Author Topic: 3D zoom in VFB  (Read 2236 times)

2017-10-15, 08:03:17

Benny

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 171
    • View Profile
The pan/zoom functionality in VFB is great, but I was wondering if it would be possible to have the zoom be an actual 3D zoom, i.e. you are not just enlarging pixels when you zoom in? This would be very useful to study details in the scene. Kind of like the blow up in Max.

2017-10-16, 09:50:36
Reply #1

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 10993
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
This was discussed, and the current behavior was the most expected.
You can use 3ds Max "2D Pan Zoom Mode" to pan and zoom without changing the camera position, and it's supported by the IR. Super useful!

2017-10-17, 05:42:34
Reply #2

Benny

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 171
    • View Profile
At the end of the day I guess it does the same thing, but there is often a difference in what you see in the viewport and what you see in the VFB. It sort of feels natural that you would be able to zoom in the same way directly in the VFB.

2017-10-17, 10:00:19
Reply #3

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 7353
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
I like how it is now. It would be sad if 2D zoom in IR, would be replaced by perspective zoom.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2017-10-17, 10:22:46
Reply #4

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 10993
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
there is often a difference in what you see in the viewport and what you see in the VFB
That is true. It may be worth investigating, especially whether the same thing is happening with other renderers.

2017-10-17, 17:01:50
Reply #5

Benny

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 171
    • View Profile
I like how it is now. It would be sad if 2D zoom in IR, would be replaced by perspective zoom.

The problem is if you zoom in on a lamp on the wall to take a closer look at bloom for example, it all becomes a blurry pixelated mess. Why can't it work the same way as if you use the 2D pan and zoom in a viewport?

2017-10-17, 17:11:50
Reply #6

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 7353
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Because it would need rerender everything anew. There is 2D pan/zoom in viewport for that. Current behaviour is useful when you need to condense render resources on specific area, to be able faster evaluate results.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2017-10-25, 10:27:08
Reply #7

Per Bergs

  • Primary Certified Instructor
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Hi,

I have been using a script called VPR for Redshift in Maya (also his other scripts are genius).
https://store.cgfront.com/slib-plug-ins/25-slib-vpr-maya.html

This framebuffer has some nice features and intelligent features that I would love to see in Corona.

Cheers
Per

2018-10-22, 16:16:17
Reply #8

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 10993
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
We have it logged in our tracker, may be added in the future (low priority).