renderer" even though the renderer is set to corona.
I'm using 3ds Max 2022. I checked if the issue happens also in 3ds max 2021 and 2023 and yes it does and in both I've installed corona 8.
I've talked today with a colleague of mine that has been experiencing this same issue aswell on max 2021/2022 and 2023.
Attached is a screenshot of what I'm experiencing.

I hope you can resolve this issue asap.

Thanks

2022-04-28, 07:29:12
Reply #1

rajsohal

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
I am having same issue, still persisted even after resetting my pc and clean installing Max 2023 and Corona8

2022-05-02, 19:31:13
Reply #2

stellab

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Hi!
I have the same issue, any idea how to resolve this problem?

Thanks
Stella

2022-05-04, 14:29:57
Reply #3

GeorgeK

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 838
  • George
    • View Profile
Hi everyone, the issue is highly likely related to the lack of support for Corona ver.8 of the Substance plugin. We are planning to contact the substance team and alert them on the issue. Please stay posted, as soon as we have more news on the matter we will write you back.

(Report ID=CRMAX-1579)
George Karampelas | chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona QA Specialist | contact us

2022-05-25, 18:49:30
Reply #4

gitano_anton

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile

2022-05-25, 19:13:09
Reply #5

GeorgeK

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 838
  • George
    • View Profile
Any news about this?

Hi, the Substance team is notified and I believe already addressing the issue.
George Karampelas | chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona QA Specialist | contact us

2022-05-25, 19:17:40
Reply #6

gitano_anton

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile

2022-06-06, 17:47:36
Reply #7

JGallagher

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 72
    • View Profile
Hello, any update on this? I'm getting this error as well. Fresh install of everything.

2022-06-06, 18:21:44
Reply #8

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 12805
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
We are in touch with the Substance team, but still no news, sorry.
The only workaround for now is to downgrade to Corona 7 as Substance does not recognize Corona 8 as a supported render engine.
Marcin Miodek | chaos-corona.com
3D Support Team Lead - Corona | contact us

2022-08-05, 04:15:30
Reply #9

pwainwright82

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
I'm having the same issue.

I've worked around it by exporting parts of the model to Painter, applying textures and then exporting using the Corona Output template.

I hope that helps some (not all) until we get an update.

2022-08-05, 11:47:13
Reply #10

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 8888
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
I tried Substance plugin in 3ds Max 2023.1 - it renders fine in regular render, but crashes instantly in interactive.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2023-01-16, 09:47:48
Reply #11

stellab

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Hi, do you know if there is any way to use Substance with max 2022 and Corona 9?

thank you

2023-01-20, 12:01:37
Reply #12

GeorgeK

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 838
  • George
    • View Profile
I tried Substance plugin in 3ds Max 2023.1 - it renders fine in regular render, but crashes instantly in interactive.

Hi, would it be possible to send us a repro-scene for that? There are a number of issues at the moment that we are bringing to the attention of the Adobe/Substance team. Thanks!
George Karampelas | chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona QA Specialist | contact us

2023-01-20, 12:09:29
Reply #13

GeorgeK

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 838
  • George
    • View Profile
Hi, do you know if there is any way to use Substance with max 2022 and Corona 9?

thank you

You should be able to use them together however you might encounter multiple issues depending on how .sbsar output was made, some old files would work fine when using the substance to corona conversion from the 3dsMax substance plugin, others would present issues with render and material previews or outright cause crashing. For the time being I would suggest you manually import any substance output files using the Substance2 map within the material editor of 3dsMax, if you encounter any issues, you can always breakdown your output to different input/data maps.

Please note that all known issues are being actively discussed with the Adobe/Substance team so I believe they will be addressed as soon as possible. Please stay posted.
« Last Edit: 2023-01-20, 12:17:20 by GeorgeK »
George Karampelas | chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona QA Specialist | contact us

2023-01-20, 16:02:44
Reply #14

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 8888
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
I tried Substance plugin in 3ds Max 2023.1 - it renders fine in regular render, but crashes instantly in interactive.

Hi, would it be possible to send us a repro-scene for that? There are a number of issues at the moment that we are bringing to the attention of the Adobe/Substance team. Thanks!

Sorry, i don't have a scene to share, since i never use substance in Max scenes. I tried it briefly, found that it's too slow, unreliable and overall buggy and simply gave up my hopes on using it. However i tried it once more today and while it doesn't crash instantly in Max 2023.2.2 and Corona 9 HF1, i still managed to crash it pretty quickly just by plugging/unplugging maps in material editor while IR was running. And there are loads of other issues, like freezing IR that doesn't even react to restart command, unable to load another sbsar file in the substance 2 node after it has one already loaded. And on top of that the IR is extremely slow, even in most basic teapot scene. In my experience it's completely unusable, i just bake the maps if needed and give up on procedural workflow.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures