Author Topic: Is .crx available in Corona for C4d?  (Read 4404 times)

2017-09-29, 17:35:01

gitano_anton

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Hi to all.

Is .crx available in Corona for C4d? I´m very interested in the option of make discontinued renders, start a render in my job and continue it in my home for example.

2017-09-29, 18:08:22
Reply #1

TomG

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 5575
    • View Profile
Yes you can save to CXR from the Corona VFB and use Resume File from the Corona VFB to pick up where it left off (or just use Resume Last without saving the CXR file, if you have not cleared the VFB).
Tom Grimes | chaos-corona.com
Product Manager | contact us

2017-10-03, 11:17:39
Reply #2

MircoTosti Studio

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 102
    • View Profile
TomG,
both in vfb of corona and pv i can't find the extension cxr when save the render but only in exr. Could you explain the procedure for saving the cxr?
Version used Corona for Cinema 4D Beta 1 daily build - 2017-09-05 Mac and Win.. is the same problem

2017-10-03, 12:24:12
Reply #3

4b4

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 163
    • View Profile
click and hold the save button in the VFB and you get the CXR option

2017-10-03, 13:58:46
Reply #4

TomG

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 5575
    • View Profile
The C4D helpdesk has been (and is being / will be) updated, so always worth keeping an eye on as you never know when new pages will appear :)

In this instance, the topic of CXR is there under Resume Rendering at https://help.c4d.corona-renderer.com/support/solutions/articles/12000035761-how-to-pause-and-resume-rendering-with-corona-renderer-for-cinema-4d- with a handy screen capture :)  (it already needs updating as there is a Dump to EXR and resume rendering options in the Picture Viewer under the Corona menu now too!)
Tom Grimes | chaos-corona.com
Product Manager | contact us

2017-10-11, 16:03:29
Reply #5

Mac_Mac

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
Hmmm ...
I've done some tests. After loading .crx VFB continues rendering but image is black.

2017-10-11, 16:33:51
Reply #6

TomG

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 5575
    • View Profile
Hmmm ...
I've done some tests. After loading .crx VFB continues rendering but image is black.

Can you give more information, such as the steps followed, Mac or PC, etc? Also, does the saved cxr look correct when opened in the Corona Image Editor for example?

Here's what I tested and it worked (C4D R19, PC, latest Corona daily)
- Load scene
- Render in VFB for 10 passes
- Save to CXR from the VFB save dropdown
- Close C4D
- Reopen C4D and reload the scene (the same scene has to be loaded)
- From the VFB, choose the Resume file option from the Render dropdown
- The rendering picked up from where it left off

Thanks!
   Tom
Tom Grimes | chaos-corona.com
Product Manager | contact us

2017-10-12, 00:47:09
Reply #7

Mac_Mac

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
Hmmm ...
I've done some tests. After loading .crx VFB continues rendering but image is black.

Can you give more information, such as the steps followed, Mac or PC, etc? Also, does the saved cxr look correct when opened in the Corona Image Editor for example?

Here's what I tested and it worked (C4D R19, PC, latest Corona daily)
- Load scene
- Render in VFB for 10 passes
- Save to CXR from the VFB save dropdown
- Close C4D
- Reopen C4D and reload the scene (the same scene has to be loaded)
- From the VFB, choose the Resume file option from the Render dropdown
- The rendering picked up from where it left off

Thanks!
   Tom

Hi Tom,
I'm on OSX (MacPro Xeon), R18, latest build of Corona. I did your steps except closing C4D.
After loading crx, image in VFB is black. Will do test again tomorrow, now I have to finish some work.
Thanks!
mac

2017-10-12, 14:24:28
Reply #8

Mac_Mac

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
Hmmm ...
I've done some tests. After loading .crx VFB continues rendering but image is black.

Can you give more information, such as the steps followed, Mac or PC, etc? Also, does the saved cxr look correct when opened in the Corona Image Editor for example?

Here's what I tested and it worked (C4D R19, PC, latest Corona daily)
- Load scene
- Render in VFB for 10 passes
- Save to CXR from the VFB save dropdown
- Close C4D
- Reopen C4D and reload the scene (the same scene has to be loaded)
- From the VFB, choose the Resume file option from the Render dropdown
- The rendering picked up from where it left off

Thanks!
   Tom

Hi Tom,
I'm on OSX (MacPro Xeon), R18, latest build of Corona. I did your steps except closing C4D.
After loading crx, image in VFB is black. Will do test again tomorrow, now I have to finish some work.
Thanks!
mac

OK,
everything is fine. I probably didn't waited for 10 passes earlier :)
Thanks!

2017-10-12, 15:05:20
Reply #9

TomG

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 5575
    • View Profile
Great to hear, glad it is working as expected! Always worth checking in case there are differences between Mac and PC, so is good to confirm it, ty!
Tom Grimes | chaos-corona.com
Product Manager | contact us