Author Topic: Having trouble to create stainless steel  (Read 6819 times)

2015-08-25, 16:36:28

Taz

• Users
    • View Profile
Hello everybody,

I'm new to Corona, I started to work with it in the begin of August and I have some trouble to set up correctly a stainless steel material.

I have an island to do in a kitchen project, and the stainless steel will be the same that the one you can see on the photo.

I don't know how to create something similar. I tried many different ways but I'm not satisfied with it, and I don't master enough the material editor on 3ds max (started at the same time than Corona) to know exactly where to start to have something I'm happy with.

So, hope somebody can help me with this ;)

Thanks a lot !

2015-08-25, 18:30:09
Reply #1

-Ben-Battler-

• Active Users
    • View Profile
Without trying I would make this guess:

Diffuse Color: ca. 50, 50, 50
Full Reflection (Strength: 100, White Color)
Fresnel IOR: ca. 5.0
Glossiness: Falloff Map: Front Color: ca. 220, 220, 220; Back Color: 255, 255, 255; Falloff Type: Fresnel

Additionally I would insert some Noise Map or similar into the back Color of the Fresnel Map with Color Values floating around 220.

But as I said, this is just from my guts.

Ben
Visit boxel

2015-08-26, 12:24:42
Reply #2

maru

• Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
I tried recreating this yesterday but it is quite tricky indeed. Such materials are very dependent on the environment so it would be best to model a similar room with similar lighting conditions and then experiment with the shader on various surfaces. I think that this material has a bit of diffuse color in it (as if it was "dusty"), requires some detailed, non-uniform glossiness map, and as Ben wrote - its glossiness changes based on viewing angle (well this happens for most real life materials and Corona already handles this, but it could be amplified with the falloff map).
Marcin Miodek | chaos-corona.com